Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Other Child

The Other Child

‘Taut, tense, and beautifully written’ Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of I Let You Go.

An emotional psychological thriller for fans of The Couple Next Door and Behind Closed Doors.

Sometimes a lie feels kinder than the truth . . . but what happens when that lie becomes an avalanche of deceit?

When Tess is sent to photograph Greg, a high-profile paediatric surgeon, she sees something complex in him that she instantly connects with. Their relationship quickly deepens, but then Tess – already a single mother to nine-year-old Joe – finds out she’s pregnant.

Greg, who never wanted to be a father, is then offered the job of a lifetime back in his hometown of Boston, USA. Within just a few months, they have married and moved to the States. But life in an affluent Boston suburb is not as straightforward as Tess had hoped. Strange things keep happening in their rented home – Joe is unsettled, the next-door neighbours are clearly troubled, and Greg’s work is all-consuming. As a fierce Boston winter closes in, and her baby’s birth looms, Tess remains determined to make this new life work. Then she makes a jaw-dropping discovery . . .

**Enjoyed The Other Child? The new novel from the inimitable Lucy Atkins, The Night Visitor, is available now!**

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 4th June 2015

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781782069881

Reviews

The last book I read in one sitting like this was Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard. Like Louise, Lucy Atkins is brilliant at ramping up the tension so that there's not a chance of relief until the end
Polly Samson, author of The Kindness
Taut, tense, and beautifully written. I held my breath between chapters and didn't sleep until I reached the end
Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go
I absolutely loved this novel. The Other Child is seriously gripping, seriously scary and seriously brilliant
Clare Kendal, author of The Book of You
Truly unnerving. Atkins perfectly captures the vulnerability that comes with moving overseas, away from friends and support networks, and uses it expertly in this compelling novel. Not just one-more-page gripping but perceptive and beautifully written
Lucie Whitehouse, author of Before We Met
An elegantly written page-turner which pulled me in from the start and held its grip until the final page
Renee Knight, author of bestselling psychological thriller Disclaimer
Addictive . . . a pace so relentless that you'll want to inhale this novel in one uninterrupted sitting
The Sunday Times
Atmospheric and packed with suspense, kept me on edge from start to finish
Woman & Home Magazine