Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Emperor's Knife

The Emperor's Knife

Only a forgotten prince and a girl from the grasslands can stop the Patttern Master in this ‘compelling and wholly convincing fantasy’ (Ben Aaronovitch, author of The Rivers of London). Written under a pseudonym by a Sunday Times bestselling author and a critically acclaimed writer, this riveting and intense novel’ (Publishers Weekly) is perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence and Brandon Sanderson.

There is a cancer at the heart of the mighty Cerani empire: a plague that first marks its victims, then covers their skin in geometric patterns until they die in agony – or are subsumed, their bodies now in thrall to the Pattern Master. Emperor Beyon’s law is that any hint of the pattern means death, before they become another puppet for the sorcerer to use for his evil ends – to see the Cerani Empire reduced to dust and whispers.

No one but his mother knows the emperor himself is infected, and so she looks to her only other living son, Prince Sarmin, locked in a tower since Beyon ascended the throne. A bride is chosen, a girl from the grasslands quite unused to the politics and intrigue of the imperial court – but she is strong-willed and determined, and she once saw a path in a pattern in the waving grasses: a path that might just save them all.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 25th October 2012

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9780857388032

Reviews

'From its shocking opening chapter to its tense climax this novel puts great writing to the service of vivid characters, a compelling plot and a wholly convincing fantasy world' Ben Aaronovitch, author of the Top Ten bestseller Moon Over Soho.
Ben Aaronovitch
'The Emperor's Knife is a must read - it's fresh, exciting and the Tower and Knife trilogy looks set to get even better!' fantasy-faction.com.
fantasy-faction.com
'A rich and entertaining storytelling environment ... The characters are well drawn: believably ambitious and conflicted individuals who struggle to survive in a maze of tradition and intrigue ... this is strongly recommended' SFX.
SFX

Tower and Knife Trilogy