Alison Littlewood - The Crow Garden - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848669895
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786485977
    • Publication date:05 Oct 2017
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848669888
    • Publication date:04 Oct 2018

The Crow Garden

By Alison Littlewood

  • Hardback
  • £16.99

Susan Hill meets Wilkie Collins in Alison Littlewood's latest chiller: mad-doctor Nathaniel is obsessed with the beautiful Mrs Harleston - but is she truly delusional? Or is she hiding secrets that should never be uncovered . . . ?

Susan Hill meets Wilkie Collins in Alison Littlewood's latest chiller. Mad-doctor Nathaniel is obsessed with the beautiful Mrs Harleston - but is she truly delusional? Or is she hiding secrets that should never be uncovered . . . ?

Haunted by his father's suicide, Nathaniel Kerner walks away from the highly prestigious life of a consultant to become a mad-doctor. He takes up a position at Crakethorne Asylum, but the proprietor is more interested in phrenology and his growing collection of skulls than the patients' minds. Nathaniel's only interesting case is Mrs Victoria Adelina - Vita - Harleston: her husband accuses her of hysteria and delusions - but she accuses him of hiding secrets far more terrible.

Nathaniel is increasingly obsessed with Vita, but when he has her mesmerised, there are unexpected results. Vita starts hearing voices, the way she used to - her grandmother always claimed they came from beyond the grave - but it also unleashes her own powers of mesmerism . . . and a desperate need to escape.

Increasingly besotted, Nathaniel finds himself caught up in a world of séances and stage mesmerism in his bid to find Vita and save her.

But constantly hanging over him is this warning: that doctors are apt to catch the diseases with which they are surrounded - whether of the body or the mind . . .

'[An] enjoyable excursion . . . gripping' The Sunday Times

Biographical Notes

Alison Littlewood is the author of A Cold Season, published by Jo Fletcher Books. The novel was selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club, where it was described as "perfect reading for a dark winter's night." Her most recent novel, The Hidden People, has recently been published to critical acclaim.

Alison's short stories have been picked for Best British Horror 2015, The Best Horror of the Year and The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror anthologies, as well as The Best British Fantasy 2013 and The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10. She also won the 2014 Shirley Jackson Award for Short Fiction with her story The Dog's Home, published in The Spectral Book of Horror Stories.

Alison lives with her partner Fergus in Yorkshire, England, in a house of creaking doors and crooked walls. You can talk to her on twitter @Ali__L, see her on Facebook and visit her at www.alisonlittlewood.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786485250
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 384
  • Imprint: Jo Fletcher Books
Excellent . . . she creates a chilling atmosphere of skulls, séances, secrets and hysteria — Antonia Senior, The Times
[An] enjoyable excursion . . . gripping — The Sunday Times
A Gothic masterpiece — The Lady
[A] deliciously atmospheric psychological thriller . . . will appeal to fans of Susan Hill and Wilkie Collins — BookRiot
A book which I know I will want to re-read time and time again . . . a brilliant example of historical fiction — The Bookish Bundle
An excellent, chilling, autumn read, all about the dangers of power, obsession, and guilt, this is sure to be another hit — Blue Book Balloon
Eerie and unsettling . . . Alison Littlewood has crafted a sublime blend of the psychological and the supernatural — Starburst
A great seasonal treat — Becky Lea, SciFiNow
A rare treat! I love the idea of novels about madness but it is rare that I find one so well written . . . a fantastic novel and highly recommended! — Life Has A Funny Way of Sneaking Up On You
Alison has been churning out intriguing and clever chilling stories that always manage to raise my heartbeat — Upcoming4.me on Alison Littlewood
There's an amazing sense of place and time in this novel, as Littlewood perfectly captures the literary style, attitudes, and class consciousness of Victorian England — Publishers Weekly on The Hidden People
Hypnotic and intelligent with buckets of atmosphere . . . Littlewood expertly weaves themes of misogyny and mythology into a psychological page-turner that feels both familiar and fresh — SFX
The atmosphere Alison Littlewood conjures up in The Hidden People is absorbing and there's a real sense of foreboding, you feel the fairies might show themselves at any moment. — Irish News
Alison Littlewood is one of the brightest stars in the horror genre at the moment . . . The Hidden People is impeccably written, quiet, evocative horror. It's yet another must buy from Littlewood — This is Horror
Littlewood's dark and gothic style had me mesmerised from the very first page . . . a deeply compelling, fascinating novel, written in a way that had me, the reader, mesmerised also. — Book Babe Review
A masterclass in confusion — Marie O’Regan, SciFiBulletin
Quercus

The Burning House

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
MacLehose Press

The Oblique Place

Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Authors:
Caterina Pascual Söderbaum
Quercus

More Than a Feeling

Cate Woods
Authors:
Cate Woods

'Cate Woods is laugh-out-loud funny and life affirming' Closer. Perfect for fans of Jo Thomas and The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart. In her twenties, Annie Taylor was sorted: she had her dream job, an amazing social life and was happily single. She had bags of confidence and played up her likeness to a young Barbra Streisand in turbans and winged eyeliner. Annie knew exactly who she was, and her future looked bright and full of adventures.Life, however, hasn't turned out quite how she expected. Now Annie is living with her boyfriend Luke and is a stay-at-home mum to their baby daughter, Dot. The promising career has petered out, and with it her confidence and creativity. And when Luke does the unforgivable, Annie finds herself suddenly, terrifyingly, on her own. With the help of her group of loyal friends, Annie faces the challenge of trying to reconcile the glamorous, carefree Annie of old with the knackered mum-of-one she sees in the mirror today. Is old Annie gone forever, or could this finally be the chance to find herself once more?

MacLehose Press

All the Lives We Never Lived

Anuradha Roy
Authors:
Anuradha Roy

"In my childhood, I was known as the boy whose mother had run off with an Englishman." So begins the story of Myshkin and his mother Gayatri, its rebellious, alluring artist-heroine who is driven to abandon home and marriage and follow her primal instinct for freedom.Freedom of another kind is in the air across all of India, and in Germany the Nazis have come to power. At this point of crisis, a German artist from Gayatri's past seeks her out. His arrival ignites passions she has long been forced to suppress.What follows is Gayatri's life as pieced together by her son, a journey that takes him through India and Dutch-held Bali. Excavating the roots of the world in which he was abandoned, he comes to understand the connections between volcanic strife at home and a war-torn universe overtaken by patriotism. The scale of Anuradha Roy's novel is matched by its power as a parable for our times. Its depiction of the contrasting ideas of Gandhi and Tagore, of the limits of nationalism when confronted by cosmopolitanism, makes it a spell-binding saga centred on people trying to make sense of their lives.

riverrun

The Consolation of Maps

Thomas Bourke
Authors:
Thomas Bourke
Jo Fletcher Books

Wyntertide

Andrew Caldecott
Authors:
Andrew Caldecott
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill

'A bold, uncompromising depiction of obsessive love' MARIAN KEYES'O'Neill is a vital and necessary presence in contemporary literature and we are lucky to have her' SARAH PERRY'A real, raw story . . . Louise O'Neill will once again connect to the secret, intimate places of readers' minds and lives' CECELIA AHERNWhen Sarah falls for Matthew, she falls hard.So it doesn't matter that he's twenty years older. That he sees her only in secret. That, slowly but surely, she's sacrificing everything else in her life to be with him. Sarah's friends are worried. Her father can't understand how she could allow herself to be used like this. And she's on the verge of losing her job.But Sarah can't help it. She is addicted to being desired by Matthew. And love is supposed to hurt. Isn't it?

Quercus

The Memory Chamber

Holly Cave
Authors:
Holly Cave
riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
riverrun

The Lonely Hearts Hotel

Heather O'Neill
Authors:
Heather O'Neill
Quercus

The Early Birds

Laurie Graham
Authors:
Laurie Graham
MacLehose Press

The Impostor

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
riverrun

Histories

Sam Guglani
Authors:
Sam Guglani

'Profound . . . Poetic . . . Humane' Gabriel Weston'Shows rare skill . . . Power and fear and morality' Sarah Moss, author of The Tidal Zone'Tender . . . designed to break your heart, mend it, then break it all over again' Rory Gleeson, author of Rockadoon ShoreHistories is a hypnotic portrait of life in one hospital, over one week. In the corridors and consulting rooms, by the bedside, through the open curtain, we witness charged encounters within the emotional and physical world of medicine. Old insecurities surface as junior doctors try to save a man from dying; an enraged chaplain picks a fight with a consultant; a porter waxes lyrical on his invisibility. These are only some of the stories that so seamlessly connect, collide and create an unforgettable panorama of being. Sam Guglani's vivid prose has the raw intensity of poetry that pulls one in on every page.

Quercus

The Lost Village

Neil Spring
Authors:
Neil Spring
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales
MacLehose Press

The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
Quercus

Prussian Blue

Philip Kerr
Authors:
Philip Kerr
MacLehose Press

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme

Lars Mytting
Authors:
Lars Mytting
MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker
Quercus

The Christmas Guest

Daisy Bell
Authors:
Daisy Bell

'A heart-melting story about the sweetest little dog bringing happiness to a family who needs him as much as he needs them' Amazon Reviewer. Teddy: the homeless puppy with a huge heart who healed a family . . .When Teddy runs away from home a week before Christmas, he's far too excited to worry about what lies ahead. But all too soon Teddy realises just how cold and scary the world really is, and what was supposed to be the perfect adventure now seems like a terrible mistake. Then Teddy is discovered on a snowy doorstep by the Woods family. With their kind hearts and cosy cottage, Claire, Ben and their daughter Emily are the family Teddy is desperate to have. But Emily is ill, her parents are stressed and, with Christmas around the corner, raising and training a well-meaning but unruly puppy is hardly a priority. Teddy knows he and little Emily have a once-in-a-lifetime bond, and that he can be the best friend she needs in this dark time. If only he can prove to Ben and Claire how much happier he could make them all, Teddy might just find the family of his dreams this Christmas.A puppy for Christmas. A friend for life.