Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Hourglass

The Hourglass

‘I love Tracy’s writing’ Gill Paul, author of Another Woman’s Husband

Get swept away with a gorgeous novel about finding love even after it seems too late…
How much can a place change your life?

1950. Chloe visits Tenby every summer. She stays with relatives, and spends the long, idyllic days on the beach. Every year is the same, until she meets a glamorous older boy and is instantly smitten. But on the night of their first date, Chloe comes to a realisation, the aftermath of which could haunt her forever.

2014. Nora has always taken success for granted, until suddenly her life begins to fall apart. Troubled by anxiety and nightmares, she finds herself drawn to the sweeping beaches of Tenby. But Tenby hides a secret, and Nora will soon discover that this little town by the sea has the power to heal even the most painful memories.

Tracy Rees’ latest historical novel DARLING BLUE is also available now!

***


Everyone is loving THE HOURGLASS…

‘My favourite book of the year so far and definitely Tracy Rees’ best to date’ Amazon reviewer

‘Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters’ Kathryn Hughes

‘Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction’ Lucinda Riley

‘A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery’ Rachel Hore

‘A story about second chances … A triumphant third novel’ Amazon reviewer

‘A really heartwarming story which is my favourite Tracy Rees so far’ Amazon Reviewer


***

Also by Tracy Rees:

Amy Snow

Florence Grace

Darling Blue

Genre:

On Sale: 4th May 2017

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781784296254

Reviews

Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction
Lucinda Riley, bestselling author
Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place
Leah Fleming
I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told
Nicola Cornick
A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page
Richard and Judy on Amy Snow
Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic
Rosanna Ley
I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished!
Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky
An enjoyable and intriguing read
Trisha Ashley
The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed
Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter
Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark
Lucinda Riley
Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake!
Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife
The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down
Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's
This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings
Psychologies
The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role
Woman
[Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s
One More Page
Descriptive, mysterious and romantic
My Weekly
Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word
Linda's Book Bag
[Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes
Historical Novel Reviews
Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place
Chorley Guardian
Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale
Candis
A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery. It made me want to visit Tenby.