Italo Svevo - Confessions of Zeno (riverrun editions) - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781787474161
    • Publication date:23 Aug 2018

Confessions of Zeno (riverrun editions)

a beautiful new edition of the Italian classic

By Italo Svevo

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A playful account of one man's life in early twentieth century Trieste

'I am sure a cigarette has a more poignant flavour when it is the last'

A neurotic Italian businessman obsessed by his own hypochondria, Zeno Cosini recounts his early years to his psychoanalyst Dr S as a form of therapy. With a cigarette clutched permanently between his fingers, he explores the important themes of his life: his love of smoking, his relationship with his parents, his marriage. Structured as a series of conversations with his psychoanalyst, Zeno was an innovation in its time, and remains a curious and intriguing delight.

Michael Hoffman places Confessions of Zeno in its European context in his sparkling introduction.

Biographical Notes

Italo Svevo was the pen name of Ettore Schmitz, who was born in Trieste in 1861. He wrote two books as a young man, but failed to achieve any literary renown. Confessions of Zeno came to the attention of literary circles in Paris through Svevo's connection with James Joyce and was soon recognized as a comic masterpiece.

Beryl de Zoete (1879 - 1962) was a ballet dancer, dance critic, dance researcher as well as a translator. She traveled extensively in Bali and South Asia and co-wrote the classic Dance and Drama in Bali.

Michael Hofmann is a German-born poet and translator.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781787474178
  • Publication date: 23 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 592
  • Imprint: riverrun
MacLehose Press

Millennium 6

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz

The sixth in Stieg Larsson's DRAGON TATTOO series - more than 90 million copies sold worldwide - the crime fiction phenomenon featuring Lisbeth Salander.Book four in the series, THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB, is a major film from Sony Pictures starring Claire Foy - out in Autumn 2018."Rest easy, Lisbeth Salander fans - our punk hacker is in good hands" Patrick Ryan, U.S.A. Today"Salander and Blomkvist are just as compelling as ever" Michiko Kakutani, New York Times "Not only do the matter-of-fact style and intricate plotting and sexy, chilling atmosphere feel very true to the original novels, but Lagercrantz transcends the source material" Benjamin Percy, Esquire"Elegantly paced, slickly executed, and properly thrilling" Alison Flood, Observer

MacLehose Press

The Last Days of El Comandante

Alberto Barrera Tyszka
Authors:
Alberto Barrera Tyszka
MacLehose Press

The Archipelago of Another Life

Andreï Makine
Authors:
Andreï Makine
riverrun

Ward No. 6 and Other Stories

Anton Chekhov
Authors:
Anton Chekhov
MacLehose Press

The Carrier

Mattias Berg
Authors:
Mattias Berg
MacLehose Press

Soldiers of Salamis

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas

The International Bestseller of the Spanish Civil War - Winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction PrizeIn the final moments of the Spanish Civil War, fifty prominent Nationalist prisoners are executed by firing squad. Among them is the writer and fascist Rafael Sanchez Mazas. As the guns fire, he escapes into the forest, and can hear a search party and their dogs hunting him down. The branches move and he finds himself looking into the eyes of a militiaman, and faces death for the second time that day. But the unknown soldier simply turns and walks away. Sanchez Mazas becomes a national hero and the soldier disappears into history. As Cercas sifts the evidence to establish what happened, he realises that the true hero may not be Sanchez Mazas at all, but the soldier who chose not to shoot him. Who was he? Why did he spare him? And might he still be alive?

MacLehose Press

Lord of All the Dead

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas

Lord of All the Dead is a courageous journey into Javier Cercas' family history and that of a country collapsing from a fratricidal war. The author revisits Ibahernando, his parents' village in southern Spain, to research the life of Manuel Mena. This ancestor, dearly loved by Cercas' mother, died in combat at the age of nineteen during the battle of the Ebro, the bloodiest episode in Spain's history. Who was Manuel Mena? A fascist hero whose memory is an embarrassment to the author, or a young idealist who happened to fight on the wrong side? And how should we judge him, as grandchildren and great-grandchildren of that generation, interpreting history from our supposed omniscience and the misleadingperspective of a present full of automatic answers, that fails to consider the particularities of each personal and family drama?Wartime epics, heroism and death are some of the underlying themes of this unclassifiable novel that combines road trips, personal confessions, war stories and historical scholarship, finally becoming an incomparable tribute to the author's mother and the incurable scars of an entire generation.

MacLehose Press

White Shadow

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
riverrun

Prefecture D

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

Balco Atlantico

Jérôme Ferrari
Authors:
Jérôme Ferrari

In a village square in Corsica lies the body of ardent nationalist, Stéphane Campana, shot down at close range. And over his body weeps Virginie, the young woman who has venerated Stéphane all her life - a veneration that has led her to abandon herself to him and his twisted desires completely.Meanwhile, brother and sister Khaled and Hayet, who once gazed out to sea from the shoreline path known as "Balco Atlantico" and dreamed of a better future, are now stranded in Corsica. As Ferrari traces the history of Stéphane and Virginie that leads to the shooting in the village square, we encounter the story of Khaled and Hayet and see through their story and the stories of many others in this one Corsican square how a relentless pursuit of happiness and fulfilment can bring us perilously close to despair and disillusionment.

MacLehose Press

Equator

Antonin Varenne
Authors:
Antonin Varenne
MacLehose Press

A Book of Falsehoods

Jaan Kross
Authors:
Jaan Kross

The third part in an epic historical trilogy - The Estonian answer to Wolf Hall - by the nation's greatest modern writer 1578. A ship from Rostock arrives in Tallinn loaded with printed copies of Balthasar Russow's Chronicle - the culmination of our hero's life's work. But though it is an instant success, as it was in Rostock and numerous German cities, not everyone is happy to see it published. A group of local gentry denounce it to the town council as "a book of heinous falsehoods", and lobby for Balthasar to relieved as pastor of Holy Ghost Church.But all is not lost. Balthasar may call on a powerful ally - if he is willing to pay the price. In this final volume, fierce storms, along with famine, war and plague, continue to be loosed upon Livonia. Balthasar's personal life, too, is fraught with turbulence and loss, much of it stemming from his own jealousy and suspicion.

riverrun

Against Nature (riverrun editions)

Joris-Karl Huysmans
Authors:
Joris-Karl Huysmans
MacLehose Press

The Capital

Robert Menasse
Authors:
Robert Menasse

"A deliciously vicious - and timely - satire about the E.U. and the meaning of Europe today" - Frederick Studemann, Financial TimesBrussels. A panorama of tragic heroes, manipulative losers, involuntary accomplices. In his new novel, Robert Menasse spans a narrative arc between the times, the nations, the inevitable and the irony of fate, between petty bureaucracy and big emotions.As the fiftieth anniversary of the European Commission approaches, the Directorate-General for Culture is tasked with planning and organising a fitting celebration. The project will serve the wider purpose of revamping the Commission's image at a time of waning public support. When Fenia Xenopoulou's Austrian P.A. Martin Susman suggests putting Auschwitz at the centre of the jubilee, she is thrilled. But she has neglected to take the other E.U. institutions into account.Inspector Brunfaut is in a tricky situation too: his murder case has been suppressed at the highest level. Luckily, he's friends with the I.T. whizz at Brussels' Police H.Q., who gains access to secret files in the public prosecutor's office. Matek, the Polish hitman, knows nothing of this. But he does know that he shot the wrong guy, and for Matek, who would rather have become a priest, this is serious. And what about the pig farmers who take to the streets of the city to protest about existing trade restrictions blocking the export of pigs' ears to China . . .?The Capital is a sharp satire, a philosophical essay, a crime story, a comedy of manners, a wild pig chase, but at its heart it has the most powerful pro-European message: no-one should forget the circumstances that gave rise to the European project in the first place.

MacLehose Press

A Bond Undone

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong
MacLehose Press

A Long Night in Paris

Dov Alfon
Authors:
Dov Alfon
riverrun

A Different Drummer

William Melvin Kelley
Authors:
William Melvin Kelley

In 1962, aged just 24, William Melvin Kelley's debut novel A Different Drummer earned him critical comparisons to James Baldwin and William Faulkner. Fifty-five years later, author and journalist Kathryn Schulz happened upon the novel serendipitously and was inspired to write the New Yorker article 'The Lost Giant of American Literature', included as a foreword to this edition.June, 1957. One afternoon, in the backwater town of Sutton, a young black farmer by the name of Tucker Caliban matter-of-factly throws salt on his field, shoots his horse and livestock, sets fire to his house and departs the southern state. And thereafter, the entire African-American population leave with him.The reaction that follows is told across a dozen chapters, each from the perspective of a different white townsperson. These are boys, girls, men and women; either liberal or conservative, bigoted or sympathetic - yet all of whom are grappling with this spontaneous, collective rejection of subordination.A lost masterpiece republished for 2018, A Different Drummer is for readers who have been waiting for the next rediscovered classic.

MacLehose Press

Tropic of Violence

Nathacha Appanah
Authors:
Nathacha Appanah
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
MacLehose Press

Name of the Dog: A Lefty Mendieta Investigation (Book 3)

Élmer Mendoza
Authors:
Élmer Mendoza

Perfect for fans of Mick Herron and John Le Carré"The most important thing that's happened in Mexican literature in the last thirty years" Gaby Wood, Sunday Telegraph.It's Christmas in Culiacán and Detective Edgar "Lefty" Mendieta can't believe his luck. An old flame has returned with a teenage son he knew nothing about. Happiness seems to finally beckon for our careworn hero. The only snag is that Jason Mendieta wants to follow in his father's footsteps-even as Mexico's drug war descends a slippery slope toward chaos.While Lefty pursues a lunatic who has taken to bumping off dentists with a heavy-calibre pistol, a secret agent infiltrates a meeting of the drug lords and hears Pacific Cartel boss Samantha Valdés implore her underlings to stay out of the war. But an audacious murder provokes Samantha to change her mind and launch a wave of grisly killings across the country.Samantha then persuades Lefty to help her find the killer that pushed her over the edge. The truth he discovers will underline an old adage: revenge is a dish best served cold. No quiet family Christmas for our detective.