Louise O'Neill - Only Ever Yours YA edition - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £9.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784294007
    • Publication date:02 Jul 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848664166
    • Publication date:30 Jun 2014

Only Ever Yours YA edition

By Louise O'Neill

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

If you're a girl, all that matters is that you are beautiful . . . The brilliant, bestselling first novel by Louise O'Neill, author of Asking for It

'Utterly magnificent . . . gripping, accomplished and dark' Marian Keyes

WINNER: Newcomer of the Year at the IBAs
WINNER: Bookseller YA Prize
WINNER: CBI Eilis Dillon Award
Buzzfeed's Best Books Written by Women in 2014

The bestselling novel about beauty, body image and betrayal

eves are designed, not made.
The School trains them to be pretty
The School trains them to be good.
The School trains them to Always be Willing.


All their lives, the eves have been waiting. Now, they are ready for the outside world.
companion . . . concubine . . . or chastity
Only the best will be chosen.
And only the Men decide.

Biographical Notes

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848664159
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: riverrun
Gripping ... like all the best dystopias, Only Ever Yours is about the world we live in now — Irish Times
The Handmaid's Tale meets Mean Girls' — The Vagenda
Utterly magnificent ... gripping, accomplished and dark — Marian Keyes
Deserves to be read by young and old, male and female, the world over in the same way Harry Potter and The Hunger Games were — Sunday Independent
A dark dream. A vivid nightmare. The world O'Neill imagines is frightening because it could come true. She writes with a scalpel — Jeanette Winterson
Deep, dark and frighteningly believable, this book will stay with you for a long time — Marie Claire
Compelling writing ... this only-too-real dystopia grips from beginning to end — SFX
Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale with a post-millennial twist — The Journal.ie
The bleakness of The Catcher in the Rye, the satire of The Stepford Wives and it made me recall Nineteen Eighty-Four ... a fresh and original talent — Irish Independent
Terrifying but captivating — Company
A sparkling debut that will really make you think — Heat
'Compelling and frightening' — Irish Examiner
An ingenious exploration of gender roles, female identity and female competition — Buzzfeed
'Terrifying and heartbreaking, O'Neill's story reads like an heir to Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and MT Anderson's Feed, and, like those two books, it's sure to be discussed for years to come' — Publisher's Weekly
'A stunning debut set in a dystopian future that has everyone talking . . . once read, will never be forgotten' — Irish Independent
Dark, gripping . . . should be mandatory reading everywhere — The F Word
Quercus

The Second Time We Met

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green
Quercus

Unfollow Me

Charlotte Duckworth
Authors:
Charlotte Duckworth
Quercus

The Lost Son

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

The Angelotti family reels when the lost son, given up for adoption in the war, traces his birth family and returns to the fold, with devastating consequences. As poverty-stricken newlyweds, Laura and Giovanni Angelotti were forced to put their first child - a boy - up for adoption. They have had other children since, and their first little Italian cafe has become a restaurant empire, but Laura is still haunted by thoughts of the baby she lost.Tom is a successful businessman enjoying the fast-paced City lifestyle - until his best friend and business partner is killed in the 9/11 attacks and his world turns upside down. Searching for meaning in his life, he decides to track down his birth family: the Angelottis.But Laura has been keeping an explosive secret about Tom's parentage that means his reappearance in her life is bittersweet. She may have found her son, but will it be at the cost of everything it has taken her fifty years to build?

Quercus

The Flatshare

Beth O'Leary
Authors:
Beth O'Leary
MacLehose Press

White Shadow

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

A collection of four novellas: each taking place in 1998, each set in the world of Six Four, and each centring around a mystery and the unfortunate officer tasked with solving it.SEASON OF SHADOWS"The force could lose face . . . I want you to fix this." Personnel's Futawatari receives a horrifying memo forcing him to investigate the behaviour of a legendary detective with unfinished business.CRY OF THE EARTH"It's too easy to kill a man with a rumour." Shinto of Internal Affairs receives an anonymous tipoff alleging a Station Chief is visiting the red-light district ­- a warning he soon learns is a red herring.BLACK LINES"It was supposed to be her special day." Section Chief Nanao, responsible for the force's 49 female officers, is alarmed to learn her star pupil has not reported for duty, and is believed to be missing.BRIEFCASE"We need to know what he's going to ask." On the eve of a routine debate, Political Liaison Tsuge learns a wronged politician is preparing his revenge. He must now quickly dig up dirt to silence him.Prefecture D continues Hideo Yokoyama's exploration of the themes of obsession, saving face, office politics and inter-departmental conflicts. Placing everyday characters between a rock and a hard place and then dialling up the pressure, he blends and balances the very Japanese with the very accessible, to spectacular effect.

MacLehose Press

A Bond Undone

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony

Two women. Two stories. One hundred years of secrets. A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan 'Thrilling, thoughtful, passionate' Daily Mail'Beautiful, unsentimental, intelligent' The Times1919Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence.Hannah O'Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada, the leader of this hidden band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever . . . 2019Ellen is at a crossroads: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the things she's tried so hard to escape. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her ancestor, the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan. But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together?'A gripping novel about two women, their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting . . . a thrill to discover' Belinda McKeon 'A fierce, beautifully written story' Louise O'Neill

MacLehose Press

Katalin Street

Magda Szabó
Authors:
Magda Szabó
Quercus

Winter Without You

Beth Good
Authors:
Beth Good
Jo Fletcher Books

Our Child of the Stars

Stephen Cox
Authors:
Stephen Cox
riverrun

Friday Black

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Authors:
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong

THE CHINESE "LORD OF THE RINGS" - NOW IN ENGLISH FOR THE FIRST TIME.THE SERIES EVERY CHINESE READER HAS BEEN ENJOYING FOR DECADES - 300 MILLION COPIES SOLD.China: 1200 A.D. The Song Empire has been invaded by its warlike Jurchen neighbours from the north. Half its territory and its historic capital lie in enemy hands; the peasants toil under the burden of the annual tribute demanded by the victors. Meanwhile, on the Mongolian steppe, a disparate nation of great warriors is about to be united by a warlord whose name will endure for eternity: Genghis Khan.Guo Jing, son of a murdered Song patriot, grew up with Genghis Khan's army. He is humble, loyal, perhaps not altogether wise, and is fated from birth to one day confront an opponent who is the opposite of him in every way: privileged, cunning and flawlessly trained in the martial arts.Guided by his faithful shifus, The Seven Heroes of the South, Guo Jing must return to China - to the Garden of the Drunken Immortals in Jiaxing - to fulfil his destiny. But in a divided land riven by war and betrayal, his courage and his loyalties will be tested at every turn.Translated from the Chinese by Anna Holmwood

Quercus

Still Lives

Maria Hummel
Authors:
Maria Hummel
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
MacLehose Press

The House with the Stained-Glass Window

Zanna Sloniowska
Authors:
Zanna Sloniowska
Quercus

The Prodigal Daughter

Prue Leith
Authors:
Prue Leith

It is 1968. Angelica Angelotti has grown up in the Italian food business started by her English mother and Italian father. Now she is using her cooking talent to strike out on her own, moving to Paris to go to culinary school. There, among the excitement and wild emotion of the student barricades, she falls in love with her charismatic but unreliable cousin Mario - a manic depressive ten years older than her whom her mother had sacked from their restaurant.Navigating a blossoming career, from the Savoy hotel pastry kitchen to the world of food writing and presenting, alongside an increasingly toxic relationship, eventually proves impossible. Angelica has to leave Mario, and makes the decision to move back to the family home in Gloucestershire to help her other cousin Silvano with a new branch of the family business - reopening the local pub, the Frampton Arms, as a restaurant. As they get to know each other better, Angelica realises her mistake: she chose the wrong brother.But when Mario reappears, determined to win her back, and as other jealous relatives plot the downfall of the Frampton Arms, will Angelica be able to hold on to her business and the man she's come to love?