Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Confession

The Confession

YOU FIND OUT WHO DID IT ON THE VERY FIRST PAGE. ON THE LAST PAGE, YOU’LL FIND OUT WHY.

‘I can’t praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read’

BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown

‘Enthralling – Spain dissects her characters’ secrets with razor-sharp precision’
JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.

Just an hour later the attacker, JP Carney, has handed himself in to the police. He confesses to beating Harry to death, but JP claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn’t know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, the detectives cannot help wondering, was this really a random act of violence or is it linked to one of Harry’s many sins: corruption, greed, betrayal?

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who – of Harry, Julie and JP – is really the guilty one? And is Carney’s surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game?

THE MOST GRIPPING PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER OF 2018: PERFECT FOR FANS OF HE SAID, SHE SAID AND THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th January 2018

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781786488350

Reviews

Brilliantly crafted . . . each piece of the puzzle is gradually put together and keeps you gripped until the end
Prima
Fabulous . . . Clever, pacey, compulsive
Sunday Mirror
Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision
JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before
Fresh, witty writing style . . . an eye for details make the characters instantly believable
Daily Mail
Here is my confession: I've never read Jo Spain before but now I'll be buying all of her books. The Confession is brutal and brilliant
Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle
I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read
BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown
Jo Spain is such a talent. The Confession had me in its thrall from the first page, revealing the dark side of the Celtic Tiger
Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill
Loved it! Fabulous characters, superbly written, twists, turns & ends with a punch
Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake
The Confession is jaw-dropping. Clever. Addictive. Beautifully drawn characters. Masterful storytelling
Chris Whitaker, author of Tall Oaks
A brilliantly dark tale
Mail on Sunday
A clever and unusual premise . . . punchy and energetic . . . a brilliant hook and rapid-fire ride
Irish Independent
A clever novel . . . gradually exposing a chilling history of dysfunctional families
Sunday Times
A dizzying tale of lives falling apart that has you addicted from the very first page. I found it impossible to put down, so desperate was I to get to the truth
Michelle Frances, author of The Girlfriend
A scathing overview of the Celtic Tiger years . . . [a] vivid portrait of a fascinating monster
Irish Times
A contender for the most arresting opening paragraph of the year . . . This is crime fiction for grown-ups, taking its time to explore the ins and outs of human psychology
Sunday Express
An absolute cracker of a book, compulsive, deviously plotted and intense - I will be recommending this to everyone
Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner
An intriguing Rubik's Cube of a book that kept me turning the pages to get to the truth. So well plotted and beautifully written. I absolutely loved it
Liz Nugent, author of Unravelling Oliver
I loved this twisty slice of domestic noir
Claire McGowan, author of Blood Tide
Spain's blackly comic touch pulls us through a brilliantly dark tale
Daily Mail
This gripping novel is more of a whydunnit than a whodunnit
Best
Refreshing and... full of twists
The Express