Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Liar's Daughter

The Liar's Daughter

Nan’s mother loves to tell her daughter stories, though the details vary according to how much she has drunk. The tale she tells most often claims that Admiral Lord Nelson is Nan’s father: he was her lover and she saw him die at Trafalgar. Or so she claims.

From poor beginnings, resourceful Nan makes her own determined way through life, but always haunted by the wish to know the truth about her father.

From Portsmouth in the early 1800s to the battlefields of the Crimea, Nan discovers the world is full of people with a story about Nelson. There are some questions we can never hope to answer…

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 5th June 2014

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780857387868

Reviews

'A funny, descriptive, rich and warm-hearted novel; Graham has a knack for bringing alive the sights, sounds and smells of yesteryear ... perfect for fans of Katherine Webb and Deborah Moggach' We Love This Book.
We Love This Book
'Empathetic and entertaining' Independent.
Independent
'Through love and loss, hardship and hope, Laurie Graham has once again created a tour de force where nothing is quite as it seems, with characters that breathe life and energy, which will have you laughing and crying in equal measure' Daily Mail.
Daily Mail