Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Old Enemy

The Old Enemy

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from ‘An espionage master’ (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre

Ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson prefers to work privately these days. He has been tasked with guarding a young woman, Joni Freemantle. He doesn’t know who she is, or why she’s important, but the money’s good enough for him not to dig too deeply.

Then a shooter disguised as a homeless man abducts her before his eyes and Samson wishes he’d asked more questions. When his former colleague, Robert Harland, is found dead, the news comes with the threat that Samson’s own life – and that of others he holds dear – is on the line.

Samson is sure he knows why there’s a target on his back. What he doesn’t know is who put it there – the Americans or the Russians?

Two things quickly become clear. One, it was a big mistake to lose Freemantle. And two, Robert Harland, ever the consummate spy, has one final, crucial part to play from beyond the grave.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense / Espionage & Spy Thriller

On Sale: 17th September 2020

Price: £16.99

ISBN-13: 9781529403329

Reviews

Fast paced, uber-topical thriller... a roller-coaster ride of a story ... Porter deftly mixes well-structured storytelling with complex, engaging characters
Financial Times Best Thrillers of 2019 on White Hot Silence
Henry Porter is now one of the most accomplished practitioners of the modern thriller
Crime Time
Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carre more than fifty years ago. British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why
Lee Child
Enigmatic, pacy and international
Strong Words magazine

Paul Samson Spy Thriller