We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Switch

The Switch

Eileen is sick of being 79.
Leena’s tired of life in her twenties.
Maybe it’s time they swapped places…

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She’d like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn’t offer many eligible gentlemen.

Once Leena learns of Eileen’s romantic predicament, she proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love. Meanwhile Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire. But with gossiping neighbours and difficult family dynamics to navigate up north, and trendy London flatmates and online dating to contend with in the city, stepping into one another’s shoes proves more difficult than either of them expected.

Leena learns that a long-distance relationship isn’t as romantic as she hoped it would be, and then there is the annoyingly perfect – and distractingly handsome – school teacher, who keeps showing up to outdo her efforts to impress the local villagers. Back in London, Eileen is a huge hit with her new neighbours, but is her perfect match nearer home than she first thought?

(P) 2020 Quercus Editions Limited

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 16th April 2020

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781787474987

Reviews

Beth has done it again! Warm, witty, and a cast of characters I wish I was friends with - I truly loved it!
Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop
Eileen Cotton proves you don't have to be in your thirties to be Bridget Jones. A triumph of a second novel
Anstey Harris, author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick THE TRUTHS AND TRIUMPHS OF GRACE ATHERTON
I am blown away. I didn't think Beth could top The Flatshare but she has. It sparkles with wit, warmth and compassion. It deserves to be huge!
Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of The Evidence Against You
Beth O'Leary has absolutely smashed it out of the park with The Switch. Brilliant, warm, funny, full of heart. Completely loved it!
Richard Roper, author of Something to Live For
Heartwarming and uplifting. Everyone should have an Eileen in their life!
Heidi Swain, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE CHRISTMAS WISH LIST
O'Leary does it again! The Switch is a warm, funny and feisty tale of generational location swapping that will have you laughing and tearing up in equal measure. Populated by a cast of characters you'll wish you knew in real life. It's an absolute joy from beginning to end
MIKE GAYLE, author of Half a World Away
Utterly charming and uplifting, The Switch is bursting with love and warmth and humour. Another wonderful book from Beth O'Leary
LOUISE O'NEILL, author of AFTER THE SILENCE
This delicious slice of feelgood fiction is a real tonic
Sunday Mirror
This sparky, upbeat romcom balances riffs on the generation gap with heavier topics including grief and infidelity
Mail on Sunday
You'll find yourself rooting for the main characters, especially Eileen, the real star of this cheerful novel. A perfect tonic for anxious times
The People
A sparkling romantic read with characters that leap off the page. It's another triumph for this talented writer
Woman & Home
ingenious plot
Prima
a lovely comedy with a special message
Sunday Post Dundee
We laughed, we cried and we loved it!
Fabulous Magazine
Utterly charming, this uplifting book is guaranteed to be another outstanding success
Hot Brands, Cool Places
The heart-warming story we all need right now
Bella
blissful escapism from our current isolated reality
Daily Mail
Fun, heart-warming and brimming with hope. Eileen and her zest for life will inspire you long after the last page
heat
A charming, uplifting read
Daily Mirror
Emotionally absorbing, witty and bursting with warmth - a treat for fans of Marian Keyes and Jill Mansell
Daily Express
A lovely, heart-warming read
Best
I'm not going to beat around the bush here, I adored The Switch
Daily Record
Author of The Flatshare, O'Leary brings us another read that feels like a warm hug. Another triumph of a novel
Woman's Weekly
A warm, witty, weepy read
Female First