Daniel Smith - 100 Things They Don't Want You To Know - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £8.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786488503
    • Publication date:02 Nov 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784290344
    • Publication date:03 Sep 2015
Books in this series

100 Things They Don't Want You To Know

Conspiracies, mysteries and unsolved crimes

By Daniel Smith

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Uncover the world's greatest mysteries, disappearances, unsolved crimes, cover-ups and conspiracy theories


THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE . . .

Who was Jack the Ripper? Where did the Nazis stash their gold? Who are the real Men in Black? Did aliens send the 'WOW' signal? And how will the world end?

100 Things They Don't Want You to Know sets out to uncover the truth behind the world's most mysterious cover-ups and unexplained events that have been shrouded in secrecy for generations.

From suspicious deaths and disappearances to enigmatic identities, from Cold War cover-ups to puzzling paranormal phenomena and from ancient artefacts to coded documents, 100 Things They Don't Want You to Know takes you on a quest to solve the greatest mysteries, strange disappearances, suspicious cover-ups and conspiracy theories.

Including: Black Dahlia, the Marfa Lights, the Turin Shroud, Spontaneous Combustion, Lost Literature of the Mayan Civilisation, Disappearance of Jean Spangler, Shakespeare's True Identity, the Turin Shroud, the Easter Island Glyphs, the Death of Lee Harvey Oswald, the Mothman, The Flying Dutchman, the Secret Mission of Ruldolph Hess, the 'WOW" signal, Lewis Carroll's Lost Diaries, the Man in the Iron Mask and the Beast of Bodmin Moor.

Biographical Notes

Daniel Smith is the bestselling author of 100 Places You Will Never Visit, which has been translated into eight languages. He has written more than fifteen books, on subjects as diverse as Sherlock Holmes, cockney rhyming slang and the WWII Dig for Victory campaign. Daniel is also a long-time contributor to The Statesman's Yearbook, an annual geopolitical guide to the countries of the world. He lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786488497
  • Publication date: 02 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
riverrun

City of Devils

Paul French
Authors:
Paul French
riverrun

Out of Thin Air

Anthony Adeane
Authors:
Anthony Adeane
Jo Fletcher Books

The Exile

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair

Ravindra is back, and close to his dream of becoming the Demon King Ravana once and for all - unless Vikram, Amanjit, Deepika and Ras find their own powers, evil will overwhelm the world . . .Bollywood superstar Sunita Ashoka's reality show Swayamvara Live! has ended in bloodshed and disaster, and Vikram, Amanjit and Rasita are on the run, accused of her murder. And just like the heroes of the Ramayana, they soon find themselves beset by the same perils as Rama, Laksmana and Sita.When an unexpected death forces Vikram into the open, they start to despair - but there is some hope: Amanjit's warrior skills are returning, Rasita is beginning to remember her own past lives, and Deepika is awakening to terrifying new powers. But the enemy, Ravindra, has also found allies: the nightmarish Rakshasa army.Memories and legends are coming alive all over India. The fight to the finish has begun . . .'David Hair hasn't just broken the mould. He's completely shattered it' - Bibliosanctum on The Pyre

Quercus

You Do You

Sarah Knight
Authors:
Sarah Knight

*From the 'anti-guru' author of the smash hit The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k and the New York Times bestseller Get Your Sh*t Together * In The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k, our favourite 'anti-guru' Sarah Knight unleashed the power of saying no. In Get Your Sh*t Together, she prioritised the sh*t you need and want to do so you can achieve your hopes and dreams. Now she's back, doubling down on your happiness with her latest message: You Do You. Being yourself should be the easiest thing in the world. Yet instead of leaning in to who we are, we fight it, listening too closely to what society tells us. You Do You helps you shake off those expectations, say f**k perfect, start looking out for number one and keep on with your badass self. From career and finances to relationships and family, lifestyle and health, Sarah Knight rips up the rulebook. Writing about her mistakes and embarrassments in her own personal quest to 'do me' - because nobody gets everything right all day, every day - Sarah Knight shows why you can and should f**k up and teaches you to let yourself off the hook, bounce back and keep standing tall.What everyone is saying about Sarah Knight:'The anti-guru' Observer'I love Knight' Sunday Times 'Life-affirming' Lucy Mangan, Guardian 'Genius' Vogue

MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska

"The House with the Stained-Glass Window is remarkable, a gripping, Lvivian evocation of a city and a family across a long and painful century, at once personal and political, a novel of life and survival across the ages" PHILIPPE SANDS, author of East West StreetIn 1989, Marianna, the beautiful star soprano at the Lviv opera, is shot dead in the street as she leads the Ukrainian citizens in their protest against Soviet power. Only eleven years old at the time, her daughter tells the story of their family before and after that critical moment - including, ten years later, her own passionate affair with an older, married man. Just like their home city of Lviv, which stands at the crossroads of nations and cultures, the women in this family have had turbulent lives, scarred by war and political turmoil, but also by their own inability to show each other their feelings. Lyrically told, this is the story of a young girl's emotional, sexual, artistic and political awakening as she matures under the influence of her relatives, her mother's former lover, her city and its fortunes.Translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones

riverrun

Citizen Clem

John Bew
Authors:
John Bew
Quercus

Serial Killers

Brian Innes
Authors:
Brian Innes
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting

By Norway's bestselling novelist and the author of NORWEGIAN WOOD, a family story of epic scale. Edvard grows up on a remote mountain farmstead in Norway with his taciturn grandfather, Sverre. The death of his parents, when he was three years old, has always been shrouded in mystery - he has never been told how or where it took place and has only a distant memory of his mother. But he knows that the fate of his grandfather's brother, Einar, is somehow bound up with this mystery. One day a coffin is delivered for his grandfather long before his death - a meticulous, beautiful piece of craftsmanship. Perhaps Einar is not dead after all. Edvard's desperate quest to unlock the family's tragic secrets takes him on a long journey - from Norway to the Shetlands, and to the battlefields of France - to the discovery of a very unusual inheritance. The Sixteen Trees of the Somme is about the love of wood and finding your own self, a beautifully intricate and moving tale that spans an entire century.Translated from the Norwegian by Paul Russell Garrett

MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
Quercus

Killing Goldfinger

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson

KILLING GOLDFINGER charts the extraordinary rise and spectacular bullet-riddled fall of John Palmer, the richest, most powerful criminal ever to have emerged from the modern British underworld. During the late 1990s, Palmer was rated as rich as The Queen by the Sunday Times Rich List.Palmer earned his nickname Goldfinger after smelting (in his back garden) tens of millions of pounds worth of stolen gold bullion from the 20th century's most lucrative heist; the Brink's-Mat robbery. Palmer then used his share of the millions to become the vicious overlord of a vast illegal timeshare property empire in Tenerife. At the same time, Goldfinger financed huge international drugs shipments as well as some of the most notorious UK robberies of the past 30 years, including the £50m Securitas heist in Kent in 2006 and, many believe, the Hatton Garden heist in 2015.Palmer vowed to hunt down all his underworld enemies. But in the end it was those same criminals who decided to bring his life to an end. Murdered in June 2015, with charges of fraud, money laundering and worse pending, this book tells his murky story for the first time.As outrageous and bullet-riddled as the hit Netflix series Narcos, Killing Goldfinger tells the true story of Britain's underworld kingpin, who turned the sunshine holiday island of Tenerife into his very own Crime Incorporated and then paid the ultimate price.

MacLehose Press

The Children

Carolina Sanín
Authors:
Carolina Sanín
Quercus

The Kings and Queens of England

Ian Crofton
Authors:
Ian Crofton

Quercus

A Harvest of Thorns

Corban Addison
Authors:
Corban Addison
Quercus

Letters From My Sister

Alice Peterson
Authors:
Alice Peterson
MacLehose Press

The Sorrows of Mexico

Lydia Cacho, Anabel Hernández, Juan Villoro, Diego Enrique Osorno, Sergio González Rodríguez, Marcela Turati, Emiliano Ruiz Parra, Elena Poniatowska
Authors:
Lydia Cacho, Anabel Hernández, Juan Villoro, Diego Enrique Osorno, Sergio González Rodríguez, Marcela Turati, Emiliano Ruiz Parra, Elena Poniatowska
MacLehose Press

The Bickford Fuse

Andrey Kurkov
Authors:
Andrey Kurkov
Quercus

Sexy Beasts

Wensley Clarkson
Authors:
Wensley Clarkson
MacLehose Press

The Black Notebook

Patrick Modiano
Authors:
Patrick Modiano
riverrun

Freeze Frame

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

ENZO MACLEOD TACKLES ONE OF FRANCE'S MOST NOTORIOUS UNSOLVED CASES, IN THE FOURTH OFFERING FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING MASTER OF CRIME.ILE DE GROIX, FRANCE.A Frozen Island. This tiny isle off the coast of Brittany is the scene of a murder left shrouded in mystery and grief. A Frozen Crime. Adam Killian's study has been left intact since his death - the perfect state for Enzo Macleod's forensic investigation. A Frozen Heart. Killian's daughter-in-law is still hoping; the first suspect is still hiding; and the treacherous island itself still has a revelation for Enzo.

Quercus

The Tenderness of Wolves

Stef Penney
Authors:
Stef Penney

10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY EDITION - FEATURES READING GROUP QUESTIONS AND NEW MATERIAL FROM STEF'S UPCOMING EPIC NOVEL, UNDER A POLE STARCOSTA AWARD WINNER and WORLDWIDE BESTSELLER. A breathtaking tale of mystery, buried secrets and romance, set in nineteenth century frontier Canada - for fans of THE SNOW CHILD and A PLACE CALLED WINTER.'Unquestionably atmospheric, evocative and rewarding' Independent on Sunday'A tense and delicately written thriller' ObserverCanada, 1867. A young murder suspect flees across the snowy wilderness. Tracking him is what passes for the law in this frontier land: trappers, sheriffs, traders and the suspect's own mother, desperate to clear his name. As the party pushes further from civilisation, hidden purposes and old obsessions are revealed. One is seeking long-lost daughters; another a fortune in stolen furs; yet another is chasing rumours of a lost Native American culture. But where survival depends on cooperation, their fragile truce cannot afford to be broken, nor their overriding purpose - to find justice for a murdered man - forgotten.The Tenderness of Wolves is a must-read historical epic, weaving adventure, suspense and humour into an exhilarating thriller, a panoramic romance and ultimately, one of the books of the last ten years.