We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Switch

The Switch

‘SO CHARMING, SO SWEET AND SO LOVELY’ MARIAN KEYES

Leena is too young to feel stuck.
Eileen is too old to start over.
Maybe it’s time for The Switch…

Ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, Leena escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Newly single and about to turn eighty, Eileen would like a second chance at love. But her tiny Yorkshire village doesn’t offer many eligible gentlemen… So Leena proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love, and L Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire.

But with a rabble of unruly OAPs to contend with, as well as the annoyingly perfect – and distractingly handsome – local schoolteacher, Leena learns that switching lives isn’t straightforward. Back in London, Eileen is a huge hit with her new neighbours, and with the online dating scene. But is her perfect match nearer to home than she first thought?

Praise for The Switch:

Another life-affirming joyHEAT MAGAZINE

Warm, witty, and a cast of characters I wish I was friends withI truly loved it!‘ LAURA JANE WILLIAMS

I am blown away. I didn’t think Beth could top The Flatshare but she has. It sparkles with wit, warmth and compassion. It deserves to be huge!‘ GILLIAN McALLISTER

Heartwarming and uplifting. Everyone should have an Eileen in their life!’ HEIDI SWAIN

‘Eileen Cotton proves you don’t have to be in your thirties to be Bridget Jones. A triumph of a second novel!’ ANSTEY HARRIS

Bursting with warmth and humour’ LOUISE O’NEILL

I loved it! A total joy to read. Such a breath of fresh air‘ LIBBY PAGE

‘It’s an absolute joy from beginning to end’ MIKE GAYLE

I just loved The Switch! What a beautiful story with such memorable characters. I have been well and truly Eileened! It’s an absolute triumph!‘ EMMA COOPER

‘Beth O’Leary has absolutely smashed it out of the park with The Switch. Brilliant, warm, funny, full of heart. Completely loved it!‘ RICHARD ROPER


Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 16th April 2020

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9781787475014

Reviews

Beth has done it again! Warm, witty, and a cast of characters I wish I was friends with - I truly loved it!
Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop
Heartwarming and uplifting. Everyone should have an Eileen in their life!
Heidi Swain, SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of THE CHRISTMAS WISH LIST
I am blown away. I didn't think Beth could top The Flatshare but she has. It sparkles with wit, warmth and compassion. It deserves to be huge!
Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of The Evidence Against You
O'Leary does it again! The Switch is a warm, funny and feisty tale of generational location swapping that will have you laughing and tearing up in equal measure. Populated by a cast of characters you'll wish you knew in real life. It's an absolute joy from beginning to end
MIKE GAYLE, author of Half a World Away
Utterly charming and uplifting, The Switch is bursting with love and warmth and humour. Another wonderful book from Beth O'Leary
LOUISE O'NEILL, author of AFTER THE SILENCE
Beth O'Leary has absolutely smashed it out of the park with The Switch. Brilliant, warm, funny, full of heart. Completely loved it!
Richard Roper, author of Something to Live For
Eileen Cotton proves you don't have to be in your thirties to be Bridget Jones. A triumph of a second novel
Anstey Harris, author of Richard & Judy Book Club pick THE TRUTHS AND TRIUMPHS OF GRACE ATHERTON
This delicious slice of feelgood fiction is a real tonic
Sunday Mirror
This sparky, upbeat romcom balances riffs on the generation gap with heavier topics including grief and infidelity
Mail on Sunday
You'll find yourself rooting for the main characters, especially Eileen, the real star of this cheerful novel. A perfect tonic for anxious times
The People
A sparkling romantic read with characters that leap off the page. It's another triumph for this talented writer
Woman & Home
ingenious plot
Prima
a lovely comedy with a special message
Sunday Post Dundee
We laughed, we cried and we loved it!
Fabulous Magazine
Utterly charming, this uplifting book is guaranteed to be another outstanding success
Hot Brands, Cool Places
The heart-warming story we all need right now
Bella
blissful escapism from our current isolated reality
Daily Mail
Fun, heart-warming and brimming with hope. Eileen and her zest for life will inspire you long after the last page
heat
A charming, uplifting read
Daily Mirror
Emotionally absorbing, witty and bursting with warmth - a treat for fans of Marian Keyes and Jill Mansell
Daily Express
A lovely, heart-warming read
Best
I'm not going to beat around the bush here, I adored The Switch
Daily Record
Author of The Flatshare, O'Leary brings us another read that feels like a warm hug. Another triumph of a novel
Woman's Weekly
A warm, witty, weepy read
Female First
An utterly gorgeous, beautiful book, full of feeling ... a heart-warming reminder about the importance of always keeping our hearts (and minds) open.
Lindsey Kelk