Laurie Graham - Anyone for Seconds? - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784297992
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784297978
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018

Anyone for Seconds?

By Laurie Graham

  • Hardback
  • £18.99

The laugh-out-loud sequel to Perfect Meringues - can former queen of the TV cooks Lizzie Partridge claw her way back into the nation's hearts? For fans of Dawn French, Jenny Eclair and Cathy Hopkins

'Why is Laurie Graham not carried on people's shoulders through cheering crowds? Her books are brilliant!' MARIAN KEYES

The laugh-out-loud sequel to Perfect Meringues - can former queen of the TV cooks Lizzie Partridge claw her way back into the nation's hearts?

Life has been going downhill for ex-TV chef Lizzie Partridge ever since she spectacularly ended her television career by throwing a chocolate mousse at the host of Midlands This Morning. Her partner Tom has left her, Nigella and Jamie have got the cookery world sewn up, and now her restaurant reviewing column - her last bit of work - has been axed. Surely the only way is up from here?

In a desperate bid for sympathy and attention she runs away, from the gas bill and the mouse under the sink, and in wet and wintry Aberystwyth she experiences a brush with her past and a glimmer of new prospects. And when her nephew - now a TV producer - has the bright idea to reunite her with her former nemesis and target of the mousse attack in a new show, it seems like things could be going Lizzie's way again after all!

Biographical Notes

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, most recently The Grand Duchess of Nowhere and The Night in Question (2015), Laurie lives in Dublin. Visit her website at www.lauriegraham.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784297961
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Quercus
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani
MacLehose Press

Inhuman Resources

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

An Ocean of Minutes

Thea Lim
Authors:
Thea Lim
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 2

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
Quercus

The Early Birds

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham

The Early Birds is the touching and funny follow-up to The Future Homemakers of America. 'Wit and insight to match Nick Hornby, and the entertainment value of Helen Fielding' Independent on The Future Homemakers of America'Why is Laurie Graham not carried on people's shoulders through cheering crowds? Her books are brilliant!' Marian KeyesPeggy, the southern belle. Kath, the pragmatist with the only Norfolk accent in New York state. Gayle, the preacher with healing hands. Mrs Colonel Audrey Rudman, forever keeping up the standards of the Officers' Wives Club. Lois, who's never had a thought she didn't voice. Loudly. Their menfolk may be long retired, but once a US Air Force wife, always an Air Force wife, and the bonds of friendship forged in base after military base are still going strong fifty years later. Time is rendering its Accounts Payable for all of them now: hip replacements, eye problems, forgetfulness and departures. In this hymn to lifelong female friendship, Peggy soldiers on through new upheavals, including her ex-husband Vern's Alzheimer's diagnosis, the death of one of her nearest and dearest, a life-changing house move and the world-shattering events of 9/11 with the help of her sharp-tongued, often eccentric, but always loyal group of friends.

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

NOVEMBER 24, 2004The day of the tragedy. The end of a brotherhood.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus Goldman and his cousins Woody and Hillel. Three brilliant young men with dazzling futures ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the true and astonishing story of the Baltimore Boys.The stunning new novel from the author of the global bestseller, The Truth about the Harry Quebert AffairTranslated from the French by Alison Anderson

Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance.The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades: perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Brent Weeks and China Miéville. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent, shaven-headed Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to reach out to him - to tell him to come home. He's always believed she was running a long operation, that there would be a role for him at the right time. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this.Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter Signe, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now Bjorn is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise . . .

Quercus

The Factory Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

While My Eyes Were Closed

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

THE #1 BESTSELLER: a nail-biting psychological drama for fans of Liane Moriarty and CL Taylor.One, two, three . . . Lisa Dale shuts her eyes and counts to one hundred during a game of hide-and-seek. When she opens them, her four-year-old daughter Ella is gone. Disappeared without a trace. The police, the media and Lisa's family all think they know who snatched Ella. But what if the person who took her isn't a stranger? What if they are convinced they are doing the right thing? And what if Lisa's little girl is in danger of disappearing forever?

Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

In love and war, who can you trust? 1944, Hampshire. Her face still bearing the scars from the explosion at the factory, Rita Brown is nonetheless back on her feet. She's caught the eye of local wide boy Blackie Bristow, who's sweeping her around the country in a life of shady glamour. But there's a war on, and life is not all fun and games. Some of the local men are taking advantage of the topsy-turvy world to break more than just hearts, and standing up to them comes with its own costs. Rita keeps calm and carries on with a little help from her friends at the factory. But then she discovers someone there has been leaking secrets to the Germans. With D-Day on the horizon, Rita must work out who she can rely on - and fast.

Quercus

The Night in Question

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
Quercus

The Other Child

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
Quercus

The Saffron Trail

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
riverrun

Land Where I Flee

Prajwal Parajuly
Authors:
Prajwal Parajuly

Quercus

The Grand Duchess of Nowhere

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
riverrun

Boys and Girls

Joseph Connolly
Authors:
Joseph Connolly
Heron Books

Willow Trees don't Weep

Fadia Faqir
Authors:
Fadia Faqir
MacLehose Press

A Naked Singularity

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
Quercus

Loss of Innocence

Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson
Authors:
Davi Patterson, Richard North Patterson

MacLehose Press

Brief Loves That Live Forever

Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine, Andrei Makine