Carl-Johan Vallgren - The Boy in the Shadows - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291297
    • Publication date:29 Jan 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291280
    • Publication date:29 Jan 2015

The Boy in the Shadows

By Carl-Johan Vallgren
Read by Matt Bates

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A little boy vanished. A troubled man on the hunt for the truth.

In an overcrowded Stockholm underground station a father and his two boys are late for their train. Joel, the youngest, is howling in his pushchair and his seven-year-old brother, Kristoffer, refuses to take the lift.

A woman approaches and offers to lead Kristoffer up the stairs. Reluctantly his father agrees, but when he arrives on the platform Kristoffer and the woman have vanished without a trace.

Many years later, Joel, now an adult, goes missing in suspicious circumstances. His wife turns to Danny Katz - an old friend - for help. But Katz isn't the only one trying to find Joel, and the deeper he digs the more secrets he uncovers about the wealthy and powerful family at the heart of the investigation. Then suddenly, the case takes a dramatic new turn.

(P)2015 WF Howes Ltd

Biographical Notes

Carl-Johan Vallgren is one of Sweden's most loved writers. He has been awarded the Swedish August Prize for Best Novel of the Year, and has been translated into 25 languages. He's also a talented musician with Warner Music.

Rachel Willson-Broyles is a freelance translator based in Madison, Wisconsin. She received her BA in Scandinavian Studies from Gustavus Adolphus College in 2002 and her Ph.D. in Scandinavian Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2013. Her other translations include Jonas Hassen Khemiri's novel Montecore and Jonas Jonasson's The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden among many others.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784291716
  • Publication date: 29 Jan 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Polished and engaging. I was simply hooked. — Upcoming4Me
an amazingly good debut . . . Don't miss it! — Liz Loves Books
The Boy in the Shadows tells an intriguing story and Vallgren's writing is atmospheric. — Killing Time Crime
There's a coldness to the characters and the atmosphere that create a chill even when there shouldn't be. Gotta love Vallgren's work. — Weekend Sport, Weekend Sport
Quercus

Beautiful Bad

Annie Ward
Authors:
Annie Ward
Quercus

Dirty Little Secrets

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

Death stalked the Vale.In every corner, every whisper.They just didn't know it yet.Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want Olive Collins dead.In the exclusive gated community of Withered Vale, people's lives appear as perfect as their beautifully manicured lawns. Money, success, privilege - the residents have it all. Life is good. There's just one problem. Olive Collins' dead body has been rotting inside number four for the last three months. Her neighbours say they're shocked at the discovery but nobody thought to check on her when she vanished from sight. The police start to ask questions and the seemingly flawless facade begins to crack. Because, when it comes to Olive's neighbours, it seems each of them has something to hide, something to lose and everything to gain from her death. The new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of The Confession, perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door.See what everyone is saying about Jo Spain, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'Enthralling' JP Delaney'Chilling' Sunday Times'Arresting' Sunday Express'Brilliant' BA Paris'Gripping' Best'Compulsive' Sunday Mirror'Addictive'Michelle Frances'Refreshing'Express

Quercus

To Kill the Truth

Sam Bourne
Authors:
Sam Bourne

Someone is trying to destroy the evidence of history's greatest crimes.Academics and Holocaust survivors dead in mysterious circumstances. Museums and libraries burning. Digital records and irreplaceable proofs, lost for ever.Former White House operative Maggie Costello has sworn off politics. But when the Governor of Virginia seeks her help to stop the lethal spiral of killings, she knows that this is bigger than any political game. As Black Lives Matter protestors clash with slavery deniers, America is on a knife-edge and time is running out. This deadly conspiracy could ignite a new Civil War - but who stands most to gain from the chaos?Taut, authoritative and explosive, To Kill the Truth takes us to the edge of anarchy, a world without truth in which history will be re-written by those who live to shape it.Praise for Sam Bourne:'Urgently topical'The Times'Propulsive'Guardian'A Day of the Jackal for these dizzying times' Ian Rankin

Quercus

Village of the Lost Girls

Agustín Martínez
Authors:
Agustín Martínez
riverrun

The Man With No Face

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Jo Fletcher Books

The King

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
Quercus

Bloodline

Nigel McCrery
Authors:
Nigel McCrery
Quercus

The Stranger Diaries

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

A dark story has been brought to terrifying life. Can the ending be rewritten in time?A gripping contemporary Gothic thriller from the bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway mysteries: Susan Hill meets Gone Girl and Disclaimer.Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. As a literature teacher specialising in the Gothic writer RM Holland, she teaches a short course on it every year. Then Clare's life and work collide tragically when one of her colleagues is found dead, a line from an RM Holland story by her body. The investigating police detective is convinced the writer's works somehow hold the key to the case.Not knowing who to trust, and afraid that the killer is someone she knows, Clare confides her darkest suspicions and fears about the case to her journal. Then one day she notices some other writing in the diary. Writing that isn't hers...

Quercus

The Vanishing Box

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
riverrun

Salt Lane

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Cruise

Mats Strandberg
Authors:
Mats Strandberg
Quercus

What Lies Within

Annabelle Thorpe
Authors:
Annabelle Thorpe
riverrun

Too Close to Breathe

Olivia Kiernan
Authors:
Olivia Kiernan
Quercus

Greeks Bearing Gifts

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
Quercus

Without a Word

Kate McQuaile
Authors:
Kate McQuaile

I was there when it happened. I watched her disappear...'POWERFUL' - Amazon Reviewer 'ABSORBING' - Karen Perry'INCREDIBLE' - Amazon Reviewer'ELEGANT' - Sunday Mirror'GRIPPING' - Amazon Reviewer'ACCOMPLISHED' - Sunday Times'TANTALIZING' - Amazon Reviewer'COMPELLING' - Candis'INTRIGUING' - Amazon Reviewer'TWISTY' - Good Housekeeping'FAST-PACED' - Prima'ADDICTIVE' - Sunday Mirror'Everything you want in a thriller' - Emma Flint, author of Little DeathsAN EMOTIONAL AND ADDICTIVE PSYCHOLOGICAL DRAMA FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED NOVEL WHAT SHE NEVER TOLD MELillian had phoned telling her to get Skype up and running. 'I have so much to tell you.' Then, the knock on the door. 'Sorry Orla, I'd better see who it is' she said. Orla waited. Seconds became minutes. She didn't know how long she waited before she realised that something terrible had happened.For more than a decade, Lillian's disappearance has remained unsolved, and Orla has found it impossible to move on. Then she receives an unexpected visit from Ned Moynihan, the detective who led the original investigation into her friend's vanishing. Moynihan has been receiving anonymous notes accusing him of having failed to investigate the case properly. He assumes the notes are coming from Orla, yet Orla knows nothing of these letters. Is somebody trying to tell them the truth about what really happened to Lillian that night?

Quercus

The Confession

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
riverrun

I'll Keep You Safe

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

The Hit

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

Rosie Gilmour is hot on the trail of a ring of baby-sellers and people-traffickers. The problem is, her main suspect is a dead man. Or is he?A money-laundering accountant disappears in Romania. The hitman hired to disappear him is found dead in a Glasgow flat. And the owner of the flat, the accountant's widow, claims she knows nothing about it.Crime reporter Rosie Gilmour isn't convinced by Helen Lewis's innocent facade - she is convinced Helen was the one who ordered the hit on her husband, and she's going to prove it. But when she discovers that Helen's husband worked for a ring of gangsters selling babies from Romanian orphanages, her focus shifts. Now she has two sets of criminals to bring to justice - she'd better pray they don't catch up with her first.'Plenty of action, chills and thrills [with a] quite enchanting finale' Crime Review