Colin Cotterill - The Curse of the Pogo Stick - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Curse of the Pogo Stick

A Dr Siri Murder Mystery

By Colin Cotterill

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Following a rash moment of insolence, Dr Siri Paiboun, Laos' reluctant national coroner, confused shaman and disheartened communist, is forced to go on a road trip with Judge Haeng and the Justice Department.

While newly pregnant Nurse Dtui is left at the morgue to defend the staff against exploding corpses and geriatric gunslingers, Siri has his own problems. On a deserted jungle trail, Siri is kidnapped. His only route to freedom is to exorcise the local village of its demon - but that means lifting the curse of the pogo stick . . .

Biographical Notes

Colin Cotterill was born in London. He has taught in Australia, the USA and Japan and lived for many years in Laos where he worked for non-governmental social service organizations. He now writes full-time and lives in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781849166515
  • Publication date: 05 Nov 2009
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
'Colin Cotterill has brought South East Asia to life with his charming series' Daily Mail — Daily Mail
'Fascinating background, engaging characters and witty dialogue' Sunday Telegraph — Sunday Telegraph
riverrun

Untitled Avraham 4

D. A. Mishani
Authors:
D. A. Mishani
MacLehose Press

Untitled Book 6 Asa Larsson

Åsa Larsson
Authors:
Åsa Larsson
riverrun

Dr. Knox

Peter Spiegelman
Authors:
Peter Spiegelman
Quercus

The Templars' Last Secret

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
MacLehose Press

The Awkward Squad

Sophie Hénaff
Authors:
Sophie Hénaff
riverrun

The Ghost Marriage

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

LI YAN AND MARGARET CAMPBELL RETURN IN A NEW SHORT STORY, YEARS AFTER THE DRAMATIC CONCLUSION OF CHINESE WHISPERS. 'I saw your missing girl at a ghost wedding last week. She was the bride.'It has been a whirlwind few years for Li Yan and Margaret Campbell. Nowadays, both are busy juggling their huge professional workloads - Li as the newly promoted chief of Beijing's serious crime squad, and Campbell as lecturer at the University of Public Security - with the day-to-day raising of their young son, Li Jon.When a desperate mother appeals to Campbell's own maternal instincts, Li agrees to look into the disappearance of a 17-year-old Beijing girl, Jiang Meilin.Yet Li's investigation soon turns from a favour into a full-scale murder enquiry. And when he receives an anonymous note he learns Jiang Meilin's death is tied to a dangerous underground trade, and a dark marital rite from China's past.

MacLehose Press

Shadows and Sun

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain

Lola Jost is busy fending off boredom with a jigsaw puzzle when she hears the news. Arnaud Mars - a disgraced police divisionnaire on the run after a seismic defence contracts scandal - has been found dead in Abidjan in the Ivory Coast. The gun that killed him belongs to Commandant Sacha Duguin, a former colleague of Lola's. Convinced of Duguin's innocence, Lola throws off her torpor. Together with her occasional partner in crime fighting Ingrid Diesel, she embarks on a quest to clear her old friend's name.Faced by a shadowy adversary determined to keep its past crimes under wraps, Lola and Ingrid must travel as far as Abidjan and Hong Kong to uncover the truth behind their most dangerous case to date.Translated from the French by Nick Caistor

Jo Fletcher Books

The Somnambulist and the Psychic Thief

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
Quercus

The Pale Criminal

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr

'One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written' LEE CHILDA series of horrific ritual murders leads Bernie Gunther to an occult conspiracy at the very heart of the Nazi Party - hard-boiled noir thriller for fans of Raymond Chandler and John le CarréFive German schoolgirls are missing. Four have been found dead. But unlike the undesirables who make up the majority of dead and missing people in Hitler's Berlin, these girls were blonde and blue-eyed - the Aryan flower of German maidenhood - and their gruesome deaths recall ritual killings.Busy with a blackmail case, Bernie is reluctant when he is asked to rejoin the Berlin police in order to track down the murderer. But when the person doing the asking is none other than head of the SD, Reinhard Heydrich, it's not exactly a request he can turn down. As Bernie gets closer to the truth, he realises that at the heart of this case is much more than one lone madman - in fact, there is a conspiracy at work more chilling than he could ever have imagined.

riverrun

Coffin Road

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

A man is washed up on a deserted beach on the Hebridean Isle of Harris, barely alive and borderline hypothermic. He has no idea who he is or how he got there. The only clue to his identity is a map tracing a track called the Coffin Road. He does not know where it will lead him, but filled with dread, fear and uncertainty he knows he must follow it.A detective crosses rough Atlantic seas to a remote rock twenty miles west of the Outer Hebrides of Scotland. With a sense of foreboding he steps ashore where three lighthouse keepers disappeared more than a century before - a mystery that remains unsolved. But now there is a new mystery - a man found bludgeoned to death on that same rock, and DS George Gunn must find out who did it and why.A teenage girl lies in her Edinburgh bedroom, desperate to discover the truth about her father's death. Two years after the discovery of the pioneering scientist's suicide note, Karen Fleming still cannot accept that he would wilfully abandon her. And the more she discovers about the nature of his research, the more she suspects that others were behind his disappearance.Coffin Road follows three perilous journeys towards one shocking truth - and the realisation that ignorance can kill us.

Quercus

Goodbye to the Dead

Brian Freeman
Authors:
Brian Freeman
riverrun

Runaway

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

FIVE DREAMS OF FAMEGlasgow, 1965. Jack Mackay dares not imagine a life of predictability and routine. The headstrong seventeen-year-old has one thing on his mind - London - and successfully convinces his four friends, and fellow band mates, to join him in abandoning their homes to pursue a goal of musical stardom. FIVE DECADES OF FEARGlasgow, 2015. Jack Mackay dares not look back on a life of failure and mediocrity. The heavy-hearted sixty-seven-year old is still haunted by the cruel fate that befell him and his friends some fifty years before, and how he did and did not act when it mattered most - a memory he has run from all his adult life. London, 2015. A man lies dead in a bedsit. His killer looks on, remorseless. What started with five teenagers five decades before will now be finished.

riverrun

The Root of All Evil

Roberto Costantini
Authors:
Roberto Costantini

Quercus

The Axe Factor

Colin Cotterill
Authors:
Colin Cotterill
riverrun

Extraordinary People

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
riverrun

The Missing File

D. A. Mishani
Authors:
D. A. Mishani

riverrun

Two Soldiers

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Quercus

The Woman Who Wouldn't Die

Colin Cotterill
Authors:
Colin Cotterill

riverrun

The Chessmen

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

Get Real

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake

In Westlake's brilliantly bizarre and always amusing world, it's usually the thief who comes out on top. But times could be changing. When a TV producer convinces our roguish crook Dortmunder and his gang to star in a reality TV show that captures their next heist, being caught red-handed seems inevitable. It will take an ingenious plan to outwit viewers glued to their TV sets, but Dortmunder rises to the challenge. In this last crime novel from an undisputed master of the genre the well worn phrase 'The eyes of the nation are upon you' takes on a whole new meaning - let's hope Dortmunder doesn't get stage-fright.