Simon R. Green - The Man with the Golden Torc - Quercus

The Man with the Golden Torc

Secret History Book 1

By Simon R. Green

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Meet a new kind of hero in an old kind of war: Eddie Drood, aka Shaman Bond. He protects humanity from the bad guys.

Meet a new kind of hero in an old kind of war: Eddie Drood, aka Shaman Bond. He protects humanity from the bad guys.

All those things you hear about as a kid? The boogeyman under the bed? The creature in the closet? They're for real, and Eddie Drood's family has kept humanity safe from the things that go bump in the night for centuries. They hold back the nightmares, lock the doors, bar the gates, and put righteous boot to monster arse on a nightly basis.

But now Eddie's in trouble. One of his own has convinced the rest of the family that humanity needs to be protected from him. So he's on the run, using every trick in the book, magical and otherwise, to live long enough to prove his innocence. He knows how dangerous the Droods can be - after all, he's one of them

The Man with the Golden Torc is the first book in the Secret History series From the New York Times bestselling author of the Deathstalker and Nightside series, Simon R. Green.

Biographical Notes

Simon R. Green was born in Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire, where he now lives after some years in Leicester studying for his MA in Modern English and American Literature; he also studied history and has a combined Humanities degree. After years of rejections, he sold seven novels at once, just two days after he started working at Bilbo's Bookshop in Bath, after three and a half years of unemployment. The following year, he hit the Sunday Times and New York Times bestseller lists with the novelisation of Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, which has sold more than 370,000 copies, and continues to sell. His bestselling novels span fantasy, space opera and horror, and include the Deathstalker, Nightside, Ghost Finders, Secret History and Hawk and Fisher series. He is currently working on a new Deathstalker novel.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781848669390
  • Publication date: 11 Dec 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Jo Fletcher Books

The Pyramid Wish

Tom Fletcher
Authors:
Tom Fletcher

Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring

riverrun

I Always Find You

John Ajvide Lindqvist
Authors:
John Ajvide Lindqvist
Quercus

To Siri, With Love

Judith Newman
Authors:
Judith Newman

'Incredibly moving' Daily Mail'To Siri with Love is a beautifully honest and illuminating love letter to Gus, your typical atypical nonneurotypical human.' Jon Stewart'A moving and witty memoir with a big heart.' Nigella Lawson'An uncommonly riotous and moving book [that] will make readers laugh - yes, out loud - before sweeping them, finally, into a soul-spilling high tide . . . Technology's great promise may in fact be to summon, capture and display our most human qualities, both the darkness and the light, to pave avenues of deepened connections with others.' New York TimesWriter Judith Newman never had any illusions that her family was 'normal'. She and her husband keep separate apartments-his filled with twin grand pianos as befits a former opera singer; hers filled with the clutter and chaos of twin adolescent boys conceived late in life. And one of those boys is Gus, her sweet, complicated, autistic 13-year-old.With refreshing honesty, To Siri With Love chronicles one year in the life of Gus and the family around him -- a family with the same crazy ups and downs as any other. And at the heart of the book lies Gus's passionate friendship with Siri, Apple's 'intelligent personal assistant'. Unlike her human counterparts, Siri always has the right answers to Gus's incessant stream of questions about the intricacies of national rail schedules, or box turtle varieties, and she never runs out of patience. She always makes sure Gus enunciates and even teaches him manners by way of her warm yet polite tone and her programmed insistence on civility.Equal parts funny and touching, this is a book that will make your heart brim, and then break it. Warm, wise and always honest, Judith Newman shows us a new world where artificial intelligence is beginning to meet emotional intelligence -- a world that will shape our children in ways both wonderful and unexpected.

Quercus

A Spring Betrayal

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan
Jo Fletcher Books

The Q Series

Trevor Hoyle
Authors:
Trevor Hoyle
MacLehose Press

The Longest Night

Otto de Kat
Authors:
Otto de Kat
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Jo Fletcher Books

Aera: The Return of the Ancient Gods Omnibus

Markus Heitz
Authors:
Markus Heitz

The complete omnibus of the ten-part novella serialisation The Return of the Ancient Gods, from the internationally bestselling author of The Dwarves. The gods are back, the world is in uproar - and only one man will seek the truth.NOVEMBER, 2019I've never believed in any kind of god.But that's a problem when they start manifesting.It was a problem for everyone else too, especially those whose gods did not appear. We are divided, a fractured globe, because you'd question everything you'd believed, wouldn't you? Or would you fight?Because I don't think these really are the gods we've worshipped. Zeus, The Mórrígan, Thor - they can go to hell. We're in the middle of an invasion, and I'm the only one who believes in that reality.My name is Malleus Bourreau. I'm an atheist, an investigator - and I will find the answers.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Doctor Thomas Bond Omnibus

Sarah Pinborough
Authors:
Sarah Pinborough

The complete Mayhem and Murder series by the Number One bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes. Jack the Ripper may be making the headlines, but another, much more dangerous, madman is loose on the streets.When a rotting torso is discovered in the vault of New Scotland Yard, it doesn't take Dr Thomas Bond, Police Surgeon, long to realise that there is a second killer at work in the city where, only a few days before, Jack the Ripper brutally murdered two women in one night. This is the hand of a colder killer, one who lacks Jack's emotion. As more headless and limbless torsos find their way into the Thames Dr Bond becomes obsessed with finding the killer. As his investigations lead him into an unholy alliance, he starts to wonder:Is it a man who has brought mayhem to the streets of London, or a monster?'A compulsively readable story that starts as a conventional murder mystery and morphs, by degrees, into a horrifying supernatural thriller' Guardian

Quercus

Five Get Gran Online

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent
Quercus

Five Go Bump in the Night

Bruno Vincent
Authors:
Bruno Vincent

] A howl drifted up from nearby woodland and everyone shifted closer together. 'How about a ghost story,' suggested George.From the author of Number One Christmas bestseller, Five on Brexit Island, join the Five in their next hilarious adventure in this bestselling series for grown-ups!It's a dark winter's night and the Five are scaring themselves witless recounting tales that would terrify the bravest of souls. From encounters with American werewolves and being lost in space, to ghostly graveyard apparitions, it is hardly surprising that there is a sleepless night ahead of the intrepid crew. Even grumpy old Uncle Quentin and kind Aunt Fanny cannot be relied upon to be entirely themselves . . .

riverrun

I Am Behind You

John Ajvide Lindqvist
Authors:
John Ajvide Lindqvist

A supernatural superthriller from the author of Let the Right One InMolly wakes her mother to go to the toilet. The campsite is strangely blank. The toilet block has gone. Everything else has gone too. This is a place with no sun. No god.Just four families remain. Each has done something to bring them here - each denies they deserve it. Until they see what's coming over the horizon, moving irrevocably towards them. Their worst mistake. Their darkest fear.And for just one of them, their homecoming.This gripping conceptual horror takes you deep into one of the most macabre and unique imaginations writing in the genre. On family, on children, Lindqvist writes in a way that tears the heart and twists the soul. I Am Behind You turns the world upside down and, disturbing, terrifying and shattering by turns, it will suck you in.(P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

riverrun

At the Strangers' Gate

Adam Gopnik
Authors:
Adam Gopnik
Quercus

The Hourglass

Tracy Rees
Authors:
Tracy Rees

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things and The Villa in Italy.2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby, a place she's only been once before. Together with a local girl she rents a beautiful townhouse and slowly begins to settle in to her new life. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.The Hourglass is a moving novel about finding love even after it seems too late and the healing power of a magical place by the sea.

riverrun

The World to Come

Jim Shepard
Authors:
Jim Shepard

A fantastic writer - compassionate, funny and fearless' George Saunders'One of the US's finest writers' according to Joshua Ferris, Jim Shepard now delivers a new collection that spans borders and centuries with unrivalled mastery. These ten stories ring with voices as diverse as those belonging to Arctic explorers in history's most nightmarish expedition, the Montgolfier brothers competing to be the first man to fly, and two American frontierswomen whose passionate connection is severed by jealous husbands and a deadly snowstorm.In each case the personal is the political as these humans, while falling in love or negotiating marital pitfalls or simply coming to terms with their own failings, face the tidal wave of nature's indifference and cruelty. History has swept them from our sympathy; Jim Shepard has reached into the past and sought them out.In his first collection to be published in the UK, this celebrated master of the short story displays his formidable acuity in imagining these wildly different worlds, and what our various lives feel like in the grip of catastrophe.

Jo Fletcher Books

Forces From Beyond

Simon R. Green
Authors:
Simon R. Green

The Ghost Finders are in deep trouble - but is teaming up with their evil ghost-busting rivals at the Crowley Institute really the answer?The North Sea is bitterly cold, grey and unfriendly . . . and it's also home to a major threat to humanity. The interdimensional entity known as the Flesh Undying, a monstrous being of unimaginable power, is way out of the Ghost Finders' league, so JC Chance, Melody Chambers and Happy Jack Palmer have no choice but to accept an alliance with their evil counterpart, Project Crowley.What they don't yet know is that the creature lurking in the seabed has already turned its eye upon the Ghost Finders - and dispatched an assassin with a deadly vendetta against them . . .Forces from Beyond is the sixth and final title in New York Times bestselling author Simon R. Green's Ghost Finders series featuring Eddie Drood.

Jo Fletcher Books

Vigil

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter
Jo Fletcher Books

Voices From Beyond

Simon R. Green
Authors:
Simon R. Green
Jo Fletcher Books

Spirits From Beyond

Simon R. Green
Authors:
Simon R. Green