Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Man on the Street

The Man on the Street

Introducing the most unforgettable investigator of 2020. Gritty, Newcastle-set crime for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.

‘A unique protagonist and a cracking plotline … a smart, thought-provoking crime read with bags of heart and humanity’ MARI HANNAH


‘I can safely say it will be huge … an excellent read’ PATRICIA GIBNEY

It started with a splash. Jimmy, a homeless veteran grappling with PTSD, did his best to pretend he hadn’t heard it – the sound of something heavy falling into the Tyne at the height of an argument between two men on the riverbank. Not his fight.

Then he sees the headline: GIRL IN MISSING DAD PLEA. The girl, Carrie, reminds him of someone he lost, and this makes his mind up: it’s time to stop hiding from his past. But telling Carrie, what he heard – or thought he heard – turns out to be just the beginning of the story.

The police don’t believe him, but Carrie is adamant that something awful has happened to her dad and Jimmy agrees to help her, putting himself at risk from enemies old and new.

But Jimmy has one big advantage: when you’ve got nothing, you’ve got nothing to lose.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 31st October 2019

Price: £22.99

ISBN-13: 9781787478343

Reviews

I can safely say it will be huge ... flying through it. An excellent read
Patricia Gibney
What more do you want from a debut than a unique protagonist and a cracking plotline? A smart, thought-provoking crime read with bags of heart and humanity
Mari Hannah
The story races along at a cracking pace, lots of tension in the twists and turns, and Jimmy is hugely engaging and complex. It's a rare skill to develop a sympathetic character with such a chequered history for whom one so wants a happy ending. A deeply satisfying read
Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange
Intricate, expertly paced with a shocking conclusion. The dialogue is on-point, the narrative is flawless and Jimmy is a character you root for from page one. Believe me when I say this, Trevor Wood has a bright future in the world of crime fiction. Simply superb
M W Craven, author of The Puppet Show
A superbly written trip through the shadows of my hometown with a unique protagonist as a tour guide
Robert Scragg
Superb and going to make serious waves. Love it
Rob Parker
Brings a fresh voice and a totally original perspective to the 'detective as outsider'. A homeless man, traumatised and violent, makes an unusual hero, but a hero with wit and courage who will win readers' hearts
Isabelle Grey