Isabelle Grey - The Special Girls - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £19.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786480958
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292843
    • Publication date:06 Apr 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781784292850
    • Publication date:07 Sep 2017

The Special Girls

A gripping summer thriller read full of shocking twists

By Isabelle Grey
Read by Melody Grove

  • Downloadable audio file
  • £P.O.R.

They are called the 'special girls'. How are they special and why were they chosen? Historical child sex abuse is linked to the murder of a young doctor in this gripping psychological thriller

Sarah Hilary calls The Special Girls 'Compelling and compassionate'. 'The story hooks like barbed wire . . . so much more than a police procedural' says Laline Paull, author of The Bees. Perfect for fans of BROADCHURCH and LINE OF DUTY

'A brave and harrowing novel' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH

'A penetrating analysis of Stockholm Syndrome' Guardian

They are called the 'special girls'. How are they special and why were they chosen?

A doctor is found beaten to death in woods close to a summer camp for young women with eating disorders. The camp is run by the charismatic Professor Chesham. DI Grace Fisher is called in, but is quickly pulled from the investigation - to head up a cold case inquiry involving Chesham himself.

Some years earlier, one of Chesham's patients made allegations that he sexually assaulted her.

As Grace uncovers the lies that led to the doctor's murder, she discovers the full extent of the damage done to the special girls - and the danger they are still in.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786483898
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Isabelle Grey never loses sight of the impact on victims in this brave and harrowing novel — Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month
A penetrating analysis of Stockholm Syndrome with a notably filmic sensibility — Guardian
An intelligent, sophisticated police procedural with a completely believable central character and a strong moral core. Emotional and hardhitting, highly recommended — Sinead Crowley, author of Can Anybody Help Me? and Are You Watching Me?
Plenty of suspense and gripping, instructive writing about real people facing impossible, often tragic predicaments. This is an excellent crime novel, warmly recommended — Literary Review
Combines attention to detail with compassionate intelligence — Sunday Times on Shot Through the Heart
Full of well-handled forensics and the brooding atmosphere of the Essex coast — Mail on Sunday on Shot Through the Heart
An unusual police procedural . . . beautifully written, full of interesting insights, and atmospherically set — Literary Review on Shot Through the Heart
Grey's credentials as a television writer shine through . . . the inner workings of the Major Investigation Team are just as enthralling to read about as the serial killer they are hunting — Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go, on Good Girls Don't Die
Assured, convincing and especially good on . . . the delicate - and often dodgy - nature of the relationship between the police and the press — Laura Wilson, Guardian on Good Girls Don't Die
Combines clever plot twists with a surprising delicacy of feeling — Sunday Times on Good Girls Don't Die
A realistic, gripping police procedural . . . they rarely get better than this — Book Addict Shaun on Good Girls Don't Die
A thrilling read that will leave you wanting much more of Grace Fisher — We Love This Book on Good Girls Don't Die
Top notch crime fiction . . . a superb example of its kind — Liz Loves Books on Good Girls Don't Die
The writing is fluid and enthralling . . . a terrific and believable supporting cast — CrimeThrillerFella on Good Girls Don't Die