Bruno Vincent - Five Go Parenting - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786482297
    • Publication date:03 Nov 2016
  • CD-Audio £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786488053
    • Publication date:18 May 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786488046
    • Publication date:18 May 2017

Five Go Parenting

By Bruno Vincent

  • Hardback
  • £7.99

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy confront possibly their toughest challenge yet: parenthood

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy confront possibly their toughest challenge yet: parenthood

Bringing up a baby would surely be kid's play for The Five. How hard could it possibly be?! When the doorbell rings one Saturday afternoon, the last thing the Five were expecting to find on their doorstep was a baby... But the Five are next of kin to Cousin Rupert and his wife, so when they find themselves in a spot of bother and are destined for a short spell behind bars, Anne, Dick, George and Anne are the first port of call. First, it's the fear and the tiredness that kicks in. They are terrified at being responsible for this new life and have no idea they're doing it right. Why is it crying? They use Dr Google constantly, who whatever the situation offers the same range of advice from 'don't worry about it' to 'rush her to the A&E'. 'Why is she crying?' they constantly ask. 'Why?' It keeps them up all night every night, until they are reduced to walking ghosts, haunted by a numb and impotent fury. Is this an adventure too far for our Five?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786482280
  • Publication date: 03 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 112
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

Five at the Office Christmas Party

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Help Gran Go Viral

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

The Five go north to see their grandmother - Granny Barnard - who they haven't caught up with for many years, since she remarried. She is alone over the Easter weekend and so the Five decide to look after and reconnect. They're shocked to find it's been so long that they don't recognise her at all. While they're there, they try to help her with her computer. They try first to fix her iTunes account, and then her internet banking - after all it's the least they can do! However everything they touch turns to dust. They end up getting her cut off from the internet, the gas and the electricity, and reduced to a World War II-style privations - that is until the toddler from next door comes in and fixes everything. They return home somewhat with their tails between their legs, only to discover that with their help Gran has learned to make videos, and has become an internet sensation.

Quercus

Five Get On the Property Ladder

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Go (Halloween)

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Go 2017 [Autumn tbc]]

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

Quercus

Catfulness

A Cat
Authors:
A Cat
Quercus

Sketchy Muma

Anna Lewis
Authors:
Anna Lewis
Quercus

A Short History of Truth

Julian Baggini
Authors:
Julian Baggini
Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods

'Cate Woods is laugh-out-loud funny and life affirming' Closer. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Nick Spalding and Anna Bell.In her twenties, Annie Taylor was sorted: she had her dream job, an amazing social life and was happily single. She had bags of confidence and played up her likeness to a young Barbra Streisand in turbans and winged eyeliner. Annie knew exactly who she was, and her future looked bright and full of adventures.Life, however, hasn't turned out quite how she expected. Now 33, Annie is living with her boyfriend Luke and is a stay-at-home mum to their baby daughter, Dot. The promising photography career has petered out, and with it her confidence and creativity. And when Luke does the unforgivable, Annie finds herself suddenly, terrifyingly, on her own. With the help of her group of loyal friends, Annie faces the challenge of building a new life for herself and Dot - while at the same time trying to reconcile the glamorous, carefree Annie of old with the knackered mum-of-one she sees in the mirror today. Is old Annie gone forever, or could this finally be the chance to find herself once more?

Quercus

To Siri With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman

Quercus

Five Get Beach Body Ready

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Get Beach Body Ready

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy are keen to hone their physiques ready for the summer holidays. All it will take is a bit of effort and willpower . . . and pulling together as a team. What could possibly stand in their way?True to form, the path to the body beautiful is less straightforward than they hope!

Quercus

Five Lose Dad in the Garden Centre

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Give Up the Booze

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy confront a new challenge: give up the booze.Give up alcohol you say? Why, of course they can! Talk about an easy challenge! Five old friends set about this simple task and find all of a sudden that: the days are longer; they get to see each other for who they really are; the empty laughter of ordinary conversation is so much harder to fake. Yes, they're saving money and losing weight, but the world itself seems to take on a slow, dreary inevitability. Soon they begin to snap at each other, and then fight - until they begin to wonder, have the Five at last found the challenge that will defeat them?The perfect gift for anyone who has woken up and promised themselves that they will never drink again. Or at least until next weekend. (P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

Quercus

Five Lose Dad in the Garden Centre

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

Enid Blyton's books are beloved the world over and The Famous Five have been the perennial favourite of her fans. Now, in this new series of Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups, George, Dick, Anne, Julian and Timmy are keen to show Uncle Quentin what a jolly good chap he is.Join Julian, George, Dick, Anne and Timmy the dog as they celebrate Father's Day by taking Uncle Quentin to the local garden centre to chose a new garden shed in which to conduct his experiments. But what promised to be a relaxed outing turns into a nightmare when Quentin disappears into thin air. He surely cannot have gone far . . .

Quercus

Five Go On A Strategy Away Day

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five on Brexit Island

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

How to Play the Piano

James Rhodes
Authors:
James Rhodes

Learn to play one of Bach's most exquisite preludes in just 6 weeks, even if you have never played the piano before.An accessible and inspiring guide by the pianist and international bestselling writer James Rhodes, who promises that this book gives anyone with two hands, a piano or an electric keyboard and just 45 minutes a day the tools they need to learn to play Bach's Prelude No. 1 in C Major in 6 weeks, even if they know nothing about music and have never even touched a piano before.How often do we convince ourselves that it's just too late - too late to learn how to ride a bike, too late to know how to meditate, too late to travel the world... As we get older and time slips through our fingers like water, we become resigned, almost defeatist, about abandoning our dreams. For James Rhodes, after the inevitable "How many hours a day do you practice?" and "Show me your hands", the most common thing people say to him when they hear he's a pianist is "I used to play the piano as a kid. I really regret giving it up". Where does this mourned and misplaced creativity go? For Rhodes, it's still there to be tapped into by all of us, at any point. This inspirational book gives us the means to do this, by breaking up Bach's seminal Prelude No. 1 from the Well-Tempered Clavier into manageable segments, teaching us the basics of piano playing - how to read music, the difference between the treble and the bass clef, sharp and flat notes, how to practice etc.. - and encouraging personal interpretation in a way that is guaranteed to soothe the mind, feed the soul and unleash creative powers we didn't know we still had. All of this will culminate in an ability to perform one of Bach's masterpieces."If listening to music is soothing for the soul, then playing music is achieving enlightenment. It's going from kicking a ball around with a few pals to playing alongside Ronaldo."

riverrun

A Yorkshire Tragedy

Anthony Clavane
Authors:
Anthony Clavane

THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF PROMISED LAND AND DOES YOUR RABBI KNOW YOU'RE HERE? SETS HIS FOCUS TO YORKSHIRE, AND ITS ENDANGERED STATUS AS A SPORTING POWERHOUSE.'If you want to know how it feels to be left behind, if you want to know how it feels to be forgotten, if you want to know how it feels to be heartbroken, then read this book' David PeaceFor the past 30 years, something has been missing from British sport. For some it has lost its heart and soul. Anthony Clavane argues that it has lost its Yorkshireness, which possibly amounts to the same thing.A Yorkshire Tragedy is the final part of Anthony Clavane's triptych that examines belonging, identity and the rise and fall of tightly knit sporting communities through the prism of the author's own personal experience.Loved A Yorkshire Tragedy? Then check out Does Your Rabbi Know You're Here? - Anthony Clavane's highly acclaimed history of Jewish involvement in English football.

Quercus

The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k

Sarah Knight, Sarah Knight
Authors:
Sarah Knight, Sarah Knight

'The anti-guru' Observer'Absolutely blinding. Read it. Do it.' Daily MailThe bestselling book everyone is talking about, revealing the surprising art of caring less and getting more.Are you stressed out, overbooked and underwhelmed by life? Fed up with pleasing everyone else before you please yourself? Then it's time to stop giving a f**k. This irreverent and practical book explains how to rid yourself of unwanted obligations, shame, and guilt - and give your f**ks instead to people and things that make you happy. From family dramas to having a bikini body, the simple 'NotSorry Method' for mental decluttering will help you unleash the power of not giving a f**k and will free you to spend your time, energy and money on the things that really matter.'Genius' Cosmopolitan'I love Knight's book even before I start reading . . . Works a charm' Sunday Times Magazine'Life-affirming . . . The key practice she advocates is devising for yourself a "fuck budget" . . . It's a beautiful way of streamlining your psyche' Lucy Mangan, GuardianALSO OUT NOW: Get Your Sh*t Together The must-have follow up To The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k.