Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Too Close to Breathe

Too Close to Breathe

Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey and Gillian Flynn
‘Truly first class. Just knock-out’ C. J Tudor, author of The Chalk Man
‘Fantastic . . . Compelling, chilling and brilliant’ Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend
‘Mesmerizing . . . murder, betrayal, and secret lives . . . Everything you need in a great thriller’ Lisa Gardner

TOO SOON TO SEE

Polished. Professional. Perfect. Dead. Respected scientist Dr Eleanor Costello is found hanged in her immaculate home: the scene the very picture of a suicide.

TOO LATE TO HIDE

DCS Frankie Sheehan is handed the case, and almost immediately spots foul play. Sheehan, a trained profiler, is seeking a murderer with a talent for death.

TOO CLOSE TO BREATHE

As Frankie strives to paint a picture of the killer, and their victim, she starts to sense they are part of a larger, darker canvas, on which the lines between the two blur.

Olivia Kiernan’s debut is a bold, brilliant thriller that will keep you guessing and leave you breathless.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 10th January 2019

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781786489883

Reviews

Mesmerizing. Olivia Kiernan carefully unspools a complex riddle of murder, betrayal, and secret lives, layering on the menace even as she builds her tough-as-nails chief detective for the climatic finale. Clever plot. Brilliant characters. Everything you need in a great thriller.
Lisa Gardner
A really slick, dynamic-paced police procedural, very much in the vein of Tana French. A proper page-turner, lovely, accomplished writing.
Jo Spain
Too Close To Breathe is the kind of police procedural we haven't seen for a long time; a female cop with a traumatic past racing about the mean streets of Dublin, a hanged victim with a strange clue and a dark secret . . . Olivia Kiernan has brought the serial killer thriller back with a vengeance.
Christopher Fowler
Olivia Kiernan is a fabulous new voice on the crime-writing scene. Absorbing, touching and scary, this is a treat of a read.
Lesley Thomson
Gritty, cynical and haunting, this is crime writing of the highest order and the product of a darkly fascinating mind. First class.
David Mark
Too Close To Breathe is a fearless, fast-paced debut which drops you into the world of Dublin detective Frankie Sheehan - who is a perfect mix of frailty, ferocity and guts. Add to this flashes of deft, dark humour and a compelling city setting and you have a must for fans of Irish crime fiction. Olivia Kiernan is a writer you'll read with your breath held.
Jess Kidd
Disorderly, dangerous and above all, driven, Frankie Sheehan is the kind of true-to-life protagonist I love.
William Shaw
Fantastic . . . Compelling, chilling and brilliant.
Karen Hamilton, author of The Perfect Girlfriend
A truly first class crime novel. Intricate, suspenseful, twisted. Plus, a fantastic female protagonist in Frankie Sheehan who can stand proud with some of the great fictional detectives. Just knock-out.
C. J Tudor, author of The Chalk Man
Sheehan is precisely the kind of gruff, no-nonsense cynic you'd want investigating your own murder . . . Too Close to Breathe reads like a hard-boiled take on Tana French and immediately establishes Olivia Kiernan as a talent to watch.
Irish Times
Smart, grisly and extremely slick - this Dublin set debut delivers a treat.
Daily Mirror
Edgy debut with strong writing that builds the sense of fatal transgression.
Sunday Times
Sassy and thoroughly unconventional . . . A terrific debut with an engagingly potty-mouthed, tough-as-nails female lead.
Irish Independent
Brilliant . . . Clever and compelling, I could hardly breathe myself as I raced to the end.
Laura Marshall, author of Friend Request
Loved this, clever, assured and a true page turner. Can't wait for next one!
Amanda Reynolds, author of Lying To You