Related to: 'The Special Girls'

Quercus

Shot Through the Heart

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

How far would you be willing to go for justice? A gripping thriller for fans of Katerina Diamond's THE SECRET and Lynda La Plante's PRIME SUSPECT. 'Full of well-handled forensics and the brooding atmosphere of the Essex coast' Mail on SundayWhen a lone shooter claims the lives of five people on Christmas Day before turning the gun on himself, it's up to DI Grace Fisher to find out, not who did it, but why and how.Tracing the illegal weapon and its deadly load of homemade bullets, she soon uncovers a toxic web of police corruption, personal vendettas and revenge. But when the enemy is within, who will believe her?As threats to her safety mount up and the strain of secrecy begins to wreck her friendships, Grace must decide how far she wants to pursue justice - and at what cost.

Quercus

Good Girls Don't Die

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

You'd know if someone close to you was capable of lethal violence, right? Dead wrong. Accused of grassing up a fellow officer and driven brutally out of home and job, Grace Fisher is thankful to survive some dark times and find haven with the Major Investigation Team in Essex. One female student is missing, last seen at a popular bar in Colchester. When a second student, also out drinking, is murdered and left grotesquely posed, the case becomes headline news. Someone is leaking disturbing details to a tabloid crime reporter. Is it the killer? Or a detective close to the case? With another victim, and under siege by the media, the murder enquiry hits a dead end. The review team brought in to shake things up is headed by Grace's old DCI. Who is going to listen to her now? (P)2014 WF Howes

Quercus

The Bad Mother

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Are there secrets that should never be told? If so, how far must a mother go to keep them? Tessa Parker runs a successful B&B in a seaside town. During a surprise visit, a long-lost aunt lets slip a family secret with devastating consequences. Navigating her own turmoil at a crucial moment in her children's lives, Tessa's search for her birth father forces her to decide who she really wants to be. But now her son is missing. Has she left it too late to be a good mother?(P)2013 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

Out of Sight

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Who pays the price once tragedy strikes? In a small French town, Leonie is intrigued by a withdrawn Englishman who calls himself Patrice. He lives in a house inherited from his grandmother. He has no wife, no child, and refuses ever to get inside a car. Patrice tells Leonie little about his past, but she's certain her love will heal his emotional scars. Too late, she discovers that, five years before, Patrice was living in Brighton. He was called Patrick, and he had a wife and son. Until, one hot summer day, a moment of fatal forgetfulness changed his life forever.

riverrun

Three Seconds

Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström
Authors:
Anders Roslund, Börge Hellström

WINNER OF THE 2011 CWA INTERNATIONAL DAGGER. A NEW YORK TIMES TOP 5 BESTSELLER. AND SOON TO BE A HOLLYWOOD BLOCKBUSTER - SCANDINAVIAN CRIME DOES NOT GET MORE EXPLOSIVE.'Extraordinarily compelling' Daily Mail'Three Seconds is just about how long it feels it takes to read Three Seconds . . . Terrific' Time OutONE MURDER.Piet Hoffmann is the Swedish police force's best undercover operative. Not even his family know of his double identity. Yet when a drug deal with the Polish mafia goes fatally wrong, his secret life begins to crumble around him. TWO MEN. Detective Inspector Ewert Grens is charged with investigating the drug-related killing. Unaware of Hoffmann's true identity, he believes himself to be on the trail of a dangerous psychopath. THREE SECONDS. Hoffmann must desperately maintain his cover; else he is a dead man walking. But, in the doggedly-perceptive Ewert Grens, he has just made the most relentless of enemies.Can't get enough of DCI Ewert Grens? Then check out Cell 8, named by the Sunday Times as one of the 60 Best Thrillers and Crime Novels of the Past 6 Years.

Anders Roslund

Award-winning journalist Anders Roslund and ex-criminal Börge Hellström are Sweden's most acclaimed fiction duo. Their unique ability to combine inside knowledge of the brutal reality of criminal life with searing social criticism in complex, intelligent plots has put them at the forefront of modern Scandinavian crime writing.

Andrew Klavan

Andrew Klavan is the winner of two Edgar Awards. He is also the author of True Crime (adapted for film by Clint Eastwood), Don't Say a Word (adapted as a film starring Michael Douglas) and Empire of Lies.

Carl-Johan Vallgren

Carl-Johan Vallgren is one of Sweden's most loved writers. He has been awarded the Swedish August Prize for Best Novel of the Year, and has been translated into 25 languages. He's also a talented musician with Warner Music. Rachel Willson-Broyles is a freelance translator based in Madison, Wisconsin. She received her BA in Scandinavian Studies from Gustavus Adolphus College in 2002 and her Ph.D. in Scandinavian Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2013. Her other translations include Jonas Hassen Khemiri's novel Montecore and Jonas Jonasson's The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden among many others.

Craig Russell

Craig Russell is the author of the Jan Fabel thrillers set in contemporary Hamburg and the Lennox series set in 1950s Glasgow. He is the only non-German to have been awarded the Polizeistern (Police Star) by the Polizei Hamburg. He has been shortlisted for the CWA Duncan Lawrie Golden Dagger, the French Prix Polar, the 2012 Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year and the 2013 Ellis Peters Historical Dagger, and has won the CWA Dagger in the Library and the 2015 Bloody Scotland Crime Book of the Year

David Hair

David Hair is an award-winning writer of fantasy for adult and YA readers. He was born in New Zealand and travelled widely, and after spending time in Britain, then India, he now lives in Thailand with his wife. His epic fantasy sagas The Moontide Quartet and The Sunsurge Quartet, and his YA series The Return of Ravana, are published by Jo Fletcher Books.

David Lagercrantz

David Lagercrantz was born in 1962, and is an acclaimed author and journalist. In 2015 The Girl in the Spider's Web, his continuation of Stieg Larsson's Millennium Trilogy, became a worldwide bestseller, and it was announced that Lagercrantz would write two further novels in the series. He is also the author of the acclaimed and bestselling I am Zlatan Ibrahimovic, and Fall of Man in Wilmslow.

Elena Forbes

Elena Forbes has lived most of her life in London. Her first novel, Die With Me, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger.

Elizabeth Gill

Elizabeth Gill was born in Newcastle upon Tyne and as a child lived in Tow Law, a small mining town on the Durham fells. She has been a published author for more than thirty years and has written more than forty books. She lives in Durham City, likes the awful weather in the north east and writes best when rain is lashing the windows.

Elly Griffiths

Elly Griffiths was born in London. She worked in publishing for many years. Her bestselling series of Dr Ruth Galloway novels, featuring a forensic archaeologist, are set in Norfolk. The series has won the CWA Dagger in the library, and has been shortlisted three times for the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year. Her Stephens and Mephisto series is based in 1950s Brighton. She lives near Brighton with her husband, an archaeologist, and their two children.

Lisa Tuttle

Lisa Tuttle was born and raised in Texas, but moved to Britain in the 1980s. She now lives with her writer husband and their daughter on the side of a Scottish loch. She has written more than a dozen fantasy, science fiction and horror novels.

Martin Walker

Martin Walker is a prize-winning journalist and the author of several acclaimed works of non-fiction, including The Cold War: A History. He lives in the Dordogne and Washington, DC.

Pierre Lemaitre

Pierre Lemaitre was born in Paris in 1951. He worked for many years as a teacher of literature before becoming a novelist. He was awarded the Crime Writers' Association International Dagger, alongside Fred Vargas, for Alex, and as sole winner for Camille. In 2013 his novel Au revoir là-haut (The Great Swindle, in English translation) won the Prix Goncourt, France's leading literary award.

Sinéad Crowley

Sinead Crowley is Arts and Media Correspondent for RTE, Ireland's national broadcaster, working for television, radio and online. Her debut thriller, Can Anybody Help Me? was a bestseller in Ireland, and both it and her second book Are You Watching Me? were shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards Crime Book of the Year. Sinead lives in Dublin with her husband and two young sons.

Tom Callaghan

Born in the North of England, Tom Callaghan was educated at the University of York and Vassar College, New York. An inveterate traveller, he divides his time between London, Prague, Dubai and Bishkek.

Xavier-Marie Bonnot

Xavier-Marie Bonnot has a PhD in History and Sociology, and two Masters degrees in History and French Literature. The First Fingerprint is the first of a quartet of De Palma novels and has won two literary awards in France.