Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Ward No. 6 and Other Stories (riverrun editions)

Ward No. 6 and Other Stories (riverrun editions)

A young woman struggles to assert herself within a regrettable marriage.

A boy learns about life on an epic summer’s journey to a new school.

A doctor attempts to befriend his most interesting patient.

A young man tries to figure out the best way to live.

This riverrun edition presents a selection of Chekhov’s longer stories – novellas, effectively – in Constance Garnett’s timeless translations. These four stories, Ward No.6, The Wife, The Steppe and My Life, tell of characters attempting to create meaning through work, connection with others and art; they deal with misunderstandings and loss; they celebrate brief joys, sudden passions and unsatisfied longings, all underscored by Chekhov’s gentle wit and great humanity.

This unique collection – selected and introduced by the celebrated Janet Malcolm – is unmissable for the enthusiast and a brilliant introduction to one of the nineteenth century’s greatest writers.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Classic Fiction (pre C 1945)

On Sale: 23rd January 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781787475946