Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Pale Criminal

The Pale Criminal

‘One of the greatest anti-heroes ever written’ LEE CHILD

A series of horrific ritual murders leads Bernie Gunther to an occult conspiracy at the very heart of the Nazi Party – hard-boiled noir thriller for fans of Raymond Chandler and John le Carré

Five German schoolgirls are missing. Four have been found dead. But unlike the undesirables who make up the majority of dead and missing people in Hitler’s Berlin, these girls were blonde and blue-eyed – the Aryan flower of German maidenhood – and their gruesome deaths recall ritual killings.

Busy with a blackmail case, Bernie is reluctant when he is asked to rejoin the Berlin police in order to track down the murderer. But when the person doing the asking is none other than head of the SD, Reinhard Heydrich, it’s not exactly a request he can turn down. As Bernie gets closer to the truth, he realises that at the heart of this case is much more than one lone madman – in fact, there is a conspiracy at work more chilling than he could ever have imagined.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 17th March 2016

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781786480880

Reviews

Blends high-powered storytelling with a surprisingly rich piece of historical re-creation
The Independent
Complex intrigue allows space for brilliantly provoking political asides and insights
The Times
Powerful period flavour; a gruff, subversive hero; Kerr delivers the goods
Literary Review
Pulls the strands of its politically informed story together in a finale that satisfies both detective story convention and historical truth
Wall Street Journal
The second, and perhaps finest, of the Bernie Gunther novels . . . Written with bravado, invention and terrific verve, it has an irresistible freshness
Allan Massie, author of the Bordeaux Quartet
Complex intrigue allows space for brilliantly provoking political asides and insights
The Times
Kerr's novels are modern classics
Simon Sebag Montefiore
Bernie Gunther is one of the more interesting and original private eyes in thriller fiction
The Times
His Raymond Chandleresque mysteries about a cynical Berlin cop reluctantly working for the Nazis are [Kerr's] masterpiece
The Sun
Streets ahead of most other historical thrillers in its blend of wit, careful plotting and the kind of detail that brings the past to life
Sunday Times