Eva Rice - Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp

By Eva Rice
Read by Penelope Rawlins

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

Tara Jupp is living out all our dreams: a pop star in 60s London, surrounded by the glitterati ... but she is haunted by her past.

FROM THE AUTHOR OF 'THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS'.

Country girl Tara is whisked off to '60s London to become a star; there she is dressed, she is shown off at Chelsea parties, photographed by the best. She meets songwriters, singers, designers, and records her song. And she falls in love - with two men. Behind the buzz and excitement of her success, the bitterness between her elder sister Lucy and her friend Matilda haunts Tara. Their past friendship is broken and among the secrets and the strangeness of both their marriages, the past keeps on reappearing.

Praise for THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS:
'So good we could hardly speak' Observer.
'A delight of Nancy Mitford-esque trials and tribulations' Vogue.
(P)2103 WF Howes Ltd

Biographical Notes

Eva Rice has written three novels and one non-fiction book. She is married to a musician and has three children. She lives in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848665088
  • Publication date: 29 Aug 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
MacLehose Press

Madeleine

Euan Cameron
Authors:
Euan Cameron
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama

Jo Fletcher Books

Hearts of Ice

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
MacLehose Press

White Ocean

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen

The sequel to the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted The UnseenThe sequel to the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted The Unseen - a dramatic love story from the small island Barrøy in the year 1944-45. Ingrid believes herself alone on the island, but then falls in love with a stranded Russian prisoner of war. Their affair lasts for several intense weeks over the course of one winter, and after he is gone she is left carrying his child.In beautiful, lyrical language, Roy Jacobsen again capture the timelessness of life on a rugged island where only seasons, storms and unpredictable weather events mark the passage of time. But this time, events in our recent history touch the island in a manner that is recorded in history books, and that gives Jacobsen's story a whole new depth.Reviews for The Unseen"Easily among the best books I have ever read" Eileen Battersby, Irish Times"The Unseen is a blunt, brilliant book" Tom Graham Guardian"The Unseen is a towering achievement that would be a deserved Booker International winner" Charlie Connolly, New EuropeanTranslated from the Norwegian by Don Bartlett and Don Shaw

Quercus

The Night Tiger

Yangsze Choo
Authors:
Yangsze Choo

A captivating and magical story set in 1930s Malaysia about a dancehall girl and an orphan boy who are brought together by a series of unexplained deaths and an old Chinese superstition about men who turn into tigers.They say a tiger that devours too many humans can take the form of a man and walk amongst us... In 1930s colonial Malaya, a dissolute British doctor receives a surprise gift of an eleven-year-old Chinese houseboy. Sent as a bequest from an old friend, young Ren has a mission: to find his dead master's severed finger and reunite it with his body. Ren has forty-nine days, or else his master's soul will roam the earth forever. Ji Lin, an apprentice dressmaker, moonlights as a dancehall girl to pay her mother's debts. One night, Ji Lin's dance partner leaves her with a gruesome souvenir that leads her on a crooked, dark trail. As time runs out for Ren's mission, a series of unexplained deaths occur amid rumours of tigers who turn into men. In their journey to keep a promise and discover the truth, Ren and Ji Lin's paths will cross in ways they will never forget.Captivating and lushly written, The Night Tiger explores the rich world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and unexpected love. Woven through with Chinese folklore and a tantalizing mystery, this novel is a page-turner of the highest order.

MacLehose Press

Farewell to El Comandante

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka
MacLehose Press

Katalin Street

Magda Szabó
Authors:
Magda Szabó

WINNER OF THE 2018 PEN TRANSLATION PRIZE - BY THE AUTHOR OF THE DOOR, ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW'S TEN BEST BOOKS OF 2015In prewar Budapest three families live side by side on gracious Katalin Street, their lives closely intertwined. A game is played by the four children in which Bálint, the promising son of the Major, invariably chooses Irén Elekes, the headmaster's dutiful elder daughter, over her younger sister, the scatterbrained Blanka, and little Henriette Held, the daughter of the Jewish dentist.Their lives are torn apart in 1944 by the German occupation, which only the Elekes family survives intact. The postwar regime relocates them to a cramped Soviet-style apartment and they struggle to come to terms with social and political change, personal loss, and unstated feelings of guilt over the deportation of the Held parents and the death of little Henriette, who had been left in their protection. But the girl survives in a miasmal afterlife, and reappears at key moments as a mute witness to the inescapable power of past events.As in The Door and Iza's Ballad, Magda Szabó conducts a clear-eyed investigation into the ways in which we inflict suffering on those we love. Katalin Street, which won the 2007 Prix Cévennes for Best European novel, is a poignant, somber, at times harrowing book, but beautifully conceived and truly unforgettable.Translated from the Hungarian by Len Rix

riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony
MacLehose Press

The Tree of the Toraja

Philippe Claudel
Authors:
Philippe Claudel
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
riverrun

Testament

Kim Sherwood
Authors:
Kim Sherwood
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex Two

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
MacLehose Press

Stick Together

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff

After their successful solving of three cold cases and exposing corruption at the very highest level of the Paris police force, Anne Capestan's squad of misfits and no-hopers should be in a celebratory mood. However, now despised by their colleagues at 36 quai des Orfèvres and worried for their future, morale has never been lower among the members of the Awkward Squad.Capestan does her best to motivate her troops, but even she cannot maintain a cheerful façade when she has to investigate the murder of Commissaire Serge Rufus, the father of her ex-husband. Worse, it soon appears that his murder is linked to two other victims, both of whom were warned by the killer before they struck . . .

MacLehose Press

All the Lives We Never Lived

Anuradha Roy
Authors:
Anuradha Roy
MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins

'The moment I finished, I wanted to read it all over again' - Clare MackintoshYou have the perfect life . . . How far would you go to protect it?As high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything. Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . . Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and He Said She Said.PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian 'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child'PROPULSIVE' - Metro'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me'SINISTER' - Red'MENACING' - CL Taylor, author of The Fear 'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street 'ENTHRALLING' - Heat'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed'INTELLIGENT' - Good Housekeeping

Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe

An intense, claustrophobic psychological novel about the dark side of expat life, and what being out of your comfort zone can do to you, set in the vibrant souks and ancient riads of MarrakechA unique friendship, built on a lieFreya, Paul and Hamad. Three friends from two different worlds; a seemingly unshakeable bond, suddenly under threat.A move that would change all their lives.The trio have stayed close since university despite Freya and Paul's marriage and Hamad's wealthy lifestyle - so different from their own. Then an incredible job offer from Hamad sees Paul and Freya move to Morocco.A city where nothing is as it seemsMarrakech soon proves a perplexing place to live. Instead of reinvigorating their marriage, Freya finds the move is driving them apart. Revelations about their shared past force her to acknowledge that neither Paul nor Hamad is quite the man she thought. When a shocking crime is committed, Freya finds herself cast adrift in the dark corners of a bewildering city, unsure who to trust or to believe.

MacLehose Press

After the Winter

Guadalupe Nettel
Authors:
Guadalupe Nettel
riverrun

Larchfield

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark
Quercus

The Secret of Villa Serena

Domenica De Rosa
Authors:
Domenica De Rosa

A heartfelt, witty story of one woman's journey from heartbreak to adventure, full of gorgeous Italian flavour. Emily Robertson looks like the woman who has it all: the lovingly restored Tuscan farmhouse, the three beautiful children, the successful, attentive husband. But when her husband dumps her by text message, she has to face up to some stark home truths. How will Emily cope, stranded in the countryside with no man, no money, dodgy phrasebook Italian and a psychotic cleaner? Her eldest girl is out of her depth with the local seducer, her middle daughter is dangerously underweight, and her darling baby is fast becoming a brat. But soon Emily finds herself being drawn into the village of Monte Albano, and discovering a more genuine Italy, darker and more intriguing than she had ever imagined.  She and her children are outsiders no more - and if she can get over a slightly embarrasing obsession with her youthful first love, an attractive stranger might be about to show her the time of her life...