Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Nobody's Child

Nobody's Child

A heart-wrenching family saga for fans of Dilly Court and Val Wood.

‘Kath walked for so long that she wanted to lie down in the snow and sleep but she thought of her sister and knew she must go on. Soon the snow was so deep that she couldn’t move. She could feel her shoes disintegrating and her feet were numb. The sky cleared and a great big moon came out and there were so many stars. She remembered what her mother had said before she died, that each star was one of her people. She musn’t give up now . . .’

When their mother dies and their father, in his grief, burns down their wagon and runs away, Kath and Ella – gypsy sisters – suddenly become orphans. With no one to turn to for help, they face hardship and hunger at every turn. Will their special sisters’ bond be strong enough to see them to safety?

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby’s Academy and Far From My Father’s House comes a heartwarming tale of family and overcoming adversity.

(P)2016 W F Howes Ltd

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 25th August 2016

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781786483522

Reviews

Original and evocative - a born storyteller
Trisha Ashley on Miss Appleby's Academy
An enthralling and satisfying novel that will leave you wanting more
Catherine King on Miss Appleby's Academy
Elizabeth Gill writes with a masterful grasp of conflicts and passions hidden among men and women of the wild North Country
Leah Fleming on Miss Appleby's Academy
Drama and intrigue worthy of Call the Midwife
Big Issue on Miss Appleby's Academy
Gill, a born storyteller, is on fine form as she transports us back to an age of poverty and hardship leavened by the warmth, humanity and loyalty of a tight-knit community and the family ties and friendships that bind them together. An enchanting read for all true romantics
Lancashire Evening Post on Elizabeth Gill
A wonderful book, full of passion, pain, sweetness, twists and turns. I couldn't put it down. It has a feisty young heroine, two contrasting leading men and a great supporting cast of characters
Sheila Newberry, author of Bicycles and Blackberries