Rosie Archer - The Girls from the Local - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £20.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786483539
    • Publication date:14 Dec 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786485984
    • Publication date:14 Dec 2017

The Girls from the Local

By Rosie Archer

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Gosport, Hampshire, 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids.

Gosport, Hampshire 1943, and even in the middle of war the local pub provides a warm welcome, thanks to its trio of barmaids.

Ruby has been living and working at the Point of No Return pub since her parents were killed by a bomb. She loves the bustle of the pub; it helps take her mind off worrying about her fiance, Joe, away fighting in France.

The only thing Ruby doesn't like about the Point is Sylvie. This singing siren may have a beautiful voice, but she's out for all she can get, including Joe.

Finally, there's Marge, a true party girl. She's a great friend to Ruby and makes sure they have fun, going out to dances and flirting with all and sundry, but she's not as fond of her other role as a mother to two young children.

The three of them face many obstacles to fulfilling their dreams, but the bonds of friendship and camaraderie that hold the Point together will keep them going through the darkest of times.

Biographical Notes

Rosie Archer was born in Gosport, Hampshire, where she still lives. She has had a variety of jobs including waitress, fruit picker, barmaid, shop assistant and market trader selling second-hand books. Rosie is the author of The Munitions Girls, The Canary Girls, The Factory Girls and The Gunpowder and Glory Girls as well as a series of gangster sagas under the name June Hampson.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786483546
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
A nostalgic story packed with drama, tension, passion and the grim realities of life in wartime England — Lancashire Evening Post on The Factory Girls
A gripping story packed with darkness and light, love and friendship, greed and betrayal — Lancashire Evening Post on The Canary Girls
Quercus

The Narrowboat Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

SAS Ghost Patrol

Damien Lewis
Authors:
Damien Lewis

Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Jo Fletcher Books

Prince of the Spear

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

Desperate for the next Game of Thrones? Prince of the Spear continues the Sunsurge Quartet and delivers a full-on fix of epic fantasy.The unthinkable has happened. With the Leviathan Bridge critically damaged and its towers unable to control the skies between Yuros and Antiopia, the East has invaded the West. A vast windfleet, constructed in secret, is winging across the Pontic SeaThe holy Shihad has begun.The Rondian Empire is divided and weak. Empress Lyra has barely survived a coup, triggered by a masked cabal whose members still remain concealed in the highest echelons of her court. Only Lyra's secret affinity to the heretical power of dwyma saved her - but that affinity is also her most dangerous weakness.As empires clash, lives are torn apart and long-held beliefs are overthrown by circumstance and desperation. A young queen whose court is riddled with traitors turns to the wrong people in her hour of need. Two princes clash in the skies, the fate of two nations riding on their skill. Two brothers must reconcile disparate cultures to regain their kingdom. An idealistic rabble-rouser sees a chance to strike. And a small group of dwymancers grope blindly for knowledge in a race against time before the masked Cabal strike again.

MacLehose Press

Kingdom of Twilight

Steven Uhly
Authors:
Steven Uhly

HISTORICAL FICTION BOOK OF THE MONTH - THE TIMESOne night in autumn 1944, a gunshot echoes through the alleyways of a small town in occupied Poland. An S.S. officer is shot dead by a young Polish Jew, Margarita Ejzenstain. In retaliation, his commander orders the execution of thirty-seven Poles - one for every year of the dead man's life. First hidden by a German couple, Margarita must then flee the brutal advance of the Soviet army with her new-born baby. So begins a thrilling panorama of intermingled destinies and events that reverberate from that single act of defiance. KINGDOM OF TWILIGHT follows the lives of Jewish refugees and a German family resettled from Bukovina, as well as a former S.S. officer, chronicling the geographical and psychological dislocation generated by war. A quest for identity and truth takes them from Displaced Persons camps to Lübeck, Berlin, Tel Aviv and New York, as they try to make sense of a changed world, and of their place in it. Hypnotically lyrical and intensely moving, Steven Uhly's epic novel is a finely nuanced and yet shattering exploration of universal themes: love, hatred, doubt, survival, guilt, humanity and redemption.For readers of HHHH by Laurent Binet, THE KINDLY ONES by Jonathan Littell, THE ZONE OF INTEREST by Martin Amis, and ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE by Anthony DoerrTranslated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

MacLehose Press

Holy Smoke

Derek Robinson
Authors:
Derek Robinson

The summer of 1944. Rome, Italy - somewhat battered, but liberated by the Allies and glad to be out of the war. Enter a powerful American intelligence agency, hot in pursuit of secret information. Also enter a stunted, insignificant, middle-aged, unemployed Italian journalist, fresh out of jail and desperate for work. On the face of it, a grotesquely one-sided confrontation, heavily weighted in favour of the professionals. What could possibly go wrong? In the event, almost everything. And that's a fact.

MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
Quercus

Trouble Ahead

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse
Quercus

The Ferry Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

The Ferry Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

Cancelled

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees
Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
MacLehose Press

Avenging Angels

Lyuba Vinogradova
Authors:
Lyuba Vinogradova
Quercus

Prussian Blue

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

Quercus

The King's War

Mark Logue, Peter Conradi
Authors:
Mark Logue, Peter Conradi
MacLehose Press

Between the Wars

Philip Ziegler
Authors:
Philip Ziegler
Heron Books

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley
Authors:
Debra Daley
MacLehose Press

The Bickford Fuse

Andrey Kurkov
Authors:
Andrey Kurkov

Catch-22 meets The Brothers Karamazov in the last great satire of the Soviet EraThe Great Patriotic War is stumbling to a close, but a new darkness has fallen over Soviet Russia. And for a disparate, disconnected clutch of wanderers - many thousands of miles apart but linked by a common goal - four parallel journeys are just beginning.Gorych and his driver, rolling through water, sand and snow on an empty petrol tank; the occupant of a black airship, looking down benevolently as he floats above his Fatherland; young Andrey, who leaves his religious community in search of a new life; and Kharitonov, who trudges from the Sea of Japan to Leningrad, carrying a fuse that, when lit, could blow all and sundry to smithereens.Written in the final years of Communism, The Bickford Fuse is a satirical epic of the Soviet soul, exploring the origins and dead-ends of the Russian mentality from the end of World War Two to the Union's collapse. Blending allegory and fable with real events, and as deliriously absurd as anything Kurkov has written, it is both an elegy for lost years and a song of hope for a future not yet set in stone.Translated from the Russian by Boris Dralyuk

Quercus

Snow Angels

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

A moving saga about love and forgiveness from a bestselling author. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.Abby Reed, grieving after the loss of her mother, finds an unexpected source of comfort exploring the rugged, snowy countryside with the brooding Gillan Collingwood, son of a local shipping merchant. It isn't long before she begins to hope that she and Gill might someday be more than friends . . . But then Gill meets his elder brother's new wife Helen, and falls instantly, deeply in love with her. Abby is shattered by the news and throws herself into an imprudent love affair. Her impulse will take her away from the frosty wilds of her homeland to London's glittering social scene . . . but can she ever forget the boy she left behind? A sparkling winter wonderland of a novel - the perfect fireside read!