Tracy Rees - Darling Blue - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786488596
    • Publication date:26 Jul 2018
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786486684
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018

Darling Blue

By Tracy Rees

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

The fourth novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.

Blue lives a charmed life. From her family's townhouse in Richmond, she lives a life of luxury and couldn't want for anything - well, on the surface at least.

Then on the night of her twenty-first birthday her father makes a startling toast: he will give his daughter's hand to whichever man can capture her heart best in the form of a love letter. But Blue has other ideas and, unwilling to play at her father's bewildering games, she sets out on her own path to find her own destiny...

(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Biographical Notes

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781787475434
  • Publication date: 26 Jul 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Quercus

The Rival

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

The Oddest Little Cornish Tea Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good

'I love Beth Good's quirky style!' Katie FfordeIt's a big day for Charlie Bell - the grand reopening of her Aunt Pansy's long-closed tea rooms in Tremevissey, a quaint Cornish seaside resort. But not everyone is happy for Charlie. The locals say the tea rooms are cursed. For Pansy was cruelly jilted by her lover, and walked out into the ocean, never to return.Charlie dismisses the 'curse' as superstitious nonsense, but by the end of the first day, her world is in tatters, and she's not even sure the tea rooms can open again. Then in walks a rugged, taciturn man with a sexy smile and everything he owns on his back, looking for a summer job . . .Is Gideon Petherick an angel in disguise? Or is history about to repeat itself?The latest novella in Beth Good's quirky and popular 'Oddest Little Shop' romcom series.

Quercus

The Oddest Little Chocolate Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Book Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Beach Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Quercus

The Oddest Little Romance Shop

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott

'Intricate and crisp, witty and solemn. Line by line, silent and adroit, it opens a series of trap-doors in the reader's imagination' Hilary Mantel, Man Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf HallWelcome back to Rotherweird.The town of Rotherweird has been independent from the rest of England for four hundred years, to protect a deadly secret. Sir Veronal Slickstone is dead, his bid to exploit that secret consigned to dust, leaving Rotherweird to resume its abnormal normality after the travails of the summer . . . but someone is playing a very long game.Disturbing omens multiply: a funeral delivers a cryptic warning; an ancient portrait speaks; the Herald disappears - and democracy threatens the uneasy covenant between town and countryside.Geryon Wynter's intricate plot, centuries in the making, is on the move.Everything points to one objective: the resurrection of Rotherweird's dark Elizabethan past - and to one date: the Winter Solstice.Wynter is coming . . .'Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold. An enthralling puzzle picture of a book' M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl With All The Gifts

Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe

An intense, claustrophobic psychological novel about the dark side of expat life, and what being out of your comfort zone can do to you, set in the vibrant souks and ancient riads of MarrakechA unique friendship, built on a lieFreya, Paul and Hamad. Three friends from two different worlds; a seemingly unshakeable bond, suddenly under threat.A move that would change all their lives.The trio have stayed close since university despite Freya and Paul's marriage and Hamad's wealthy lifestyle - so different from their own. Then an incredible job offer from Hamad sees Paul and Freya move to Morocco.A city where nothing is as it seemsMarrakech soon proves a perplexing place to live. Instead of reinvigorating their marriage, Freya finds the move is driving them apart. Revelations about their shared past force her to acknowledge that neither Paul nor Hamad is quite the man she thought. When a shocking crime is committed, Freya finds herself cast adrift in the dark corners of a bewildering city, unsure who to trust or to believe.

riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Escape to the heart of enchanting Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For many years Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the magical island of Belle-Île-en-Mer in Southern Brittany - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and realises that the time has come for her to go home. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done? Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Île still fascinates her. She takes on the running of her mother's flower shop and makes friends with Élodie from the Old Lighthouse where Thea once worked as a nanny and with the enigmatic Étienne who shares Colette's mixed feelings about the island. As Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. But can Belle-Île also be a part of her future?The ghosts of that past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Île hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.

Quercus

Relight My Fire

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'Compulsive' Sunday Times'Breaks another boundary' Irish Times'A must-read' Image 'Honest and poignant' Elle 'Intelligent and compelling' Daily Mail When Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt.Isn't it?

riverrun

The Blackhouse

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

Spoonbenders

Daryl Gregory
Authors:
Daryl Gregory

'As gripping as it is hilarious' Steven Rowley'Funny and charming . . . magical' New York Times Book Review'Hilarious' GuardianTeddy, Maureen, Frankie, Irene and Buddy were the Amazing Telemachus Family, who achieved widespread fame for their magic and mind reading act. Until, that is, the magic decided to disappear one night, live on national television.We encounter this long-forgotten family two decades on, when grandson Matty, born long after the public fall from grace, discovers powers in himself - and thus realises his dispirited, dysfunctional family members are actually amazing after all.Spoonbenders is the legacy and legend of the Telemachus family, across three generations of big personalities and socially inept recluses: each with a tarnished reputation, each now tasked with finding redemption...

Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby, a place she's only been once before. Together with a local girl she rents a beautiful townhouse and slowly begins to settle in to her new life. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.The Hourglass is a moving novel about finding love even after it seems too late and the healing power of a magical place by the sea.

Quercus

The Factory Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer
Quercus

Florence Grace

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction' Lucinda Riley. The stunning second novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies' The Tea Planter's Wife.Florrie Buckley is an orphan, living on the wind-blasted moors of Cornwall. It's a hard existence but Florrie is content;she runs wild in the mysterious landscape. She thinks her destiny is set in stone. But when Florrie is fifteen, she inherits a never-imagined secret. She is related to a wealthy and notorious London family, the Graces. Overnight, Florrie's life changes and she moves from country to city, from poverty to wealth. Cut off from everyone she has ever known, Florrie struggles to adapt while learning the rules of a strange new world. And then she must try to fathom her destructive pull towards the enigmatic and troubled Turlington Grace, a man with many dark secrets of his own.

riverrun

Asking For It

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way. Until that night . . . Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget. BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.