Andrew Caldecott - Lost Acre - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784298043
    • Publication date:13 Jun 2019
Books in this series

Lost Acre

Rotherweird Book III

By Andrew Caldecott

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Wynter is here . . . and if he isn't stopped, this could be the end of Rotherweird - for good.

'Intricate and crisp, witty and solemn' Hilary Mantel, Man Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall on Rotherweird

Wynter is here . . .

Gervon Wynter has returned to Rotherweird and has not only taken over the town but is busy destroying the countrysiders' life too.

Can our small band of heroes find a way to outwit a genius whose master plan is five centuries in the making?

Watch this space . . .

'Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold. An enthralling puzzle picture of a book' M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl With All The Gifts on Rotherweird

Biographical Notes

Andrew Caldecott is a QC specialising in media law; he has represented a wide variety of clients, from the BBC and the Guardian to supermodel Naomi Campbell. An occasional playwright, he turned his hand to fiction when, informed by his love of history, which he studied at New College, Oxford, he was seized by the notion of a city-state hiding a cataclysmic secret. Wyntertide continues the story started in Rotherweird.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781787476783
  • Publication date: 13 Jun 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
A history-tragic-comedy all rolled into one, Rotherweird is intricate and crisp, witty and solemn: a book not unlike other books, but with special and dangerous properties. Line by line, silent and adroit, it opens a series of trap-doors in the reader's imagination — Hilary Mantel, two-time Man Booker prize winner, on Rotherweird
Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold. An enthralling puzzle picture of a book — M.R. Carey, author of the bestselling The Girl With All The Gifts, on Rotherweird
Compelling . . . the love child of Gormenghast and Hogwarts — Guardian on Rotherweird
This novel is a remarkable achievement. It's also extremely funny, in a typically British sort of way . . . a delightful Harry Potter for grown-ups — Sunday Independent on Rotherweird
An imaginative tour de force — The Times on Rotherweird
Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Jo Fletcher Books

Council

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
MacLehose Press

A Book of Falsehoods

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The third part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer 1578. A ship from Rostock arrives in Tallinn loaded with printed copies of Balthasar Russow's Chronicle - the culmination of our hero's life's work. But though it is an instant success, as it was in Rostock and numerous German cities, not everyone is happy to see it published. A group of local gentry denounce it to the town council as "a book of heinous falsehoods", and lobby for Balthasar to relieved as pastor of Holy Ghost Church.But all is not lost. Balthasar may call on a powerful ally - if he is willing to pay the price. In this final volume, fierce storms, along with famine, war and plague, continue to be loosed upon Livonia. Balthasar's personal life, too, is fraught with turbulence and loss, much of it stemming from his own jealousy and suspicion.

riverrun

The Dollmaker

Nina Allan
Authors:
Nina Allan
Quercus

The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo
Authors:
Yangsze Choo
Jo Fletcher Books

Cemetery Girl Omnibus

Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden, Don Kramer
Contributors:
Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden, Don Kramer
Jo Fletcher Books

Our Child of the Stars

Stephen Cox
Authors:
Stephen Cox
Jo Fletcher Books

Haunted

Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
Authors:
Christopher Golden, Charlaine Harris
riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Jo Fletcher Books

Foundryside

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

'The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists' Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author of OathbringerShe thought it was just another job. But her discovery could bring the city to its knees . . .The city of Tevanne runs on scrivings, industrialised magical inscriptions that make inanimate objects sentient; they power everything, from walls to wheels to weapons. Scrivings have brought enormous progress and enormous wealth - but only to the four merchant Houses who control them. Everyone else is a servant or slave, or they eke a precarious living in the hellhole called the Commons. There's not much in the way of work for an escaped slave like Sancia Grado, but she has an unnatural talent that makes her one of the best thieves in the city. When she's offered a lucrative job to steal an ancient artefact from a heavily guarded warehouse, Sancia agrees, dreaming of leaving the Commons - but instead, she finds herself the target of a murderous conspiracy. Someone powerful in Tevanne wants the artefact, and Sancia dead - and whoever it is already wields power beyond imagining. Sancia will need every ally, and every ounce of wits at her disposal, if she is to survive - because if her enemy gets the artefact and unlocks its secrets, thousands will die, and, even worse, it will allow ancient evils back into the world and turn their city into a devastated battleground.'Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience' Brent Weeks'An altogether terrific read' Sebastien de Castell'Intricate worldbuilding, fascinating magic, and engaging characters. More please!' Felicia Day'Inventive, immersive, and thrilling . . . Do yourself a favor and pick this up!' Kevin Hearne

Jo Fletcher Books

Restoration

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter

Walking between the worlds has always been dangerous - but this time V's facing the loss of all she holds dear.Verity Fassbinder thought no boss could be worse than her perfectionist ex-boyfriend - until she grudgingly agreed to work for a psychotic fallen angel. And dealing with a career change not entirely of her own choosing is doing nothing to improve V's already fractious temper. The angel is a jealous - and violent - employer, so she's quit working for the Weyrd Council and sent her family away, for their own safety. Instead of indulging in domestic bliss, she's got to play BFFs with the angel's little spy, Joyce the kitsune assassin . . . and Joyce comes with her own murderous problems. The angel has tasked V with finding two lost treasures, which would be hard enough even without a vengeful Dusana Nadasy on her heels. And Inspector McIntyre won't stop calling: the bodies of Normal women who disappeared decades before are turning up, apparently subjected to Weyrd magics. Angelic demands or not, this isn't something she can walk away from. And the angel is getting impatient for results . . .'Slatter [has] gone from strength to strength, armed with first-class imagination and first-class storytelling skills' Jeff Vandermeer, bestselling author of the Southern Reach trilogy

Jo Fletcher Books

Strife's Bane

Evie Manieri
Authors:
Evie Manieri
Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott

'Intricate and crisp, witty and solemn. Line by line, silent and adroit, it opens a series of trap-doors in the reader's imagination' Hilary Mantel, Man Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf HallWelcome back to Rotherweird.The town of Rotherweird has been independent from the rest of England for four hundred years, to protect a deadly secret. Sir Veronal Slickstone is dead, his bid to exploit that secret consigned to dust, leaving Rotherweird to resume its abnormal normality after the travails of the summer . . . but someone is playing a very long game.Disturbing omens multiply: a funeral delivers a cryptic warning; an ancient portrait speaks; the Herald disappears - and democracy threatens the uneasy covenant between town and countryside.Geryon Wynter's intricate plot, centuries in the making, is on the move.Everything points to one objective: the resurrection of Rotherweird's dark Elizabethan past - and to one date: the Winter Solstice.Wynter is coming . . .'Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful - not to mention bold. An enthralling puzzle picture of a book' M. R. Carey, bestselling author of The Girl With All The Gifts(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Jo Fletcher Books

Rotherweird

Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
Contributors:
Andrew Caldecott, Sasha Laika
Quercus

The Black Friar

S. G. MacLean
Authors:
S. G. MacLean
Jo Fletcher Books

Your Resting Place

David Towsey
Authors:
David Towsey

Perfect for fans of The Walking Dead and The Road: the stunning, terrifying, moving conclusion to The Walkin' Trilogy.Is there a future for those already dead?Rumours of the Drowned Woman are rife. Some say she can't be killed, not in the usual ways. She hunts down wanted men - but never collects on the bounty; they say she is looking for one man in particular. He killed her husband and stole her daughter.There will be a reckoning.'Haunting, elegiac, evocative and human' Christopher Brookmyre, author of Dead Girl Walking

Jo Fletcher Books

The Language of Dying

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

From the Number One bestselling author of BEHIND HER EYES comes a beautiful, harrowing, heartbreaking story, filled with exquisite truths.'A beautiful story, honestly told' Neil GaimanTonight is a special terrible night. A woman sits at her father's bedside, watching the clock tick away the last hours of his life. Her brothers and sisters - all broken, their bonds fragile - have been there for the past week, but now she is alone. And that's when it always comes. The clock ticks, the darkness beckons.If it comes at all.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Tower Broken

Mazarkis Williams
Authors:
Mazarkis Williams

The final part of the 'twisty and enjoyable tale' (SFX) from Mazarkis Williams, the Sunday Times bestselling author and critically acclaimed American writer: a 'compelling and wholly convincing fantasy' Ben Aaronovitch, author of The Rivers of London, a 'riveting and intense novel which will keep fans of grim fantasy entirely enthralled' Publishers Weekly, perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and Brandon Sanderson.The walls of Cerana are crumbling; Emperor Sarmin and his wife believed the Pattern Master dead, but what he started is spreading across the desert: a vast nothing that is swallowing everything in its path. The last mage has vanished, seeking a mysterious pattern-worker, the Mage's Tower, symbol of Cerani invincibility, is cracked, and the Yrkman armies have arrived with conquest in mind - but they will spare Sarmin's people if they will convert to the Mogryk faith.Time is running out for Sarmin and Mesema in this gripping climax to the Tower and Knife trilogy. . .

Jo Fletcher Books

Your Brother's Blood

David Towsey
Authors:
David Towsey
riverrun

Fair Helen

Andrew Greig
Authors:
Andrew Greig