Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Other Child

The Other Child

A gripping psychological thriller from the author of the bestselling debut The Missing One. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go, The Sisters by Claire Douglas, The Book of You and The Ice Twins.

Sometimes a lie seems kinder than the truth . . . but what happens when that lie destroys everything you love? When Tess is sent to photograph Greg, a high profile paediatric heart surgeon, she sees something troubled in his face, and feels instantly drawn to him. Their relationship quickly deepens, but then Tess, single mother to nine-year-old Joe, falls pregnant, and Greg is offered the job of a lifetime back in his hometown of Boston. Before she knows it, Tess is married, and relocating to the States. But life in an affluent American suburb proves anything but straightforward.

Unsettling things keep happening in the large rented house, Joe is distressed, the next-door neighbours are in crisis, and Tess is sure that someone is watching her. Greg’s work is all-consuming and, as the baby’s birth looms, he grows more and more unreachable. Something is very wrong, Tess knows it, and then she makes a jaw-dropping discovery . . .

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 4th June 2015

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781782069874

Reviews

The last book I read in one sitting like this was Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard. Like Louise, Lucy Atkins is brilliant at ramping up the tension so that there's not a chance of relief until the end
Polly Samson, author of The Kindness
Taut, tense, and beautifully written. I held my breath between chapters and didn't sleep until I reached the end
Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go
I absolutely loved this novel. The Other Child is seriously gripping, seriously scary and seriously brilliant
Clare Kendal, author of The Book of You
Truly unnerving. Atkins perfectly captures the vulnerability that comes with moving overseas, away from friends and support networks, and uses it expertly in this compelling novel. Not just one-more-page gripping but perceptive and beautifully written
Lucie Whitehouse, author of Before We Met
An elegantly written page-turner which pulled me in from the start and held its grip until the final page
Renee Knight, author of bestselling psychological thriller Disclaimer
Addictive . . . a pace so relentless that you'll want to inhale this novel in one uninterrupted sitting
The Sunday Times
Atmospheric and packed with suspense, kept me on edge from start to finish
Woman & Home Magazine