Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Still Lives

Still Lives

A REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK
A SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB PICK
WINNER OF STYLIST BOOK WARS
THE POOL’S DECEMBER BEDTIME BOOK CLUB PICK
SHORTLISTED FOR AMAZON’S BEST MYSTERY/THRILLER OF THE YEAR

‘Thrilling’ Reese Witherspoon

‘Addictive’ Stylist

‘Vibrant’ Observer

‘Sensational’ Guardian

‘Elegant’ Daily Mail

‘Wonderful’ Sunday Times

‘Compelling’ Entertainment Weekly

‘Lyrical’ Wall Street Journal

‘Gripping’ Bustle

‘Stunning’ LA Times

‘Smart’ Good Housekeeping

‘Sophisticated’ Grazia


As the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord – L.A.’s artist of the moment – stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It’s the opening night of Still Lives, Kim’s new collection of shockingly graphic self-portraits, in which she impersonates the victims of America’s most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia.

The crowd eagerly await Kim’s arrival, but she fails to appear at the gala. Among those gathered is Maggie Richter, a museum editor whose ex, Greg Shaw Ferguson, is in a relationship with Kim. When Kim is declared officially missing, and Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder, Maggie is drawn into an investigation of her own, haunted by the thought that Kim has suffered the same terrible fate as the women in her paintings.

‘Think a mix of Killing Eve and . . . one of those thrillers that keeps you up till 2am when you’ve a 6am alarm and you’re close to the mark’ Stylist

Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Sharp Objects and Big Little Lies.

(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 8th October 2018

Price: £22.99

ISBN-13: 9781787479609

Reviews

A thrilling mystery... still keeps us up at night, it's THAT good
Reese Witherspoon
A mysterious page turner
Time Magazine
Savvy and lyrical - the perfect beach read
Wall Street Journal
Sucks you into a compelling story, before forcing you to contemplate the big, uncomfortable ideas it's considering. It's a fresh choice for Reese's Book Club, to be sure
Entertainment Weekly
A deeply affecting examination of how our culture fetishizes female victims of crime -it will also have readers feverishly turning pages... a stunning achievement
LA Times
A taut thriller with a delectable final 100 pages. It reaches an addictive pitch that all books of this ilk aspire to... and she writes a hell of an ending
Los Angeles Review of Books
The fast-paced feminist thriller about the L.A. art world you don't want to miss... An electrifying mystery
Bustle
Gripping... the smartest, most original page-turner I've read in a long time
Maggie Shipstead, author of Seating Arrangements
A whip-smart mystery and a moving meditation on the consumption of female bodies all rolled into one
Kirkus
Moody and restless, propelled by a gradually intensifying sense of unease
Buzzfeed
[A] smart, opinionated thriller
The Pool
Wonderful... delicate... delightful
Sunday Times
Sensational . . . not only a satisfying mystery, but also an ambitious, intelligent and often uncomfortable study of gender, violence and art
Guardian
Sophisticated. An intriguing read
Grazia
A high-concept literary thriller . . . not only a taut, elegant mystery, but a subtle examination of the way in which American society has become obsessed with the violent deaths of strikingly beautiful women
Daily Mail
Frank and incredibly relatable . . . an intriguing, and often disturbing, read
Irish News
Smart and sophisticated
Good Housekeeping
Vivid, vibrant and thrilling... with an ending every bit as dramatic as the deaths [Kim] Lord has painted
Observer
Unique, smart and uneasy . . . what captivates us about Still Lives is its feminist undertones, cleverly exploring the way violence against women is used as entertainment, while still providing a tight and addictive read
Stylist
Sleek, assured writing, ice-pick sharp commentary on the L.A. art world and the media's relationship with female crime victims, plus an up-all-night brain-teaser of a murder mystery. I loved it
Louise Candlish, author of Our House