Holly Cave - The Memory Chamber - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786485366
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781786485359
    • Publication date:22 Feb 2018

The Memory Chamber

The perfect afterlife or a living nightmare?

By Holly Cave

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

An afterlife of your own design, what could go wrong? The dark and gripping thriller from an exciting new voice in speculative fiction.

The perfect afterlife, or a living nightmare?

Isobel has it all: her dream job, an immaculate home and a steady relationship. Life, and even death, is completely under her control. For Isobel's generation death no longer means oblivion, thanks to firms like her employer, Oakley Associates. Isobel is their top heaven architect, crafting perfect afterlives for her clients built from the memories they treasure most.

Then Isobel meets handsome client, Jarek. Suddenly her disciplined life gives way to something passionate and extreme, and Isobel jeopardises everything to embark on an affair with a terminally-ill - and married - man.

When Jarek dies and becomes the prime suspect in a murder that took place before his death, Isobel is forced to prove his innocence. But as she stumbles upon the darker side of the work she so passionately believes in, she can trust no one with what she finds.

Set in the near-future, this thrilling and original story vaults the reader into a world that is terrifyingly close to our own, where we can avoid everything we fear - even death itself. But can we ever escape the truth?

Biographical Notes

Holly Cave was born in sunny Torquay in 1983. She received a BSc in Biology and an MSc in Science Communication from Imperial College London, after which she spent four years working at the Science Museum in London. After a career break to travel the world, Holly became a freelance writer and now writes about science and technology alongside her fiction. She lives in Bedford with her husband, baby son and dog. The Memory Chamber is her first novel with Quercus, although she wrote a number of unpublished works with her father on his typewriter in the 1990s.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781786485342
  • Publication date: 22 Feb 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Quercus
Quercus

Beneath the Surface

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

Undertow

Elizabeth Heathcote
Authors:
Elizabeth Heathcote
Quercus

The Girl Before

JP Delaney
Authors:
JP Delaney
riverrun

Coffin Road

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

The Canary Girls

Rosie Archer
Authors:
Rosie Archer

In love and war, who can you trust? 1944, Hampshire. Her face still bearing the scars from the explosion at the factory, Rita Brown is nonetheless back on her feet. She's caught the eye of local wide boy Blackie Bristow, who's sweeping her around the country in a life of shady glamour. But there's a war on, and life is not all fun and games. Some of the local men are taking advantage of the topsy-turvy world to break more than just hearts, and standing up to them comes with its own costs. Rita keeps calm and carries on with a little help from her friends at the factory. But then she discovers someone there has been leaking secrets to the Germans. With D-Day on the horizon, Rita must work out who she can rely on - and fast.

Quercus

With Our Blessing

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain
Quercus

Breaking the Limits

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs

The second in a sumptuous series starring Rafe Contini and the object of his desire: Nicole Parrish, niece of Dominic Knight, the infamous hero of CC Gibbs' bestselling Knight trilogy.Rafe Contini, young billionaire CEO, is on holiday with his girlfriend, Nicole Parrish.He owns the private island in the Adriatic. And it promises to be a week to remember . . . except for fact that he has a war on his hands - fallout from a massive cyber attack on his company's systems. He should send Nicole home - he shouldn't even have brought her here. Every moment she stays, the danger increases. With time running out for them to be together, Rafe and Nicole's passion blossoms. They want every embrace - every sensation - to matter. To be brighter and sharper, so if everything is lost, their time together will never fade.Somewhere deep down, where it hurts to even think about it, Rafe and Nicole want a miracle. They want forever.

Quercus

Bay of Secrets

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

The bestselling author of The Villa and The Saffron Trail returns with a gorgeous summer read about romance, family and the secrets we keep from those we love. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Harriet Evans.Spain, 1939. Following the wishes of her parents to keep her safe during the war, a young girl, Julia, enters a convent in Barcelona. Looking for a way to maintain her links to the outside world, she volunteers to help in a maternity clinic. But worrying adoption practices in the clinic force Sister Julia to decide how far she will go to help those placed in her care. England, 2011. Six months after her parents' shocking death, 34-year-old journalist and jazz enthusiast Ruby Rae has finally found the strength to pack away their possessions and sell the family home. But as she does so, she unearths a devastating secret her parents, Vivien and Tom, had kept from her all her life.

riverrun

Original Skin

David Mark
Authors:
David Mark

MacLehose Press

Brief Loves That Live Forever

Andreï Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine

In Soviet Russia the desire for freedom is also a desire for the freedom to love. Lovers live as outlaws, traitors to the collective spirit, and love is more intense when it feels like an act of resistance. Now entering middle age, an orphan recalls the fleeting moments that have never left him - a scorching day in a blossoming orchard with a woman who loves another; a furtive, desperate affair in a Black Sea resort; the bunch of snowdrops a crippled childhood friend gave him to give to his lover. As the dreary Brezhnev era gives way to Perestroika and the fall of Communism, the orphan uncovers the truth behind the life of Dmitri Ress, whose tragic fate embodies the unbreakable bond between love and freedom.

MacLehose Press

White Masks

Elias Khoury
Authors:
Elias Khoury

Why was the corpse of Khalil Ahmad Jaber found in a mound of rubbish? Why did he disappear weeks before his horrific death? And who was he? A journalist begins to piece the truth together by speaking with his widow, a local engineer, a nightwatchman, the garbage man who discovered him, the doctor who performed the autopsy, and a young militiaman. Their stories underline the horrors of Lebanon's bloody civil war and its ravaging effects on the psyches of the survivors. With empathy and candour, Elias Khoury reveals the havoc the war wreaked on Beirut and its inhabitants, as well as their dogged resilience.

Quercus

Forbidden Pleasure

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs

Etienne Martel is the most celebrated lover in Paris, but from the moment he sees Montana-born beauty Daisy Black, he has eyes for no other. Daisy, a born wit and dedicated women's rights activist, can't help but notice the handsome Etienne. The desire is mutual, but one great obstacle stands in the lovers' way. Etienne is already married, and his wife won't relinquish her man so easily...

Quercus

Sinful Dreams

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs

From the erotic imagination of bestselling author Susan Johnson comes a tale of surprising sensuality, sweeping from English sitting rooms to North African markets, from the horse races to the Scottish Highlands. Sinjin St. John, Duke of Seth, charming rogue and bedder of beautiful women, was sure nothing could surprise him. That is until he stepped into his carriage one evening and found it already occupied with the most delectable visitor imaginable. Chelsea Fergusson is a proper young lady with an indecent plan to get out of an unwanted marriage, and she needs an immoral rogue to help her do it. Sinjin looks like he might be the perfect man for the job, but will Chelsea's beauty and spirit leave him wanting something more for the very first time?

Quercus

Wicked Fascination

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs

A female stowaway on his yacht. How serendipitous. Entertainment, perhaps, for his voyage to Naples' Beau St. Jules is known foremost for his powerful ability to get any woman into bed, and second as Britain's most valued gatherer of military intelligence. During a dangerous sail to seek vital war information, Beau encounters a most surprising creature in the hold of his yacht - a golden-haired runaway with a deliciously supple figure. Serena Blythe is forced to sneak aboard the Sirena after her plan to escape life as a domestic servant goes horribly wrong. Will she be left at the mercy of her handsome 'captor's' enormous sexual appetite, or will it be Beau St. Jules who is in for the surprise?

Quercus

Only For You

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Quercus

Rapture

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs

Discover the sensuality and scandal that flourishes behind closed doors in the exclusive world of turn-of-the-century aristocratic England... When American adventurer Kit Braddock first lays eyes on Countess Angela de Grae, notorious society beauty and lover to the Prince of Wales, he feels there's something different about her. Beneath her sparkling exterior, Countess Angela is secretly distraught. As the two become more intimate, Kit learns of Angela's impossible situation and secret heartache, and finds himself drawn ever more forcefully towards her. When one night of reckless pleasure between the two turns the tables completely, Kit may be forced to pledge his very life for the woman he has come to adore.

Quercus

Secrets and Sins

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Quercus

Lovers and Rivals

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs

Carey Fersten might have the perfect life: he's handsome, charming, a celebrated war hero and a champion equestrian. He could have any woman he wants, except the one he truly loves. Ten years ago Molly Darian stole Carey's heart, and then married another man. Now she's back and Carey has the chance to win Molly over, this time for good. But just as everything seems to be going right, Carey and Molly discover that Carey's fame has attracted some very unpleasant people . . . now Carey and Molly must fight to preserve the love it took them so long to find.

Quercus

French Caress

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs
Quercus

Insatiable Desire

CC Gibbs
Authors:
CC Gibbs