Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Mage's Blood

Mage's Blood

The Moontide is coming. Urte stands on the brink of war. Now three seemingly ordinary people will decide the fate of the world.

Urte is divided, its two continents separated by impassable seas. But once every twelve years, the Moontide sees the waters sink to their lowest point and the Leviathan Bridge is revealed, linking east to west for twenty-four short months.

The Rondian emperor, overlord of the west, is hell-bent on ruling both continents, and for the last two Moontides he has led armies of battle-magi across the bridge on crusades of conquest, pillaging his way across Antiopa.

But the people of the east have been preparing – and, this time, they are ready for a fight.

An epic fantasy, rich in intricate plots, intrigue and treachery. Vast forces collide and ordinary people make heart-rending choices that will shake the world.

‘A complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss’ – Library Journal

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Fantasy

On Sale: 26th September 2013

Price: £10.99

ISBN-13: 9781780871974

Reviews

Hair tells his story with aplomb in clear and concise prose ... one of the better epic fantasy series first instalments I've read in recent years
staffersbookreview.com
The world of Mage's Blood is sort of a fever dream of Europe and its Near East ... stellar pacing and vivid action. . . a ripping read
blackgate.com
This is one of those books that is so epic, that gets you so involved and is such an investment in time and emotion, that there is a little sting of regret that the ending had to come at all and you immediately want to go back to the beginning and see how much riper it is second time around
British Fantasy Society
Makes for an outstanding start to a series which promises to recall epic fantasy's finest. In more ways than one, this book could be huge - an honour I dare say David Hair deserves
Tor.com
This story is so utterly HUMAN ... Set in a world with religious and political struggles that wonderfully parallel our own, Mage's Blood depicts the good and bad of society and its obsession with power
The Wishing Table
Mage's Blood has a richness to it that comes so close to the actual history and customs of Europe and the Near East as to make me periodically stop and wonder whether I was remembering my history wrong or I had just tripped over one of the fantasy world's small, intentional tweaks . . . Fans of Game of Thrones will delight in the existence of this different-yet-similar fantasy series.
New Myths
an ambitious novel sure to thrill readers of character-driven fantasy. Hair has done an admirable job in building a complex world populated by a rich and diverse cast of characters . . . A tense, edge-of-your-seat fantastical drama. There's a little something for everyone here - conspiracies, political backstabbing, high magic, swordplay, a smattering of romance, and more . . . Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, and Patrick Rothfuss.
Monster Librarian
Mage's Blood is true epic fantasy. It has everything a fan could want - detailed magic, good characters and evil characters (of both genders) and some in between, a compelling plot, and twists aplenty.
A Bitter Draft
David Hair's explosive debut as an epic fantasy writer and should be read by all with an interest in gritty fantasy and alternate histories
Fantasy Online
Hair's first foray into adult fantasy is similar in scope to George R.R. Martin's 'Ice and Fire' and Robert Jordan's 'Wheel of Time' novels and is sure to please those authors' many fans
Library Journal, Starred Review
This multilayered beginning to the Moontide Quartet plunges readers into a taut network of intrigue and mystery that tightens with each chapter. Hair portrays a stark and beautiful world breaking apart, with both good and evil characters desperate to reshape it through magic, war, and treachery. This strong debut should draw in fantasy readers of all stripes
Publishers Weekly
Sweeping conflicts, clashes of cultures, political and personal entanglements, rich and in-depth magic, and mighty warriors dot the landscape. . . . Hair tells his story with aplomb in a clear and concise prose
A Dribble of Ink
The Moontide quartet is perhaps the most understated fantasy series currently being written. It features a wide, diverse cast of characters spread out over dual continents. Focusing on a clash of civilisations storyline, David Hair offers a tale that encapsulates epic fantasy to its entirety
Fantasy Book Critic, The Year’s Top Ten
Modern epic fantasy at its best
Fantasy Book Critic
Modern epic fantasy at its best
Fantasy Book Critic
The Moontide Quartet is perhaps the most understated fantasy series currently being written. It features a wide, diverse cast of characters spread out over dual continents. Focusing on a clash of civilisations storyline, David Hair offers a tale that encapsulates epic fantasy to its entirety
Fantasy Book Critic, The Year’s Top Ten
One of the best examples, in recent memory, of epic fantasy
Novelnaut
'Amazing The Moontide Quartet epic fantasy series. I'll not reveal all the details and plots, you'll just need to read these books. It will get you turning pages in a speed of desert storm
Dejan Delic, Deviant Art