Related to: 'Breverton's Phantasmagoria'

Contact Heron Books

Contact details for Heron Books

Jo Fletcher Books

Empress of the Fall

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Jo Fletcher Books

Vigil

Angela Slatter
Authors:
Angela Slatter

A rich and exciting new urban fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Peter Grant.Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds. The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength and the ability to walk between one world and the other as a couple of her talents. A rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden.But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale - and in the hands of those who hold to old, dangerous ways - and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane.Verity must investigate, or risk ancient forces carving the world apart.Vigil is the first book in award-winning author Angela Slatter's Verity Fassbinder series.'Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre' - British Fantasy Society

Quercus

Breverton's Nautical Curiosities

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

Invention and innovation are what distinguish the human race from all of the other species on Earth. Throughout history the imagination and pioneering spirit of human kind has compelled us to question why we do things in a certain way and, more importantly, how we can do things better. Celebrating the ingenuity, creativity and resourcefulness that has led to some of the most amazing technological leaps through the ages, Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions examines the key innovations and breakthroughs of all time and the genius behind them. Starting with the building of the pyramids in ancient Egypt and the discovery of the solar system, moving through surgery, dynamite and rockets, to modern technology such as the smart card and genetic engineering, Terry Breverton springs many surprises. He uncovers fascinating and little-known facts: for example, that Price, not Fleming, discovered penicillin; that Swan, not Edison invented the electric light, and that Wallace, not Darwin first advanced the theory of evolution. Tracing the sheer persistence of brilliant men and women across the globe, who fought the prevailing ideas of their times and advanced technology, Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions will inspire anyone interested in the history and developments that have changed our lives and shaped our planet's future.

Quercus

Immortal Words

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

Immortal Words is an anthology of history's most memorable, uplifting or thought-provoking quotations from all ages and nations. The texts are drawn not only from the works and words of great writers, thinkers and orators, but also from less well-known sources such as gravestones, book dedications, speeches and political manifestos, letters and diaries, inscriptions and chance remarks. Each of the 370 quotations is accompanied by an extended annotation that tells the story of the speaker or explains the circumstances that gave rise to the quotation. The words and sentiments expressed have been used to encapsulate the human condition, to inspire great works or deeds in times of hardship, or simply reflect the spirit of the time - they will live with you and inspire you day by day, from one year's end to the next. Sample entries include:Marcus Aurelius - 'Nowhere can a man find a quieter or more untroubled retreat than in his own soul .'. Martin Luther King - 'I have a dream .'. John F. Kennedy - 'Ask not, what your country .'. John Gillespie Magee, Royal Air Force pilot, 1941 - 'High Flight'. Ronald Reagan - 'Tear down his wall .'. Isadora Duncan - on her sickbed, writes a feverishly passionate letter to her lover, the actor Gordon Craig. Mother Teresa of Calcutta - 'Life is .'. Colonel Tim Collins of the Royal Irish Regiment, March 19 2003 - 'We come not to conquer .''. Emma Lazarus - 'The New Colossus' (plaque on Statue of Liberty). Joseph Stalin - first broadcast to the Russian people after the German invasion, July 3 1941. Mahatma Gandhi - 'I am a man of peace .'. Abraham Lincoln - on leaving Springfield, Illinois, to take the oath as President. February 11, 1861. Cicero - quoting Cato the Elder, in De Senectute (On Old Age), 44 BC. Charles Lindbergh - describing the last minutes of his pioneering non-stop flight from New York to Paris in 1927. Nelson Mandela - 'I am the First Accused'. Buddha - 'All acts of living creatures become bad by ten things .'. Benjamin Franklin - writes a first draft of his own epitaph. Thomas Jefferson - 'Force cannot change right . Winston Churchill - 'Never in the field of human conflict .'. Adolf Hitler - 'My patience is now at an end'. Edward Everett - President of Harvard on the protest of the student body against the admission of a Negro student. Francis Bacon - 'This world's a bubble; and the life of Man Less than a span .'. Horatio Nelson - 'Separated from all I hold dear in this world .'. Charlotte Cushman - inscription on the curtain of Ford's Opera House, Baltimore. Shakespeare - 'Once more unto the breach .' Henry V. Marie Antoinette - letter to her sister on the day of her execution. Ludwig Van Beethoven - 'I carry my ideas about me for along time, often a very long time.'. Aldous Huxley 1920- 'A million million spermatozoa .'. Eleanor Roosevelt - speaking on the function of hatred in a just cause. Indira Gandhi - 'Women's education is almost more important than the education of boys and men.'

Quercus

'I Have a Dream'

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

Breverton's Complete Herbal

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

Angela Slatter

Angela Slatter is the award-winning author of eight short story collections, including A Feast of Sorrows: Stories, Sourdough and Other Stories, The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, and Winter Children and Other Chilling Tales. She has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award and five Aurealis Awards. Her short stories have appeared widely, including in annual British, Australian and North American Best Of anthologies, and her work has been translated into Spanish, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Japanese. Vigil was her first solo novel, and the sequel Corpselight is due out in July 2017. Angela lives in Brisbane, Australia.

Charles Phillips

Charles Phillips is the author of more than 35 books, including The Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Aztec and Maya, The Complete Guide to the Catholic Faith, The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Islam, The Illustrated History of the First Crusades and many other titles on history, mythology and the arts.

David Hair

David Hair, an award-winning writer of fantasy, has been inspired by his travels around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and after spending time in Britain and Europe, he moved to India for several years, which sparked both the Moontide Quartet and the Ravana series. He now lives in Bangkok, Thailand. His epic fantasy sagas The Moontide Quartet and The Sunsurge Quartet, and The Return of Ravana, his retelling of the Indian epic The Ramayana, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.

Gary Meehan

Gary Meehan was born in Bolton, Lancashire. He has a BA in Mathematics and Computation from Lincoln College, Oxford, an MSc in Applied Artificial Intelligence from the University of Aberdeen, and a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Warwick. He now works as a software engineer. He lives in Derby with his family.

John Ajvide Lindqvist

John Ajvide Lindqvist is a Swedish author, born in 1968. He grew up in Blackeberg, a suburb of Stockholm. He wanted to become something awful and fantastic. First he became a conjurer and came in second in the Nordic card trick championship. Then he was a stand-up comedian for twelve years, before writing Let the Right One In. That novel became a phenomenal international bestseller and was made into a film and a West End play, both called Let Me In. His books are published in twenty-nine countries worldwide.

Karen Lord

Karen Lord has been a physics teacher, a diplomat, a part-time soldier and an academic at various times and in various countries. She is now a writer and research consultant in Barbados. Her debut novel, Redemption in Indigo, won the 2008 Frank Collymore Literary Award, the 2011 William L. Crawford Award, the 2012 Kitschies Golden Tentacle Award for Best Debut Novel and the Mythopoeic Award, and was shortlisted for the World Fantasy Award. Redemption in Indigo and The Best of All Possible Worlds, the prequel to The Galaxy Game, are published by Jo Fletcher Books.

Lisa Tuttle

Lisa Tuttle was born and raised in Texas, but moved to Britain in the 1980s. She now lives with her writer husband and their daughter on the side of a Scottish loch. She has written more than a dozen fantasy, science fiction and horror novels.

Markus Heitz

Markus Heitz studied history and German language and literature at university before turning to writing. His debut novel Schatten über Ulldart (the first in a series of epic fantasy novels) won the Deutscher Phantastik Preis (German Fantasy Award) in 2003, and was followed by his bestselling Dwarves and the tie-in Aelfar series, which have made him one of Germany's - and Europe's - most successful fantasy authors. He currently lives in Zweibrücken, Germany.

Mary-Ann Gallagher

Mary-Ann Gallagher grew up in Scotland and was educated at the University of St Andrews. She is a renowned travel writer and transport journalist and has written and contributed to more than 20 guidebooks on destinations across the globe.

Neil Philip

Neil Philip is a writer, folklorist and poet. Among his many books are The Penguin Book of English Folktales, Mythology (with Philip Wilkinson), Myths and Legends, The Illustrated Book of Fairy Tales, the Illustrated Book of Myths, The Tale of Sir Gawain, and The Adventures of Odysseus. Neil has contributed to numerous journals and has written for stage, screen, and radio. His work has won many awards and honours, including the Aesop Award of the American Folklore Society.

Robert Jackson Bennett

Robert Jackson Bennett was born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, but grew up in the half-developed suburbs of Katy, Texas. He spent most of his time playing on construction sites and in drainage ditches, which would explain a lot. His interest in writing came from hearing about the books his older brother was reading and then attempting to mimic them. He attended the University of Texas at Austin and, like a lot of its alumni, was unable to leave the charms of the city and resides there currently.

Sage Blackwood

Sage Blackwood worked for many years as a teacher in Alaska, and now writes full-time. Jinx: The Wizard's Apprentice is her first fantasy novel.

Terry Breverton

Terry Breverton is a former businessman, consultant and academic and now a full-time writer. He is the author of numerous books has been awarded the Welsh Books Council 'Book of the Month' award five times.