David Hair - Scarlet Tides - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £16.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780871998
    • Publication date:24 Oct 2013
  • Hardback £25.00
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780871981
    • Publication date:24 Oct 2013
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780872001
    • Publication date:24 Oct 2013
Books in this series

Scarlet Tides

The Moontide Quartet Book 2

By David Hair

  • Paperback
  • £11.99

The Moontide has come and the battle-magi of the Third Crusade are marching their men over the Leviathan Bridge: now thrones will shake and hearts will be torn apart in a world at war: a sort of mashup of J.R.R. Tolkien and Henry Kissinger . . . believable, complete and utterly satisfying (Kirkus)

The Moontide has come and the battle-magi of the Third Crusade are marching their men over the Leviathan Bridge: now thrones will shake and hearts will be torn apart in a world at war: a sort of mashup of J.R.R. Tolkien and Henry Kissinger . . . believable, complete and utterly satisfying (Kirkus)
The Moontide has come and the battle-magi of the Third Crusade are marching their men over the Leviathan Bridge: now thrones will shake and hearts will be torn apart in a world at war: a sort of mashup of J.R.R. Tolkien and Henry Kissinger . . . believable, complete and utterly satisfying (Kirkus)
'Read. This. Series.' A Bitter Draft
A scarlet tide of Rondian legions is flooding into the East, led by the Inquisition's windships flying the Sacred Heart, bright banner of the Church's darkest sons and ready to slaughter and pillage their way across Antiopia in the name of Emperor Constant
'A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . .Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss (Monster Librarian)

But the emperor's greatest treasure, the Scytale of Corineus, has slipped through his fingers and his ruthless Inquisitors must scour two continents for the artefact, the source of all magical power.
Against them are the unlikeliest of heroes: Alaron, a failed mage, the gypsy Cymbellea, and Ramita, once just a lowly market-girl, have pledged to end the cycle of war and restore peace to Urte.
'Vivid, dynamic characters and terrific world building . . . Readers of epic fantasy should definitely check out this series' (Bibliosanctum)
East and West have clashed before, but this time, as secret factions and cabals emerge from the shadows, the world is about to discover that love, loyalty and truth can be forged into weapons as strong as swords and magic.

Biographical Notes

David Hair, an award-winning writer of fantasy, has been inspired by his travels around the globe. He was born in New Zealand and after spending time in Britain and Europe, he moved to India for several years, which sparked both the Moontide Quartet and the Ravana series. He now lives in Bangkok, Thailand. His epic fantasy sagas The Moontide Quartet and The Sunsurge Quartet, and The Return of Ravana, his retelling of the Indian epic The Ramayana, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780872018
  • Publication date: 02 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 688
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Scarlet Tides is simply faster, better and even more satisfying that its prequel. — Upcoming4.Me
Hair spins a satisfying fantasy that, in some aspects, is a sort of mashup of J.R.R. Tolkien and Henry Kissinger . . . believable, complete and utterly satisfying . . . Fans of the series will be eager to see what comes next — Kirkus
Overall, Scarlet Tides represents modern epic fantasy at its best — Fantasy Book Critic
an excellent follow up to the first novel, continuing the tradition of vivid, dynamic characters and terrific world building . . . Readers of epic fantasy should definitely check out this series — Bibliosanctum
Scarlet Tides continues a fantastic epic fantasy series with a great cast, immersive world, and fascinating system of magic that builds to a stunning several-hundred page conclusion in the vein of Steven Erikson, where everything possible happens to everyone. He improved on everything that made Mage's Blood so good and added even more oomph to it. I cannot wait to start Unholy War. Read. This. Series. — A Bitter Draft
Scarlet Tides has been compared to great fantasy epics such as A Song of Ice and Fire and The Wheel of Time, and it easily earns it place amongst them — Fanbase Press
A must read series — Fantasy Review Barn
Scarlet Tides is still a heavy tome with lots of excellent story inside of it. The magic system becomes even more fleshed out as things are revealed, the world grows with new locations and characters, and a fun level of "what next" to the story — Novelnaut
The Moontide Quartet is perhaps the most understated fantasy series currently being written. It features a wide, diverse cast of characters spread out over dual continents. Focusing on a clash of civilisations storyline, David Hair offers a tale that encapsulates epic fantasy to its entirety — Fantasy Book Critic, The Year’s Top Ten
A remarkable series — SFFANZ
A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . .Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss — Monster Librarian
The Moontide Quartet has everything I am looking for when I want a truly epic feel — Fantasy Review Barn
'The Scarlet Tides represents modern epic fantasy at its best.' Fantasy Book Critic. — Fantasy Book Critic
'An excellent follow up to the first novel, continuing the tradition of vivid, dynamic characters and terrific world building ... Readers of epic fantasy should definitely check out this series. 4.5/5' The BiblioSanctum. — BiblioSanctum
'Continues a fantastic epic fantasy series with a great cast, immersive world, and fascinating system of magic that builds to a stunning several-hundred page conclusion in the vein of Steven Erikson, where everything possible happens to everyone. He improved on everything that made Mage's Blood so good and added even more oomph to it. I cannot wait to start Unholy War. Read. This. Series' A Bitter Draft. — A Bitter Draft
'Hair plays it right ... this could turn into a must read series in a hurry. 4/5' Fantasy Review Barn. — Fantasy Review Barn
'Hair spins a satisfying fantasy that [...] is a sort of mashup of J.R.R. Tolkien and Henry Kissinger' Kirkus. — Kirkus