Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Asking For It

Asking For It

‘A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it’ Guardian

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O’Donovan is different. She is the special one – beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way.

Until that night . . .

Now, she’s an embarrassment. Now, she’s just a slut. Now, she is nothing.

And those pictures – those pictures that everyone has seen – mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 3rd September 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781848668201

Reviews

Blistering, unapologetic and vitally important
Anna James
Bold, brave . . . and brutal
Bookseller
Brilliant, harrowing
Observer
Riveting . . . a timely, gripping and vital novel.
Western Mail
A nuanced and insightful commentary on the intricacies of teenage female friendship and the internal and external pressures that young women face as they reach adulthood
Irish Mail on Sunday
A stunning portrait of a girl, a family and a town in trouble
Irish Examiner
A brave and important book about rape culture, sexism and victim-blaming in modern society.
Telegraph
A brutal and shocking novel that strikes to the heart of the current debates around consent
Stylist
A brutal, unflinching look at the culture of slut-shaming and trial by social media. It broke my heart.
Red Magazine
A difficult, confronting and vital read
Elle
A razor-sharp look at gender issues - Glasgow Herald
Glasgow Herald
'Establishes Louise O'Neill as a literary tour de force'
Irish Independent
Heartbreakingly accurate . . . handled with both sensitivity and unflinching honesty. A compelling and brave story that deserves to be read by all
Heat
O'Neill has a keen ear for the catty argot of teenage girls and her writing is razor sharp . . . unsparing and unsentimental
Independent
'Riveting and essential'
New York Times
This unflinching, timely novel asks important questions about rape culture, sexism and social media abuse, tackling taboo themes with subtlety and sensitivity
Anita Sethi, Observer