Carl-Johan Vallgren - The Boy in the Shadows - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291297
    • Publication date:29 Jan 2015
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784291280
    • Publication date:29 Jan 2015

The Boy in the Shadows

By Carl-Johan Vallgren
Read by Matt Bates

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

A little boy vanished. A troubled man on the hunt for the truth.

In an overcrowded Stockholm underground station a father and his two boys are late for their train. Joel, the youngest, is howling in his pushchair and his seven-year-old brother, Kristoffer, refuses to take the lift.

A woman approaches and offers to lead Kristoffer up the stairs. Reluctantly his father agrees, but when he arrives on the platform Kristoffer and the woman have vanished without a trace.

Many years later, Joel, now an adult, goes missing in suspicious circumstances. His wife turns to Danny Katz - an old friend - for help. But Katz isn't the only one trying to find Joel, and the deeper he digs the more secrets he uncovers about the wealthy and powerful family at the heart of the investigation. Then suddenly, the case takes a dramatic new turn.

(P)2015 WF Howes Ltd

Biographical Notes

Carl-Johan Vallgren is one of Sweden's most loved writers. He has been awarded the Swedish August Prize for Best Novel of the Year, and has been translated into 25 languages. He's also a talented musician with Warner Music.

Rachel Willson-Broyles is a freelance translator based in Madison, Wisconsin. She received her BA in Scandinavian Studies from Gustavus Adolphus College in 2002 and her Ph.D. in Scandinavian Studies from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2013. Her other translations include Jonas Hassen Khemiri's novel Montecore and Jonas Jonasson's The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden among many others.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784291716
  • Publication date: 29 Jan 2015
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Polished and engaging. I was simply hooked. — Upcoming4Me
an amazingly good debut . . . Don't miss it! — Liz Loves Books
The Boy in the Shadows tells an intriguing story and Vallgren's writing is atmospheric. — Killing Time Crime
There's a coldness to the characters and the atmosphere that create a chill even when there shouldn't be. Gotta love Vallgren's work. — Weekend Sport, Weekend Sport
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

'Linda Green is bloody brilliant!' Amanda Prowse, number one bestselling author Some secrets have the power to tear a family apart . . . Moments before she dies, Nicola's grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are babies at the bottom of the garden. Nicola reassures her that it is two statues of fairies she has in the garden, but Betty insists there are babies. Nicola's mother Irene claims Betty was talking nonsense, but Nicola is not so sure. And when, after the funeral, her daughter Maisie finds a bone while playing by the fairy statues, Nicola knows that something sinister has taken place. But will unearthing painful family secrets end up tearing Nicola's family apart?

MacLehose Press

Retribution Road

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne

"We owe you our lives, Sergeant, but you are our worst nightmare . . ."Burma, 1852. Sergeant Arthur Bowman, a sergeant in the East India Company, is sent on a secret mission during the Second Anglo-Burmese War. But the expedition is foiled - his men are captured and tortured. Throughout their ordeal, a single word becomes Bowman's mantra, a word that will stiffen their powers of endurance in the face of unimaginable suffering: "Survival". But for all that, only a handful escape with their lives.Some years later in London, battling his ghosts through a haze of alcohol and opium, Bowman discovers a mutilated corpse in a sewer. The victim appears to have been subjected to the same torments as Bowman endured in the Burmese jungle. And the word "Survival" has been daubed in blood by the body's side. Persuaded that the culprit is one of the men who shared his captivity, Bowman resolves to hunt him down.From the Burmese jungle to the slums of London to the conquest of the Wild West, Antonin Varenne takes us on a thrilling journey full of sound and unabated fury, reviving the lapsed tradition of the great writers of boundless adventure. Sergeant Bowman belongs to that breed of heroes who inhabit the imaginations of Conrad, Kipling, Stevenson . . . Lost soldiers who have plunged into the heart of darkness and will cross the globe in search of vengeance and redemption.Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

Quercus

A Summer Revenge

Tom Callaghan
Authors:
Tom Callaghan

'Storytelling of the highest quality . . . Callaghan is a new voice to be welcomed' Daily Mail'Even better than Child 44. Akyl Borubaev is a terrific creation' Anthony HorowitzIn the burning heat of the sun, murder is deadly cold.Having resigned from Bishkek Murder Squad, Akyl Borubaev is a lone wolf with blood on his hands. Then the Minister of State Security promises Akyl his old life back . . . if Akyl finds his vanished mistress. The beautiful Natasha Sulonbekova has disappeared in Dubai with information that could destroy the Minister's career.But when Borubaev arrives in Dubai - straight into a scene of horrific carnage - he learns that what Natasha is carrying is worth far more than a damaged reputation. Discovering the truth plunges him into a deadly game that means he might never return to Kyrgyzstan . . . at least, not alive.

Quercus

Trouble at Zero Hour

Rob Lofthouse
Authors:
Rob Lofthouse

Written by a retired British soldier, Trouble at Zero Hour is a breathless and vivid story, dramatizing three of the key Allied operations that turned the tide of the Second World War.6 June, 1944, somewhere over the Normandy coastline: Robbie Stokes sits in a glider, his Bren resting on the floor between his outstretched legs. The nose lowers and the glider descends rapidly: ten minutes of stomach-churning twists and turns until suddenly the call goes up to 'BRACE'. The belly makes contact with the ground and the first Allied troops tumble out into occupied Europe.For new recruit Robbie Stokes it is the beginning of ten months of brutal and relentless conflict that take him from D-Day, via Operation Market Garden and the battle for Arnhem Bridge, to the Rhine Crossing and the final push for victory. Three operations that change the course of the war and test Robbie Stokes and his band of brothers to their limits. If they fail, then the Allied invasion fails. They must succeed through their longest days.

riverrun

You Should Have Left

Daniel Kehlmann
Authors:
Daniel Kehlmann
Quercus

The Tunnel

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren

A fast-paced and intricate thriller from one of Sweden's most popular writers, perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Lars Kepler.Private investigator Danny Katz is trying to track down his former drug dealer. Ramón and his girlfriend Jenny have both vanished leaving behind a lot of unanswered questions. How come Ramón suddenly found himself in possession of the mother-load of drugs? And is Jenny really who she claims to be? Katz's investigation leads him to the darkest corners of Stockholm's porn industry and once again his old addiction threatens to control him. Ultimately only one thing seems certain - someone is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Katz from discovering the brutal truth.

Quercus

The Tunnel

Carl-Johan Vallgren
Authors:
Carl-Johan Vallgren
Quercus

Far Horizon

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park
Quercus

Retribution

Steffen Jacobsen
Authors:
Steffen Jacobsen
Quercus

The Hanging Girl

Jussi Adler-Olsen
Authors:
Jussi Adler-Olsen
MacLehose Press

Dirty War

Dominique Sylvain
Authors:
Dominique Sylvain
Quercus

The Third Testament

Christopher Galt
Authors:
Christopher Galt

'Michael Crichton meets The Matrix' Daily Mail Previously published as Biblical. An apocalyptic, mind-melting thriller on an epic scale that will make you question your own reality and even your sanity.What would you do if you found out that your future had already happened? All around the world, people start to see things that aren't there, that cannot be. Visions, ghosts, events from the past playing out in the present. To start with, the visions are unremarkable: things misplaced in time and caught out of the corner of the eye; glimpses of long-dead family or friends. But, as time goes on, the visions become more sustained, more vivid, more widespread. More terrifying. As the visions become truly apocalyptic, some turn to religion, others to science. Only one man, driven by personal as well as professional reasons, is capable of finding the real truth. But the truth that psychiatrist John Macbeth uncovers is much, much bigger than either religion or science. A truth so big it could cost him his sanity. And his life.

Quercus

The Prey

Tony Park
Authors:
Tony Park

riverrun

The Serpent Papers

Jessica Cornwell
Authors:
Jessica Cornwell
Quercus

Thief

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan

From the #1 Amazon Charts bestselling author of Beneath a Scarlet SkyAs a CIA operative, Robin Monarch was the US government's most valuable asset. Nowadays, as a rogue international thief, he answers to only himself. So when Monarch finds himself in the darkest recesses of the Amazon jungle - very much against his own wishes - he is on unfamiliar terrain in more ways than one. THE PRIZE HE MUST STEAL. Deep within the Brazilian rainforest lies a secret of incalculable value to mankind. Robin Monarch must locate and extract this enigmatic treasure: not for greed or gain, but because a life, that of the woman dearest to him, is at stake. THE PERSON HE MUST SAVE. Sister Rachel Diego del Mar, the missionary who saved Monarch's life when he was a homeless orphan, has been kidnapped by a vengeful past adversary. If Monarch does not give his enemy the Amazon's secret, they will take her life. Unaccustomed to failure, and unprepared to let his nemesis prevail, Monarch has vowed to deliver - first the coveted prize, then his full, uncompromising retribution.

Quercus

Summer Lies Bleeding

Nuala Casey
Authors:
Nuala Casey

Quercus

The Bosch Deception

Alex Connor
Authors:
Alex Connor
Quercus

Outlaw: Robin Monarch 2 (

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan
Quercus

Rogue: Robin Monarch 1 (U

Mark Sullivan
Authors:
Mark Sullivan

AMERICA'S GREATEST ASSET. Robin Monarch, the CIA's top field operative, stumbles across a US governmental conspiracy during a mission in Istanbul. What he sees is enough to make him go rogue. IS NOW ITS GREATEST THREAT. Monarch becomes an international fugitive, hunted by the powers wishing to buy his secret, and by those wanting it buried. Yet Robin Monarch is not perturbed: he has plans of his own. THINK BOURNE. THINK BOND. THINK BAUER. THINK BETTER.(P)2013 WF Howes Ltd

Quercus

The Visitors

Simon Sylvester
Authors:
Simon Sylvester