Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Blood Cruise

Blood Cruise

Blood Cruise is terrifying and terrifyingly real, a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist’ – Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard Light

On the Baltic Sea, no one can hear you scream.

Tonight, twelve hundred expectant passengers have joined the booze-cruise between Sweden and Finland. The creaking old ship travels this same route, back and forth, every day of the year.

But this trip is going to be different.

In the middle of the night the ferry is suddenly cut off from the outside world. There is nowhere to escape. There is no way to contact the mainland. And no one knows who they can trust.

Welcome aboard the Baltic Charisma.

‘I will never set foot on a cruise ship again!’ – Åsa Larsson, bestselling author of The Second Deadly Sin and Until thy Wrath Be Past

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 1st May 2018

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781786487780

Reviews

Mats Strandberg knows how to write horror. I bite my nails. I laugh and I cry. And I will never set foot on a cruise ship again!
Åsa Larsson, bestselling author of The Second Deadly Sin and Until thy Wrath Be Past
Mats Strandberg is a literary cult waiting to happen: Blood Cruise is terrifying and terrifyingly real, a must-read for fans of Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist
Elizabeth Hand, author of Generation Loss and Hard Light
Mats Strandberg writes sharp as a fang and like the safe hand of a captain he effectively navigates his bloody action
Politiken (Denmark’s biggest newspaper)
Sweden has a new horror king
City magazine, Sweden
Mats Strandberg has an unbeatable skill in putting focus on Swedish everyday life and mixing it with classic horror. In Blood Cruise the Finnish ferry's sleepy everyday life became an inferno of blood
Dagens Nyheter (Sweden’s biggest morning paper)
As original as it is eerie
Andreas Trojan, Börsenblatt (Germany)
Read it! On one level it is about fear and how we react to when our reptile brain shouts "Run!" or "Fight!". On a different level, Strandberg is a very empathetic author. Give the book to everyone who loved The Circle . Or give it to anyone who adores Stephen King
Undgdomsbokheftet (Norway)
Buy it - Read it - Borrow it - Read it - Enjoy it - Read it - Share it -Read it - Read it! - Read it!! - Read it!!
Plusbog (Denmark)
The amazing thing about this novel is that the everyday events, the ordinary, are so sensitively portrayed. People should read this book: it is so good!
SVT (Swedish Television)
Strandberg leads his characters and their sentimental worlds very skilfully, with great attention to detail . . . This is really well done
Friederike Kipar; The book blogger (Germany)
Strandberg can make childhood demons come to life . . . the depiction of primitive fears and instincts are more frightening than the bloodbath the story develops into. Just like Strandberg's idol Stephen King, at his best, Strandberg builds up the tension slowly
Aftonbladet (Sweden's biggest evening paper)
Multi-layered, the perspectives are constantly shifting, and the reader is forced to refocus over and over'
Sydsvenskan (Sweden)
Highly entertaining and at the same time well-written. Thriller, mystery and especially horror fans will love it
Carmen Porschen, Multimania (Germany)
Mats Strandberg has written one of the best horror novels I have ever read. I was scared for real. And more important, I was touched for real
Folkbladet (Sweden)
On my book shelf Blood Cruise is placed right next to the best by Stephen King and John Ajvide Lindqvist. It will, with 100 per cent certainty, become a horror classic
Boktokig (Sweden)
A rip-roaring, redraw horror thriller which zips along without pausing for breath . . . Grim, gripping and claustrophobic . . . Blood Cruise is a real blast of fetid air in vampire fiction, viscerally enjoyable, deftly plotted and throbbing with a real sense of mounting horror and urgency. It's a rousing, vibrant and fabulously bloodthirsty read, which reminds us why we're supposed to be scared of vampires rather than simply finding them mysteriously attractive and alluring
Starburst
If you are a horror fan than I strongly suggest you check this novel out. Things start slow, but when all Hell finally breaks loose, it does so with an unrestrained glee . . . A strong contender for my horror novel of the year. Tense, emotional, and at times downright nasty. I loved it
The Eloquent Page
Joyfully revelling in the visceral antics of grand horror fiction, this fine book also offers up an intricate look at the emotional lives of a wide variety of vacationers whose quick boat trip in Sweden turns into an odyssey of terror
Big Gay Horror Fan
A brilliant addition to isolation horror and a modern vampire delight, highly recommended
petewsutton
A thoroughly enjoyable novel . . . Gripping, tense and well-told - an excellent addition to the vampire mythos. 9/10
SciFiBulletin