Joanna Bolouri - The Most Wonderful Time of the Year - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784299125
    • Publication date:20 Oct 2016
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787470736
    • Publication date:15 Jul 2017

The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

A Laugh-Out-Loud Story Straight Out Of A Rom Com!

By Joanna Bolouri

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

'Bloody hilarious' Isabelle Broom. A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of The Kicking the Bucket List and The Bad Mother's Diary.

'Bloody hilarious' Isabelle Broom. A laugh-out-loud romantic comedy perfect for fans of Marian Keyes' THE BREAK and Carole Matthews.

It's time to meet the parents!

Emily is so glad that she lives far away from her judgemental, interfering family - 411 miles away to be exact! But with plans afoot for them to meet her boyfriend, Robert, she has to psyche herself up for meeting to take place. So when the relationship suddenly falls apart, Emily is frustrated, especially as she's talked up her handsome, loving boyfriend. Enter Evan: her twenty-something neighbour, with his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex. She can make this work. Or can she??

Biographical Notes

Joanna Bolouri worked in sales before she began writing professionally at the age of thirty. Winning a BBC comedy script competition allowed her to work and write with stand-up comedians, comedy scriptwriters and actors from across the UK. She's had articles and reviews published in The Skinny, the Scottish Sun, the Huffington Post and HecklerSpray. She lives in Glasgow with her daughter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781784299132
  • Publication date: 06 Oct 2016
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Bloody hilarious. Give yourself an early Christmas treat and read this book over the weekend. We promise you won't regret it! — Isabelle Broom, Heat
The Most Wonderful Time of the Year is Joanna Bolouri's third novel, and third that I had a pleasure to read. And also third that I am rating with 5 stars - I've no idea what I've done before without her books! — On My Bookshelf
A truly magnificent and hilarious read that will make you think twice about love this Christmas. A book that had tears streaming down my face with laughter! — The Writing Garnet
The day a new Joanna Bolouri book is released truly is the most wonderful time of the year for me . . . [I'm] addicted to her wit, relatable characters and laugh out loud writing — Novelicious
Every bit as funny as Joanna's previous books - definitely worth the read! — Woman's Way
Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
Quercus

War Gardens

Lally Snow
Authors:
Lally Snow
Quercus

Believe Me

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney

In this twisty psychological thriller from the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of The Girl Before, an actress plays both sides of a murder investigationOne aspiring actress from the UK pays for her acting class in New York the only way she can: as a decoy for a firm of divorce lawyers, hired to entrap straying husbands. When the police begin investigating one of her targets for murdering his wife - and potentially others - they ask her to help lure the suspect into a confession.But with the actress pretending to be someone she's not, differentiating the decoy from the prey becomes impossible - and deadly.**********See what everyone is saying about JP Delaney, the hottest new name in psychological thrillers:'An outstanding debut that is more than a match for Paula Hawkins's The Girl on the Train' Sunday TimesDazzling - a pitch-perfect thriller (Lee Child)Slick, sexy, suspenseful and smart (Mail on Sunday)(P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

riverrun

Dark Water

Elizabeth Lowry
Authors:
Elizabeth Lowry
Quercus

A World on Fire

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage
Quercus

The Last Thing She Told Me

Linda Green
Authors:
Linda Green

Some secrets have the power to tear a family apart . . . Moments before she dies, Nicola's grandmother Betty whispers to her that there are babies at the bottom of the garden. Nicola reassures her that it is two statues of fairies she has in the garden, but Betty insists there are babies. Nicola's mother Irene claims Betty was talking nonsense, but Nicola is not so sure. And when, after the funeral, her daughter Maisie finds a bone while playing by the fairy statues, Nicola knows that something sinister has taken place. But will unearthing painful family secrets end up tearing Nicola's family apart?

riverrun

All Rivers Run Free

Natasha Carthew
Authors:
Natasha Carthew

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
riverrun

The Italian Teacher

Tom Rachman
Authors:
Tom Rachman

Rome, 1955The artists are gathering together for a photograph. In one of Rome's historic villas, a party is bright with near-genius, shaded by the socialite patrons of their art. Bear Bavinsky, creator of vast, masculine, meaty canvases, is their god. Larger than life, muscular in both figure and opinion, he blazes at art criticism and burns half his paintings. He is at the centre of the picture. His wife, Natalie, edges out of the shot.From the side of the room watches little Pinch - their son. At five years old he loves Bear almost as much as he fears him. After Bear abandons their family, Pinch will still worship him, striving to live up to the Bavinsky name; while Natalie, a ceramicist, cannot hope to be more than a forgotten muse. Trying to burn brightly under his father's shadow - one of the twentieth century's fiercest and most controversial painters - Pinch's attempts flicker and die. Yet by the end of a career of twists and compromises, Pinch will enact an unexpected rebellion that will leave forever his mark upon the Bear Bavinsky legacy.What makes an artist? In The Italian Teacher, Tom Rachman displays a nuanced understanding of twentieth-century art and its demons, vultures and chimeras. Moreover, in Pinch he achieves a portrait of painful vulnerability and realism: talent made irrelevant by personality. Stripped of egotism, authenticity or genius, Pinch forces us to face the deep held fear of a life lived in vain.

Jo Fletcher Books

The Everness Series

Ian McDonald
Authors:
Ian McDonald
Jo Fletcher Books

Kin

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes
Quercus

Life After The List

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Jo Fletcher Books

Empress of the Fall

David Hair
Authors:
David Hair
MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson
MacLehose Press

Fish Have No Feet

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson

Longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017Keflavik: a town that may be the darkest place in Iceland, surrounded by black lava fields, hemmed in by a sea that may not be fished, and site of the U.S. military base, whose influences shaped Icelandic culture from the '50s to the dawning of the new millennium. Ari - a writer and publisher - lands back in Keflavik from Copenhagen. His father is dying, and he is flooded by memories of his youth in the '70s and '80s, listening to Pink Floyd and the Beatles, raiding American supply lorries and discovering girls. And one girl he could never forget. Layered through Ari's story is that of his grandparents in a village on the eastern coast, a world away from modern Keflavik. For his grandfather Oddur, life at sea was a destiny; for Margrét its elemental power brings only loneliness and fear. Both the story of a singular family and an epic that sparkles with love, pain and lifelong desire - with all of human life - Fish have no Feet is a novel of profound beauty and wisdom by a major international writer.By the author of the acclaimed trilogy, Heaven and Hell, The Sorrow of Angels and The Heart of Man.

MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong

China. The year is 1200. The Song Empire has been defeated in the north by invading Jurchen forces. Pushed further south, the empire is in danger of collapse and the Chinese population is furious. Now it falls to lone patriots trained in the martial arts to save China. Guo Jing's father was one such hero, killed in defence of his country. His mother was forced to flee to the edges of the empire, where Guo Jing was brought up fighting with Genghis Khan. Yang Kang, Guo Jing's sworn brother since birth, grew up to a different fate among the enemy. Enter Qiu Chuji, a Taoist priest famed for his martial prowess and burning patriotism. Enlisting the help of the eccentric band of martial artists known as the Seven Freaks of the South, he must find the two young men and train them in a way befitting the memory of their fathers, to take back China.Translated from the Chinese by Anna Holmwood

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson(P)2017 Quercus Editions Limited

MacLehose Press

Avenging Angels

Lyuba Vinogradova
Authors:
Lyuba Vinogradova
riverrun

Larchfield

Polly Clark
Authors:
Polly Clark