Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Redemption of Alexander Seaton

The Redemption of Alexander Seaton

A sleuth to rival Shardlake or Cadfael – a mystery that will chill your blood. A must-read for fans of Rory Clements and SJ Parris.

‘A satisfying, skillfully constructed mystery with richly developed characters … A truly memorable and exciting read’ Historical Novel Society

Banff, Scotland, the 1620s. A young man walks unsteadily through the streets. Is he just drunk or is there something more sinister happening? When he collapses in front of two sisters on that dark, wet night, the women guess that he’s been poisoned.

His body is discovered in the house of Alexander Seaton – a fallen minister, the discovery of whose clandestine love affair has left him disgraced.

Why was the body in Seaton’s house? And why would anyone want to murder this likeable young man? Seaton sets out to find answers, embarking on a journey not only through the darkest part of other men’s souls, but also his own.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Historical Mysteries

On Sale: 1st July 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781847247919

Reviews

'Such is the quality of the recreation, not only of the reeking ebb and flow of everyday life but also of the period mindset that it's easy to believe Satan is walking abroad ... this is an accomplished and thought-provoking debut' Guardian.
Guardian