Joanna Bolouri - The Most Wonderful Time of the Year - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299125
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787470736
    • Publication date:15 Jul 2017

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

A Laugh-Out-Loud Story Straight Out Of A Rom Com!

By Joanna Bolouri

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'Bloody hilarious' Isabelle Broom. A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of The Kicking the Bucket List and The Bad Mother's Diary.

'Bloody hilarious' Isabelle Broom. A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Marian Keyes' THE BREAK and Carole Matthews.

It's time to meet the parents!

Emily is so glad that she lives far away from her judgemental, interfering family - 411 miles away to be exact! But with plans afoot for them to meet her boyfriend, Robert, she has to psyche herself up for meeting to take place. So when the relationship suddenly falls apart, Emily is frustrated, especially as she's talked up her handsome, loving boyfriend. Enter Evan: her twenty-something neighbour, with his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex. She can make this work. Or can she??

Biographical Notes

Joanna Bolouri worked in sales before she began writing professionally at the age of thirty. Winning a BBC comedy script competition allowed her to work and write with stand-up comedians, comedy scriptwriters and actors from across the UK. She's had articles and reviews published in The Skinny, the Scottish Sun, the Huffington Post and HecklerSpray. She lives in Glasgow with her daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784299132
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Bloody hilarious. Give yourself an early Christmas treat and read this book over the weekend. We promise you won't regret it! — Isabelle Broom, Heat
The Most Wonderful Time of the Year is Joanna Bolouri's third novel, and third that I had a pleasure to read. And also third that I am rating with 5 stars - I've no idea what I've done before without her books! — On My Bookshelf
A truly magnificent and hilarious read that will make you think twice about love this Christmas. A book that had tears streaming down my face with laughter! — The Writing Garnet
The day a new Joanna Bolouri book is released truly is the most wonderful time of the year for me . . . [I'm] addicted to her wit, relatable characters and laugh out loud writing — Novelicious
Every bit as funny as Joanna's previous books - definitely worth the read! — Woman's Way
MacLehose Press

The Slaughterman's Daughter

Yaniv Iczkovits
Authors:
Yaniv Iczkovits
riverrun

A River in the Trees

Jacqueline O'Mahony
Authors:
Jacqueline O'Mahony

riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry

'Eloquent, impressive . . . while her touch is witty, her manner almost buoyant, her themes are sinister beyond belief. She touches the frontiers of the human' Hilary Mantel Boston, 1833Aboard the USS Orbis as it embarks from Boston and surges south to round Cape Horn, Hiram Carver takes up his first position as ship's doctor. Callow and anxious among the seasoned sailors, he struggles in this brutal floating world until he meets William Borden.Borden. The Hero of the Providence. A legend among sailors, his presence hypnotizes Carver, even before he hears the man's story. Years before, Borden saved several men from mutiny and led them in a dinghy across the Pacific to safety.Every ship faces terror from the deep. What happens on the Orbis binds Carver and Borden together forever. When Carver recovers, and takes up a role at Boston's Asylum for the Insane, he will meet Borden again - broken, starving, overwhelmed by the madness that has shadowed him ever since he sailed on the Providence.Carver devotes himself to Borden's cure, sure it depends on drawing out the truth about that terrible voyage. But though he raises up monsters, they will not rest. So Carver must return once more to the edge of the sea and confront the man - and the myth - that lie in dark water.Elizabeth Lowry's gothic masterpiece gives the genre of Heart of Darkness and Moby-Dick a new, beating heart. In Carver and Borden, she realizes the dichotomy of savagery and reason, of man and monster, of life and sacrifice, in a tale rich with adventure and glorious imagination.

MacLehose Press

Lost Empress

Sergio De La Pava
Authors:
Sergio De La Pava
riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman

'Deft characterisation, buoyant wit and imaginative richness' Evening Standard'Masterful . . . slick, entertaining' Guardian 'Funny poignant, occassionally breathtaking' Financial TimesRome, 1955The artists are gathering together for a photograph. In one of Rome's historic villas, a party glitters with socialites and patrons. Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god. He is at the centre of the picture. His wife, Natalie, edges out of the shot.From the side of the room watches little Pinch - their son. At five years old he loves Bear almost as much as he fears him. After Bear abandons their family, Pinch will still worship him, while Natalie faces her own wars with the art world. Trying to live up to his father's name - one of the twentieth century's fiercest and most controversial painters - Pinch never quite succeeds. Yet by the end of a career of twists and compromises, he enacts an unexpected rebellion that will leave forever his mark upon the Bear Bavinsky legacy.What makes an artist? In The Italian Teacher, Tom Rachman displays a nuanced understanding of art and its demons. Moreover, in Pinch he achieves a portrait of vulnerability and frustrated talent that - with his signature humour and humanity ­- challenges the very idea of greatness.

Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor
Quercus

Relight My Fire

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Jo Fletcher Books

City of Miracles

Robert Jackson Bennett
Authors:
Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to tell him to come home. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this. Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now 'Bjorn' is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise . . .The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades.

Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
Quercus

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate
Authors:
Lisa Wingate
Quercus

Anna Bell Omnibus

Anna Bell
Authors:
Anna Bell
Quercus

The Little Lady Collection

Hester Browne
Authors:
Hester Browne
Quercus

The Reading Group

Della Parker
Authors:
Della Parker

'Brims with laughs, love, family and friendship. You will love this heartwarming read!' Trisha Ashley, Sunday Times bestselling author.Meet the Reading Group: Grace, Anne-Marie, Kate, Jojo and Serena, as different as can be but who you can count on in good times and bad. No topic is off-limits: books, family, love and loss . . . and don't forget the glass of red! Each month they meet in Serena's beautiful cliff-top cottage to discuss a good book - and their lives, which are sometimes stranger than fiction! Between new loves and old flames, cheating husbands and wayward children, there's always a surprise around the corner...A laugh-out-loud tale of friendship, loyalty and love. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and Lucy Diamond.

MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
Quercus

The Revelations of Carey Ravine

Debra Daley
Authors:
Debra Daley

A beautiful historical mystery for fans of Sarah Waters, Amitav Ghosh's The Sea of Poppies, and Jamaica Inn.London in the 1770s is bursting with opportunity. It's a city fuelled by new ideas and new money, where everything is for sale - including entrée into the ruling class. Making their way in this buccaneering society are Carey Ravine, a spirited young woman of enigmatic background, and her husband, the charming, endlessly enterprising Oliver Nash. Carey and Nash share a historic connection to India and a desperate ambition to better themselves. But as Nash's plans draw them into a restless association of gamblers and secret societies, Carey begins to question what's really hidden behind the seedy glamour of their lives. Her unease grows with the appearance of a mysterious man whose appearance unearths a troubling secret from the past. Carey finds herself forced to investigate the truth behind the stranger's claims­­ - and to confront her own illusions about herself.

Quercus

I Followed the Rules

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Quercus

The List

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri

'I would give this book 6 stars if I could!' Amazon reviewer. The bestselling romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Don't Stop Me Now and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart.Phoebe Henderson may be single but she sure doesn't feel fabulous. It's been a year since she found her boyfriend Alex in bed with another woman, and multiple cases of wine and extensive relationship analysis with best friend Lucy have done nothing to help. Faced with a new year but no new love, Phoebe concocts a different kind of resolution. The List: ten things she's always wanted to do in bed but has never had the chance (or the courage!) to try. A bucket list for between the sheets. One year of pleasure, no strings attached. Simple, right? Factor in meddlesome colleagues, friends with benefits, getting frisky al fresco and maybe, possibly, true love and Phoebe's got her work cut out for her.[*Contains adult material*]

Quercus

Amelia Grey's Fireside Dream

Abby Clements
Authors:
Abby Clements