We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Winter List

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781529414264

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 9th May 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Summer, 1660. Cromwell is dead and Charles Stuart has been restored to the throne. Men who supported the Protectorate are being hunted down as traitors.

‘S. G. MacLean can make any historical period sing with life’ Antonia Hodgson

By the summer of 1660 the last remnants of the Republic have been swept away and the Stuarts have been restored under their king, Charles II. A list of regicides believed to be involved in the death of Charles I is drawn up. Gruesome executions begin to take place and the hunt intensifies for those who have gone into hiding at home or abroad.

Although not a regicide, staunch Republican Damian Seeker is on a list of traitors to the king. Royalist spy, Lady Anne Winter, is employed to find evidence of guilt or innocence among the names on this Winter List. Seeker has fled England but his beloved daughter Manon remains, married to Seeker’s friend, the lawyer Lawrence Ingolby, and living in York.

As the conduit to her father and to others on the Winter List and surrounded by spies and watchers, Manon lives in constant danger and fear of discovery. One of those spies is closer than even she could have imagined.

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Andrew Taylor.


******************************

Praise for The Winter List

‘A wonderful storyteller The Times

Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy Sun

‘A propulsive plot . . . well-researched and fascinatingGuardian

Gripping fiction with historical fact’ Sunday Times

‘What a fabulous book . . . there is murder, there is intrigue, there is revenge 5* Reader Review

Kept me hooked right up to the end’ 5* Reader Review

A glorious tale of revenge and retribution . . . Highly recommended 5* Reader Review

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

With a propulsive plot, this is a well-researched and fascinating portrait of a febrile, still divided nation, where long-held grudges fester in an atmosphere of broken trust
Guardian
Vividly imaginative, this builds the world of 1660 from the ground up, with all its romance and tragedy
Sun
Manon faces daily danger in a novel that shows MacLean's ability to invest gripping fiction with historical fact
Sunday Times
A wonderful storyteller
The Times