Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Scarred Woman

The Scarred Woman

A NO. 1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
OVER 18 MILLION COPIES SOLD
WINNER OF THE GLASS KEY AWARD

Jussi Adler-Olsen returns with his most captivating and suspenseful novel yet.

In a Copenhagen park the body of an elderly woman is discovered. Though the case bears a striking resemblance to another unsolved homicide from over a decade ago, the police cannot find any connection between the two victims. Across town a group of young women are being hunted down. The attacks seem random, but could these brutal acts of violence be related? Detective Carl Mørck of Department Q is charged with solving the mystery.

Back at headquarters, Carl and his team are under pressure to deliver results: failure to meet his superiors’ expectations will mean the end of Department Q. Solving the case, however, is not their only concern. After a breakdown, their colleague Rose is struggling to deal with the ghosts of her past – a past seemingly connected to one of the division’s most sinister case-files. It is up to Carl, Assad and Gordon to unearth the dark and violent truth plaguing Rose before it is too late.

Translated by William Frost

Perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson and Jo Nesbo.

(P)2017 Quercus Editions Ltd.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 19th September 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781786486806

Reviews

The new "it" boy of Nordic Noir
Times
Gripping story-telling
Guardian
Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humour
Booklist on Mercy
[A] sordid tale . . . inspired by actual events during a dark period of Danish history. Ah, but there is more, so much more in this frenzied thriller
New York Times on Guilt
Mesmerising writing
Independent
Scandinavian crime novels don't get much darker than Jussi Adler-Olsen's Department Q police procedurals
New York Times Book Review