We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Darkest Night

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781529418538

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 25th April 2024

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Some secrets last for generations . . .



A bewitching and haunting story of family secrets – and the lengths some will go to protect them.

A MISSING WOMAN

When Ailsa Reid becomes the subject of a trial by media after an incident at the school where she works, she escapes to the comfort of her grandparents’ house in Fife. But she arrives to find her grandmother, Moira – recently diagnosed with dementia – has gone missing, and her grandfather, Rupert, gravely injured.

AN ABANDONED CHILD

Desperate to ensure Moira’s safe return, Ailsa must rely on the help of her estranged mother, Rowan, who abandoned her at birth. Tensions simmer between the two women as they attempt to piece together the lead-up to Moira’s disappearance.

A TERRIBLE CURSE

But to move forward and find Moira, both Ailsa and Rowan must look to their ancestors, and to a story about witches burned on the hill above the Reid house centuries ago. Can they break the bonds of history in time to save their family? Or will the Reid curse be their undoing?

Perfect for fans of C. J. Cooke and Rebecca Netley.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A deliciously twisty gothic mystery with plenty of heart.
Heather Darwent
Full of mystery and intrigue, The Darkest Night by Victoria Hawthorne unravels the secrets that bind three generations of Reid women, as they each seek to live a life free from oppression and fear, in a tale that is both fiercely feminist and refreshingly representative
Anita Frank
A wonderfully twisting tale of family secrets, gothic mystery and intrigue
Rebecca Netley
This wonderful book immediately grabs you by the heart as you follow three generations, and the whispers of witchcraft that follow them. Fans of Cunning Women and Weyward will love this page turner of a book
Alison Stockham