Related to: 'Good Girls Don't Die'

Contact Heron Books

Contact details for Heron Books

Quercus

Wrong Way Home

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Sarah Hilary calls Isabelle Grey's books 'compelling and compassionate'. A must-read for fans of Susie Steiner, Clare Mackintosh, Serial, Making a Murderer and S-Town.Everyone in Southend remembers the night of the fire. Two lives were saved from the burning Marineland resort, while metres down the beach another was lost when a young woman was raped and murdered. The killer was never found. Now, twenty-five years on, DI Grace Fisher is handed new DNA evidence that could blow the cold case wide open. But what are the chances of really getting to the truth after all this time?Meanwhile, eager would-be journalist Freddie Craig decides to prove himself by conducting his own investigation and turning his findings into a true-crime podcast. It will be good for his CV, and maybe he'll even make a breakthrough in the case. Experienced hack Ivo Sweatman is flattered when the cub reporter turns to him for advice, but as Freddie becomes more obsessed with the case, Ivo starts to worry that the line between fact and wishful thinking is becoming dangerously blurred...

Quercus

The Special Girls

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Sarah Hilary calls The Special Girls 'Compelling and compassionate'. 'The story hooks like barbed wire . . . so much more than a police procedural' says Laline Paull, author of The Bees. Perfect for fans of BROADCHURCH and LINE OF DUTY'A brave and harrowing novel' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH'A penetrating analysis of Stockholm Syndrome' GuardianThey are called the 'special girls'. How are they special and why were they chosen?A doctor is found beaten to death in woods close to a summer camp for young women with eating disorders. The camp is run by the charismatic Professor Chesham. DI Grace Fisher is called in, but is quickly pulled from the investigation - to head up a cold case inquiry involving Chesham himself.Some years earlier, one of Chesham's patients made allegations that he sexually assaulted her.As Grace uncovers the lies that led to the doctor's murder, she discovers the full extent of the damage done to the special girls - and the danger they are still in.

Quercus

Shot Through the Heart

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey
Quercus

50 Philosophy Ideas You Really Need to Know

Ben Dupre
Authors:
Ben Dupre

Have you ever lain awake at night fretting over how we can be sure of the reality of the external world? Perhaps we are in fact disembodied brains, floating in vats at the whim of some deranged puppet-master? If so, you are not alone - and what's more, you are in exalted company. For this question and others like it have been the stuff of philosophical rumination for centuries, from Plato to Popper. In a series of accessible and engaging essays, 50 Philosophy Ideas You Really Need to Know introduces and explains the problems of knowledge, consciousness, identity, ethics, belief, justice and aesthetics that have troubled the minds of great thinkers for centuries, from the ancient Greeks to the present day. Contents include: The brain in a vat, Plato's cave, Cogito ergo sum, The mind-body problem, The boo/hurrah theory, Ends and means, The categorical imperative, Acts and omissions, The rights of animals, The gambler's fallacy, Paradigm shifts, Occam's razor, Positive and negative freedom, Theories of punishment and Just war.

Quercus

The Bad Mother

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Are there secrets that should never be told? If so, how far must a mother go to keep them? Tessa Parker runs a successful B&B in a seaside town. During a surprise visit, a long-lost aunt lets slip a family secret with devastating consequences. Navigating her own turmoil at a crucial moment in her children's lives, Tessa's search for her birth father forces her to decide who she really wants to be. But now her son is missing. Has she left it too late to be a good mother?(P)2013 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

The Cosmic Gallery

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

Out of Sight

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Jo Fletcher Books

The Snowmelt River

Frank P. Ryan, Ryan, Frank P.
Authors:
Frank P. Ryan, Ryan, Frank P.
Quercus

Breverton's Encyclopedia of Inventions

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

'I Have a Dream'

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

The Natural World Close-Up

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow
Quercus

Breverton's Complete Herbal

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton

Quercus

Breverton's Phantasmagoria

Terry Breverton
Authors:
Terry Breverton
Quercus

The Story of English

Philip Gooden
Authors:
Philip Gooden

Quercus

Cosmos

Giles Sparrow
Authors:
Giles Sparrow

Holly Cave

Holly Cave was born in sunny Torquay in 1983. She received a BSc in Biology and an MSc in Science Communication from Imperial College London, after which she spent four years working at the Science Museum in London. After a career break to travel the world, Holly became a freelance writer and now writes about science and technology alongside her fiction. She lives in Bedford with her husband, baby son and dog. The Memory Chamber is her first novel with Quercus, although she wrote a number of unpublished works with her father on his typewriter in the 1990s.

Jo Usmar

Jo Usmar is the co-author of six titles in the This Book Will Make You series and sole author of This Book Will Make You Fearless and This Book Will Make You Successful.Through her work as a journalist for magazines, newspapers and websites including the Telegraph, Huffington Post, Stylist, ShortList, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, the Mirror and Look, Jo is well known for her entertaining tone and light touch with tricky subjects. She has appeared on Radio 4 Woman's Hour and Sky News discussing her work and is the founder of the Instagram self-help vlog project Bite Sized Psych.www.jousmar.com

Joanna Bolouri

Joanna Bolouri worked in sales before she began writing professionally at the age of thirty. Winning a BBC comedy script competition allowed her to work and write with stand-up comedians, comedy scriptwriters and actors from across the UK. She's had articles and reviews published in The Skinny, the Scottish Sun, the Huffington Post and HecklerSpray. She lives in Glasgow with her daughter.

Linda Green

Linda Green is the bestselling author of eight novels. Her latest novel, After I've Gone, published by Quercus, is a top five Amazon kindle bestseller. Her previous novel, While My Eyes Were Closed, was the fourth bestselling novel on Amazon kindle in 2016, selling more than 450,000 copies across all editions. She lives in West Yorkshire with her husband and son

Tracy Rees

Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.