Bruno Vincent - Five Go On A Strategy Away Day - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • CD-Audio £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786488039
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786488022
    • Publication date:18 May 2017

Five Go On A Strategy Away Day

By Bruno Vincent

  • Hardback
  • £7.99

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy confront a new challenge: what exactly is this puzzling scrape referred to as a 'strategy away day'?

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy confront a new challenge: what exactly is this puzzling scrape referred to as a 'strategy away day'?

The Five have gone on their greatest adventure yet - to become an even better team! They are booked into an exciting hotel right next to the jolly motorway services, where the nice (if somewhat nervous and sweating and depressed) man teaches them a number of exercises that will make them work better. But wait! Who's been sneaking messages through the hotel dumb waiter about secret assignations? Is there a smuggler's plot afoot? Or is Shelly from Production shagging Postroom Luke? All will be revealed . . .

Ideal for those who are allergic to corporate jargon and will throw a sickie before having to play a trust game with colleagues.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786482242
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 112
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods

'Cate Woods is laugh-out-loud funny and life affirming' Closer. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart. In her twenties, Annie Taylor was sorted: she had her dream job, an amazing social life and was happily single. She had bags of confidence and played up her likeness to a young Barbra Streisand in turbans and winged eyeliner. Annie knew exactly who she was, and her future looked bright and full of adventures.Life, however, hasn't turned out quite how she expected. Now Annie is living with her boyfriend Luke and is a stay-at-home mum to their baby daughter, Dot. The promising career has petered out, and with it her confidence and creativity. And when Luke does the unforgivable, Annie finds herself suddenly, terrifyingly, on her own. With the help of her group of loyal friends, Annie faces the challenge of trying to reconcile the glamorous, carefree Annie of old with the knackered mum-of-one she sees in the mirror today. Is old Annie gone forever, or could this finally be the chance to find herself once more?

Quercus

A Taste for Vengeance

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker

'THE MAIGRET OF THE DORDOGNE' ANTONY BEEVORBruno, now Chief of Police for the whole Vézère valley, has an unusual challenge to rise to: teaching at his friend Pamela's new cookery school. It is a daunting prospect - the disappearance of one of the school's pupils almost serves as a welcome distraction.When the woman's body is discovered in one half of a double homicide, the evidence points to something far out of the ordinary. The other murder victim is a man, covered in combat scars and with a false passport. Investigations reveal a list of enemies as long as Bruno's arm. Any one of them would have had good reason to kill him - but which group managed it? And how did they find him?As more of their mystery man's previous life is revealed, Bruno realizes that there may be more intended victims in the vicinity. Now he must conduct the biggest manhunt in St Denis' history to find the killers before they strike again.

Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott
Jo Fletcher Books

Rotherweird

Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
Contributors:
Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat

A masterpiece of literary craft and concision; sparse, beautiful and hugely affecting - Daily MailSince the liberation of the Netherlands, Emma Verweij has been living in Rotterdam, in a street which became a stronghold of friendships for its inhabitants during the Second World War. She marries Bruno, they have two sons, and she determines to block out the years she spent in Nazi Berlin during the war, with her first husband Carl. But now, ninety-six years old and on the eve of her death, long- forgotten memories crowd again into her consciousness, flashbacks of happier years, and the tragedy of the war, of Carl, of her father, and of the friends she has lost. In The Longest Night, his impressive, reflective new novel after News from Berlin, Otto de Kat deftly distils momentous events of 20th-century history into the lives of his characters. In Emma, the past and the present coincide in limpid fragments of rare, melancholy beauty.Translated from the Dutch by Laura Watkinson

MacLehose Press

One Clear Ice-cold January Morning at the Beginning of the 21st Century

Roland Schimmelpfennig
Authors:
Roland Schimmelpfennig

A contemporary Berlin fairy tale that bristles with urban truths ? the first novel of Germany's best-known contemporary playwright One clear ice-cold January morning shortly after dawn, a wolf crosses the border between Poland and Germany. His trail leads all the way to Berlin, connecting the lives of disparate individuals whose paths intersect and diverge. On an icy motorway eighty kilometres outside the city, a fuel tanker jack-knifes and explodes. The lone wolf is glimpsed on the hard shoulder and photographed by Tomasz, a Polish construction worker who cannot survive in Germany without his girlfriend. Elisabeth and Micha run away through the snow from their home village, crossing the wolf's tracks on their way to the city. A woman burns her mother's diaries on a Berlin balcony. And Elisabeth's father, a famous sculptor, observes the vast skeleton of a whale in his studio and asks: What am I doing here? And why? Experiences and encounters flicker past with a raw, visual power, like frames in a black and white film. Those who catch sight of the wolf see their own lives reflected, and find themselves searching for a different path in a cold time. This first novel of Germany's most celebrated contemporary playwright is written in prose of tremendous power and precision. Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

Quercus

Bruno, Chief of Police: The Early Cases

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
riverrun

Moving The Goalposts

Anthony Clavane
Authors:
Anthony Clavane

'As good an explanation as you will ever read of how the deindustrialisation of the 70s and 80s fuelled Brexit' The Times 'Magnificent . . . A fascinating insight into a decade that changed the nature of sport and changed the face of the country' Rory Smith, Chief Soccer Correspondent, New York TimesFeaturing many interviews with sportsmen, managers, miners, musicians, fans and local politicians, this deeply researched and moving investigation casts a new light on an era that read the last rites for the country's collective culture.

Quercus

Five Go Down Under

Sophie Hamley
Authors:
Sophie Hamley

The Famous Five have gone on their greatest adventure yet - a trip Down Under to Oz for some gap year fun. But will it be the adventure they had hoped for?Setting up camp in Bondi they soon meet the Sydney Six, a couple of guitar-strumming Kiwis and a rogue South African and find themselves in the thick of Sydney's real estate perils and the attempts of their omnipresent uncle Rupert Kirrin to buy up the local media.But when the sun, surf and bluebottles have their revenge and things don't quite go according to plan, it's time to head for the country for a spot of sheep-shearing and quad-bike riding. Will the country be kinder to them or will close calls with the Australian wildlife have them heading back to the city before you can say decaff soy latte?

MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

Quercus

Five Get On the Property Ladder

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

'I've never seen such potential,' said Julian. 'It has nothing except potential.'From the author of Number One Christmas bestseller, Five on Brexit Island, join the Five in their next hilarious adventure in this bestselling series for grown-ups!Julian, George, Dick and Anne are struggling to get their feet (and paws) on the first rung of the property ladder. Luckily cousin Rupert is on hand to help. But not before they've had some very exciting adventures. Who knew that it was all going to be so difficult?

Quercus

Five Go Bump in the Night

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Get Gran Online

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Escape Brexit Island

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Catfulness

A Cat
Authors:
A Cat
Quercus

Five at the Office Christmas Party

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Get On the Property Ladder

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Go Bump in the Night

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Bill Bailey's Remarkable Guide to British Birds

Bill Bailey
Authors:
Bill Bailey
Quercus

Relish

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

The eye-opening story of one woman's incredible appetite for life: Prue Leith, judge of C4's GREAT BRITISH BAKE OFF and former judge of BBC2's GREAT BRITISH MENU.'What a terrific tale it is - of a South African girl who could stand the heat and made the kitchen into a remarkable career' TelegraphPrue Leith describes herself as greedy in all senses of the word. Cook, caterer, restaurateur, food writer, journalist, novelist, businesswoman, teacher, television presenter, charity worker, lover, wife and mother, she has certainly been greedy for life. Prue came to London in the early 1960s and, not long afterwards, opened Leith's Restaurant. By the mid-seventies she was a food columnist on the Daily Mail, had published several cookbooks and opened Leith's School of Food and Wine. But it wasn't all work. Prue writes with honesty of her affairs, her longing for children, the birth of her son, the adoption of her daughter and many other things besides. Prue's down-to-earth attitude is an inspiration.